Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of fc1
Author:Robert "Fat Controller" Cruickshank
Title:Ontranto
Download:fc1.zip (9f05e17180c2d23cb1326aa7b610eed3)
Filesize:7270 Kilobytes
Release date:22.06.2004
Homepage:http://hosted.planetquake.gamespy.com/fatty
Additional Links: Underworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
fc1.txt6 KB15.05.2004
PAK0.PAK17698 KB22.06.2004
gfx/env/night1rt.pcx8 KB21.06.2003
gfx/env/night1dn.pcx4 KB21.06.2003
gfx/env/night1bk.pcx9 KB21.06.2003
gfx/env/night1ft.pcx13 KB21.06.2003
gfx/env/night1lf.pcx8 KB21.06.2003
gfx/env/night1up.pcx16 KB21.06.2003

fc1.zip - Ontranto

Five map episode set in a medieval fantasy world, with many custom textures, a few new monsters and some other QC: starting in a dark swamp, the player has to travel through caverns and temples to a ship bringing him to the town of Ontranto, where he is to battle the Duke.

Tags: medieval, episode, monsters, fantasy, textures, town, caverns, temple, ship, village

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 5 March 2010, 5:42
Fourth level is awesome. Others are merely nice, but worth playing. I can't find any grenade launcher on the third level though, and that makes it unplayable from scratch for me. Fourth level from scratch also needs you to go the right way to start but no big deal because that map is awesome. Overall I'd call it nice (not excellent), but recommend it all the same.
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 4 May 2012, 17:41
Awesome work. Thank you.
NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 11 February 2014, 22:20

Setting and atmosphere reminded me a bit of Monolith's "Blood", starting with the first map already which is set in the middle of a dark swamp. Later you go through a haunted tomb and travel on a riverboat (quite cool!) before you enter a small town where you have to find 3 (!) silver and 2 gold keys to exit (which sucks a bit since it is difficult to keep your bearings). After that, you face the Duke with some of his followers, a fight that can be tough if you run out of ammo too early. In general, I like the medieval setting of this pack. Everything fits, the new enemies (Grunts/Enforcers are archers, some Knights are townsfolk with swords etc), the night skybox, the medieval texturing... immersive five levels which I can only recommend!

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 2 19 October 2016, 11:06

To me this pack peaks at the beginning. The first map is mysterious and moody, with a great sense of atmosphere as you journey through a swampy forest at night. From there, it continues into an uninspired mine/tomb complex, which while certainly ugly tends to provide decent gameplay. (Except for that teleporting boss! That sucked, having to wander around, find it, shoot it a few times and then find it again after it teleported away...)

Up to that point, levels were generally understandable. Beyond that, I found it quite difficult to find my bearings and successfully explore areas, starting with the riverboat. To begin with it feels practical, but when I reached the stern of the ship/boat/thing I found myself feeling completely lost. The repettive texturing and lack of any real detail made it difficult for me to realize that I needed to head backwards, down a small, nondescript passageway to find the lever to open up the next real area.

This kind of backtracking and confusing, repetitive layout continues into the fourth map, where I struggled to find even a single silver key so that I could progress forwards. I'm not going to say much about this one, apart from the fact that I was so frustrated at this point that I simply noclipped around, continued to fail to find any silver keys (I found both gold keys really easily, in their respective buildings) and then gave up and flew into the level transition.

And then... the final boss. Not the worst part of the pack, but still. I ended up relying on infighting to do most of the work, as even with the nearly-full loadout I was given was no match for the horde of enemies in that area + the final boss himself. A shame, really, as the boss seemed to have a good variety of attacks, which made him pretty interesting to fight when I finally got it down to 1-on-1.

On top of all that, there was a general lack of polish to the maps. I saw a set of healthkits floating off of the bench/bar that were apparently meant to be on top of, some enemies that teleported in telefragged themselves and overzealous func_illusionary work in at least one place (the tomb area on map 2) meant that I could get my camera inside of a "wall". Part of me wonders if these were engine issues; perhaps not the illusionary brushes but the telefrags and item placements seemed like the sort of thing that could be affected by engine choice.

My other criticisms still stand regardless (Except for maybe the keys, if they were missing because of similar bugs that I didn't realize), so I'm going to have to rate this quite poorly.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in