Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of fourfeather0
Author:Madfox
Title:FourFeather
Download:fourfeather0.zip (f587cedcf912901a43bd9c1090ab5115)
Filesize:16367 Kilobytes
Release date:06.03.2016
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✘ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
fourfeather.txt4 KB06.03.2016
pak0.pak46173 KB06.03.2016
progs.dat786 KB06.03.2016

fourfeather0.zip - FourFeather

Large mixed theme map set in a partly technological, party runic and partly medieval complex. Features plenty of new custom content, including a large variety of new monsters.

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits and skybox support.


Tags: monsters, mixtex, castle, skybox

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Maphfus Registered, rated this a 5 25 May 2016, 10:50

Very good. I love this map. Thank you very much.

Doc_Holliday Registered 26 May 2016, 12:29

Great fun...funny new monsters...More...

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 30 May 2016, 21:02

Very, very weird, due to both the theme and the new monsters. It came of as pretty goofy overall, highly unusual for a Quake mod. I read through the func_msgboard thread and Madfox said it was meant to be a "test garden" for the monsters, which makes sense; there isn't really a lot of combat with numbers of monsters, generally just 1v1 and another will spawn after the previous one is defeated (at least on Normal). I appreciated this as it allowed me to learn the new monsters' behavior, although I felt the level could have ratcheted up the numbers later on.

The detail is very impressive, especially the arches show off in the screenshot. Other times I wasn't sure I liked the mashup texture theme, it worked better in some places than others.

2/5 secrets, I'll have to go back and replay to find the rest as I feel there is more to it that I saw. (I missed, for example, whatever was behind the locked door near the top of the castle; maybe that has to do with the secrets?)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 4 June 2016, 22:14

What a strange experience! There's some nice architecture here (though some rooms feel a little cramped and arbitrary) and the vertical progression is satisfying. But, of the new monsters, I'm not sure a single one really adds anything. The original Quake bestiary is amazingly well balanced, like the selection of chess pieces. You mess with this at your peril!

I finished with 103 of 104 kills on Hard -- where is the one stray? Oh, I bet it's the friendly zombie! Only three of five secrets, though. I assume on of them is the teleporter in the buttress that holds up the bridge the the exit, but I couldn't find a way to fall into it.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 4 June 2016, 22:28

Yep, it was the friendly zombie!

I wavered over whether to give this map three stars or four. It certainly merits four for ambition; but I think the new monsters break immersion so in the end I went with a slightly harsh three.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 5 June 2016, 18:11

Oh, one more thing I should have mentioned: this level has a great new skybox, with distant humanoid mountains. Lovely and eerie.

Nabernizer Registered, rated this a 4 6 June 2016, 10:38

Very well designed architecture and solid gameplay. Some of the new enemies were just dumb and redundant, like Bender, which I'm still scratching my head over. Others were nice additions however, specifically the shield ogre which I though was a pleasant challenge to fight at points. Best part of the map by far was the ogre fishing in the river. The pros of the map outweigh the cons, and I had a fun time. 4/5

mfx Registered, rated this a 4 8 June 2016, 1:37

Good map, i love the setting in this. The canyon looks great, though the brushwork could be more defined. I found several misaligned faces, z-fighting doors and the overall build quality seems to suffer from being too narrow.

I know better from Madfox.

The new enemies, as stated above, don't add much to the gameplay, feels more like a testbed for some weird models, and let's be honest here, some of those new models are weird. Bender WTF?

The fishing ogre not reacting to being shot is a no go in my book, but that's a weird book anyway.

Nevertheless, it was fun to play in a weird way, i even managed to skip parts of it, only to revisit them later. 7/10 for nonlinearity.

Not the best Madfox map, but def the strangest imo.

And the skybox did add to it, what is he thinking when he does this stuff?

3,5/5 makes it a 4/5.

Shine on you crazy Diamond.

AsymmetricalXeno Guest 25 June 2016, 23:17

I didn't like the more comical enemies, perhaps they might be more fitting for a different looking setting. I loved the tentacled creature though, one of the best quake enemies iv seen in a while and had nice lovecraftian feel! would love to see that enemy used in quake levels more for sure, especially void levels and the like to get that true lovecraft feel.

blob Registered, rated this a 4 30 June 2016, 23:24

3.5/5

Fairly well balanced level but too many 1 on 1 fights that didnt really bring anything and a bit too many cramped corridor fighting that just require some peek & shoot. Still impressive the amount of new creatures and models you brought here. Is the waterfall by the wheel new too? That was a great water ripple effect! Loved the lovecraftian "black young" tentacle monster at the end. Could totally see that in quake levels. Most of the others dont really fit ( except the walking eye could totally be in Shrak, hehe) but whatever, it's fun for a change. Some interesting gameplay ideas with the shield ogre deflecting nails and grenades, that could be very very cool if placed strategically with other ennemies. His charge attack animation could be better ( also can he turn berserk? One of them turned purple i dont know why).

Love the fishing ogre though like previously said make him hittable if necessary. Would love to see more "neutral" monsters like that though, that could really make the quake world richer.

Good job!

FredBezies Registered, rated this a 5 10 August 2016, 17:18

Really loved all the new enemies... Ah, kicking Bender shiny ass, running after Orb, like in Quake 3... And not to forget fishing ogre :)

Great map !

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 19 November 2016, 5:57

FourFeather on The Quake Grave

I have to echo most everyone's sentiments here that this is indeed a unique and weird little gem of a map. While some of the custom models are a bit of a strange fit for the theme, the beginning area with the quad shape is kind of odd and using the stairs is jarring (see video), there is a lot to like here.

There are a lot of little details through the map that make it worth checking out. The fishing ogre, the custom ogre models, the awesome brushwork with the castle and all around, the assembly line room, the constant surprises around every corner... there really was a lot to enjoy here!

I have to congratulate Madfox on this one because I appreciate all the time he took to add all of these things throughout the map. Nice work!

Madfox Registered 28 December 2016, 0:31

Hey ArrCee.., kind of surprised to see your video of "FourFeather"! The way you commend the parts and bits while exploring the map.

I'm mapping for a while now and this one was an idea from a toppic "inspirations and Reference". Someone had posted two picures and gave the oppertunity to make them a Quake map. This resulted in this map while I tried to make them fit together. Part of the fun of mapping I got when hussling with models. Reason why there are rather strange creatures like Elden Ogre and Serpent, which are the originals from the first pre-releases of Quake, and Orb which I subscribe as a betrayer of the info camera. Bender is an idea I had when looking for a good robot. The round model is Metrapolis, an Arcade monster from a tetris game.

Other maps I made didn't had the amount of time in making them, but that is just for the way possibilities have grown, better editors and compilers, and the finc_msg board for asking people's know how.

I think you're doing good commenting the maps, it's a fun way to see them being explored and specialize them them in the way they are being discovered. Sometimes it shows the way of doing them on a way that isn't even clear to the map maker which way the path follows. I'm not a rocketjumper, but I see it can work out well.

Here is the reference of the map: [url]http://home.kpn.nl/lo2kf8/quake/ffeather.jpg[/url]

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 28 December 2016, 1:10

Oh nice! The final map looks a lot like the references. Thanks for all the information on the the enemies too.

I try to be honest and fair when playing any map on The Quake Grave, and I really did like a lot of what you had going on here! The fishing ogre really put me over and seeing Orb again was a treat!

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 28 December 2016, 2:16

I love this map. It has great architecture, good secrets, and a fantastic surreal atmosphere. It also has a bunch of entertaining novelties, like the fishing ogre, the painting of cthulhu, and the waterfall and waterwheel.

The new enemies were the only thing I didn't like: the modified ogres and the manta ray were nice, but the robots didn't fit in with everything else.

Many parts of the map remind me of Unreal. It's different enough from Quake that design elements from one game usually don't go well with the other, but you pulled it off.

Burns Guest 30 December 2016, 1:03

Best map in 2015!

Vasya shkolnik Guest 4 June 2018, 23:56

Very eclectic map, but beautiful and unusual

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in