Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of februus
Author:czg
Title:Februus Depth
Download:februus.zip (d2315553e85445db9e356bb373f71b02)
Filesize:1370 Kilobytes
Release date:25.01.2004
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
februus.bsp3256 KB25.01.2004
februus.txt6 KB25.01.2004

februus.zip - Februus Depth

Large underground catacomb level.

Tags: medieval, underground, large, catacombs, rock, mazelike, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 29 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Qmaster, rated this a 5 22 December 2010, 16:12
Truly awesome cave ruins map! Definitely a must play!
Aen 30 August 2011, 10:06
The best custom level I've ever seen.
Daz, rated this a 4 19 March 2012, 17:49
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8XE4H6KJ2g video playthrough.
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 4 May 2012, 22:08
Indeed, a super long good map with a lot of killings.
onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 1 December 2012, 12:00
If Diablo 1 had been a FPS, it would have been this map.
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 21 August 2013, 5:03

Cool, intricate mazelike structure with well-thought-out gameplay and monster placement, and a cool battle at the end!

indstr Registered, rated this a 5 17 September 2013, 20:01

I just played through this during my lunchbreak today. Enjoyed it very much. Great map with lots of different areas and exploration. The battle at the end is epic!

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 9 March 2014, 9:01

Fantastic map design with a nice mix of narrow staircases and sections where you pass through a massive cave system with a huge lava lake below. My highlights were definitely when this crater opened after the Shambler fight to get to the final area, and then ofc the final battle itself which takes place on a plateau with respawning ammo and health, requiring you to defeat several waves of enemies before the exit portal is unlocked. Superb atmosphere!

NoNameUser Guest 14 August 2016, 14:39

It seems I'm the only one who differs, but frankly I'm rather baffled by all the excitement and praise surrounding this map. It's cramped as hell, visually lacking and very repetitive, with little to see besides bricks and cave walls everywhere, and notably gazillions of Jolly Roger ornaments from beginning to end. Gameplay-wise there's really nothing here we haven't seen or done a million times already, nothing particularly memorable and let alone worthy of being considered “epic” or “truly awesome” as some say. It's by no means a terrible map, but indeed one of the most overrated I've ever played.

FredBezies Registered, rated this a 1 14 August 2016, 18:10

Too mazy for me. Sorry, but I did not finish this map, I was very disappointed :(

Mordheim Registered, rated this a 2 30 December 2016, 17:12

A tedious grind through a grid maze of repetitive arches and tunnels with ogres grenading you constantly in alcoves above-and-behind-you when you turn each corner.

A unusual misstep for czg, who has otherwise made some of the best maps ever for quake.

Oddly in the readme he implies that he holds it in higher regard than "terra". The terra maps are far, far superior to this IMO.

Pasokon Deacon Registered, rated this a 4 29 January 2017, 23:22

Terra doesn't reach this map's quality except on maps 4 and 6, and I still prefer the journey here. You learn to anticipate death from above while moving carefully through vaulted arcades and stairwells, and the secrets are a real challenge in their own right. Visually it's not amazing but a cool medieval variation on czg's previous works (large open spaces here remind me of the outdoor areas from Insomnia's Subgud). Challenge level's substantial enough for replays, and this map rewards you for platforming in different ways. I wish there was some incentive, even just a little, to fearlessly jump down onto a hidden platform in the magma for a secret or two. As far as forsaken catacombs go, this level's a standout.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in