Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of flesh
Author:Shaun [Kona] Ross
Title:Carved in Flesh
Download:flesh.zip (f418b4f87f4b6a56ac73d7b22e6e8c82)
Filesize:8081 Kilobytes
Release date:01.07.2003
Homepage:http://www.electricescape.com/etherealhell/
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceRetroquakeTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
flesh/pak0.pak16050 KB17.10.2002
flesh/flesh.txt7 KB01.07.2003

flesh.zip - Carved in Flesh

"Three unique new levels as you make your way across nightlit terrain and enter an epic gothic castle. A very fresh theme created with Fakk2 and Quake3 textures.
A partial conversion with ten new custom monsters and three powerful new weapons all of high quality. Alongside this beastiary almost all Quake monsters have been modified, either with a new skin, improved AI or a new arsenal."

Truely awesome brushwork, modifications and gameplay.


Tags: q3 gothic, castle, episode, medium, weapons, quake3

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4/5 with 23 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Daz Registered, rated this a 4 27 August 2013, 15:29
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 8 September 2013, 10:51

eh I'm really, really not sure about the gameplay being "awesome." The brushwork, textures, and architecture are definitely a 5. But the gameplay is a 3 at best. Just not really that fun. 4 is the average right? Still feels too generous.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 8 September 2013, 10:52

To be fair, I only found one secret, so there is technically replay value. Just not sure I'll replaying it any time soon.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 14 December 2013, 19:14

Have to agree. I am really not a fan of this map pack and found the gameplay very uninspired.

Plus, I really could not stand the Q3-esque busty babes; they just seemed like the product of adolescent fantasy. The other custom monsters were fine. The mini-fiends were actually cute (which seems like a bizarre thing to say about a Quake enemy). I also did like the architecture's teal-heavy colour palate.

I found one secret which contained the very item required to open the secret (as far as I could tell), which seemed a little pointless.

Subjectively, I almost want to rate this a 2, but that would be unfair, as this is obviously technically very well-made. I am sorry if my comments seem disparaging – no offense meant to the obviously talented author. I just really, really did not like it.

As an aside, my engine crashed several times when I tried to use the modified rocket-firing weapon. This may not be the map's fault, though.

crah dog Guest 12 January 2014, 19:36

this was great fun. a bit silly but fun. game crashed a few times when using the position beam rocket weapon

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 25 March 2015, 18:58

I'm surprised at the negative comments. I came to this from Warpspasm and found it hugely refreshing (not least because it's a return to sane levels of difficulty!) The brushwork is beautiful throughout, and the new monsters work well -- especially the cute little fiendlings, which feel much better balanced than Quoth's vorelings.

The only real negative is that two out of three of the the new weapons are very unsatisfying, and I didn't really the nailgun or SNG replacements at all. But the GL replacement is much better -- something that's been missing from Quake, a weapon that hits instantly at a distance and does some decent amount of damage, like Quake II's railgun. Yes, it's ugly, but it's fun to use.

Anyway, three very nice levels merit a high 4-and-a-half, which in our granular system comes to five stars.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 5 21 May 2017, 9:50

I thoroughly enjoyed this map pack. The new weapons and enemies were interesting and fun additions to experiment with.

People were complaining about the gameplay, but I liked it. Maybe, at a different time, I might not have been on the mood for this kind of fairly predictable gameplay, but now I was on that kind of mindset. I was just playing a puzzle game right before playing these maps, so maybe that's why. :)

There's time for different kinds of maps for different moods, it seems.

And right now, at this mood, I feel like giving this pack 5 stars. ;)

BPSkibbenheims Registered, rated this a 4 5 August 2017, 18:51

Just ran through this map pack. Nice textures and a pretty good layout. A few cool unique monsters and weapons thrown in for fun. Overall was a fun playthrough. I tend to like maps with more verticality to them than these offered and I felt like finding my way through was a bit on the straightforward side but still good fun!

AnthonyS Registered, rated this a 4 1 November 2017, 20:26

This map pack is actually pretty good! The enemies and weapons were interesting! However, some enemies and their attacks were clipping through walls :/

AnthonyS Registered, rated this a 4 1 November 2017, 20:26

This map pack is actually pretty good! The enemies and weapons were interesting! However, some enemies and their attacks were clipping through walls :/

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in