Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of fr3n1m3
Author:Fern (aka Fr3n)
Title:Necromanicide
Download:fr3n1m3.zip (3c28358837a6de939e1183692e397db2)
Filesize:734 Kilobytes
Release date:27.02.2006
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
fr3n1m3.bsp1681 KB27.02.2006
fr3n1m3.txt2 KB25.02.2006

fr3n1m3.zip - Necromanicide

A nicely made egyptian remix of Quake's e1m3 - The Necropolis.

Tags: egyptian, medium, remix, e1m3

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 27 January 2014, 14:28

This release embodies exactly what I look for in a remix map. Fr3n manages to stay very true to the essence of the original, while giving it several new twists and, of course, a new setting (thanks to new textures etc.). The result is a map that feels intriguingly familiar, without being an exact copy of the original; simultaneously old-school and modern. It's like having a dream that you're playing e1m3.

It's probably my favourite remix thus far, with RickyT23's e4m1rmx from the Remix Map Pack coming a close second. Loving the Egyptian texture set probably helps.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 8 December 2015, 21:10

Cool remix. I couldn't find the double shotgun for some reason (on skill 2).

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 3 25 May 2016, 16:19

Although I did enjoy this map, I can't say that it was necessarily better than the original. Some issues, such as the lack of a super shotgun, brought many fights down to a tediously slow pace. This was made worse by the fact that it was possible to outrange the first and second shamblers if you're lucky with their pathing, and several other small issues with pathing meant that monsters sometimes failed to present a threat.

That being said, I do think that the implementation of some areas was superior to the original game. Dodging spikes as they flew at me was no longer a "don't stand in the middle" bore, but rather something that required me to pay attention and move to avoid being hit.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 3 18 October 2016, 5:02

Though released 10 years after the original, this map manages to feel less spacious, hence less epic - I'm thinking notably of the gold key room. That said, I agree both with Icant's first paragraph and Pritchard's range/pathing criticism.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 20 October 2016, 14:40

Very beautiful, and fun to play, with well-balanced difficulty (though the pair of shamblers in the bridge, right near the start, was a surprise!)

i am just giving this four stars rather than three, but I feel that's generous because of two important flaws. One is that there's almost no sense of connectivity due to the extensive use of teleports and wind-tunnels; and the other is that (like other fr3n maps) this one has points of no return, after which it becomes impossible to go back and pick up ammo, armour, health, whatever. Generally, I believe players should have the choice of how they like to play.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in