Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of func_mapjam5
Author:Arrrcee, FifthElephant, Hypnos, ijed, mfx, Scampie, Skacky, WarrenM
Title:Func Map Jam 5 - The Qonquer Map Jam
Download:func_mapjam5.zip (310097940ce10d5c694c35612ab3a5ae)
Filesize:45523 Kilobytes
Release date:10.04.2015
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardQonquer mod
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
demo1.dem2086 KB10.04.2015
docs/jam5_arrrcee.txt2 KB09.04.2015
docs/jam5_fifth.txt4 KB09.04.2015
docs/jam5_mfx.txt3 KB10.04.2015
docs/jam5_scampie.txt2 KB09.04.2015
docs/jam5_skacky.txt2 KB09.04.2015
func_mapjam5_readme.txt3 KB10.04.2015
gfx/env/mercury_bk.tga769 KB10.04.2015
gfx/env/mercury_dn.tga769 KB10.04.2015
gfx/env/mercury_ft.tga769 KB10.04.2015
gfx/env/mercury_lf.tga769 KB10.04.2015
gfx/env/mercury_rt.tga769 KB10.04.2015
gfx/env/mercury_up.tga769 KB10.04.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_bk.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_dn.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_ft.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_lf.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_rt.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/moonrise_up.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/shol_bk.tga280 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/shol_dn.tga137 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/shol_ft.tga274 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/shol_lf.tga299 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/shol_rt.tga297 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/shol_up.tga337 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/stormydays_bk.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/stormydays_dn.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/stormydays_ft.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/stormydays_lf.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/stormydays_rt.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/stormydays_up.tga3073 KB09.04.2015
gfx/env/voidb_bk.tga193 KB03.12.2014
gfx/env/voidb_dn.tga193 KB03.12.2014
gfx/env/voidb_ft.tga193 KB03.12.2014
gfx/env/voidb_lf.tga193 KB03.12.2014
gfx/env/voidb_rt.tga193 KB03.12.2014
gfx/env/voidb_up.tga193 KB03.12.2014
maps/jam5_arrrcee.bsp1131 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_fifth.bsp1122 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_fifth.lit359 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_hypnos.bsp3451 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_hypnos.lit2030 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_ijed.bsp2105 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_ijed.lit550 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_mfx.bsp6149 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_mfx.lit2272 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_scampie.bsp3455 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_scampie.lit1280 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_skacky.bsp12844 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_skacky.lit4194 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_warren.bsp6529 KB09.04.2015
maps/jam5_warren.lit2969 KB09.04.2015
maps/start.bsp1939 KB10.04.2015
maps/start.lit680 KB10.04.2015
progs.dat442 KB14.03.2015
qcc/FrikQCC167 KB14.03.2015
qcc/ai.qc16 KB14.03.2015
qcc/amtest.qc2 KB14.03.2015
qcc/boss.qc13 KB14.03.2015
qcc/buttons.qc3 KB14.03.2015
qcc/client.qc38 KB14.03.2015
qcc/combat.qc9 KB14.03.2015
qcc/defs.qc21 KB14.03.2015
qcc/demon.qc11 KB14.03.2015
qcc/dog.qc11 KB14.03.2015
qcc/doors.qc17 KB14.03.2015
qcc/enforcer.qc12 KB14.03.2015
qcc/entityutils.qc1 KB14.03.2015
qcc/fight.qc8 KB14.03.2015
qcc/fish.qc9 KB14.03.2015
qcc/hknight.qc19 KB14.03.2015
qcc/items.qc28 KB14.03.2015
qcc/jctest.qc1 KB14.03.2015
qcc/knight.qc11 KB14.03.2015
qcc/minion.qc4 KB14.03.2015
qcc/misc.qc17 KB14.03.2015
qcc/models.qc10 KB14.03.2015
qcc/monsters.qc5 KB14.03.2015
qcc/ogre.qc16 KB14.03.2015
qcc/oldone.qc10 KB14.03.2015
qcc/plats.qc8 KB14.03.2015
qcc/player.qc18 KB14.03.2015
qcc/print.qc3 KB14.03.2015
qcc/progdefs.h3 KB14.03.2015
qcc/progs.src1 KB14.03.2015
qcc/qitems.qc2 KB14.03.2015
qcc/qonquer.qc14 KB14.03.2015
qcc/qonquerwave.qc1 KB14.03.2015
qcc/shalrath.qc9 KB14.03.2015
qcc/shambler.qc14 KB14.03.2015
qcc/soldier.qc11 KB14.03.2015
qcc/sprites.qc1 KB14.03.2015
qcc/subs.qc6 KB14.03.2015
qcc/tarbaby.qc8 KB14.03.2015
qcc/triggers.qc14 KB14.03.2015
qcc/weapons.qc26 KB14.03.2015
qcc/wizard.qc12 KB14.03.2015
qcc/world.qc11 KB14.03.2015
qcc/zombie.qc21 KB14.03.2015
quake.rc2 KB09.04.2015
sound/game/click.wav111 KB14.03.2015
sound/game/fight.wav431 KB14.03.2015
sound/game/wavecomplete.wav517 KB14.03.2015
source/BIP.wad901 KB09.04.2015
source/MapJam5_Warren.map4592 KB09.04.2015
source/acqonquer1.map383 KB09.04.2015
source/jam5_fifth.map537 KB09.04.2015
source/jam5_hypnos.map818 KB09.04.2015
source/jam5_ijed.map880 KB09.04.2015
source/jam5_scampie.map1341 KB09.04.2015
source/jam5_skacky.map6169 KB09.04.2015
source/jam5_skacky.wad9965 KB09.04.2015
source/quake101.wad4597 KB09.04.2015
source/zerstörer.wad916 KB09.04.2015

func_mapjam5.zip - Func Map Jam 5 - The Qonquer Map Jam

Map jam #5 - a community project at Func_Msgboard.

The pack features a start map and 8 maps of various themes made for WarrenM's Qonquer mod (included), which lets the player fight waves of monsters in arena-style maps, with the occasional assistance of minions. The theme for this jam was originally "Prisons of the underworld".

The map sources are included.

This file was repackaged by Spirit, the qcc/.DS_Store file was removed and the source/zerstörer.wad filename updated. You can find the original zip in the trash/ directory.


Tags: qonquer, source, start map, arena, jam

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.6/5 with 19 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Bozo97 Guest 11 April 2015, 4:15

Damn, who made that startmap? It burns hot.

AAS Registered, rated this a 5 11 April 2015, 5:35

Some great maps, with dull gameplay. I mean this mod takes too much time before the fun starts, and it starts on wave 10+ for me.

Skacky's map is absolute gorgeous, I wish he make regular SP version.

FifthElephant Registered 11 April 2015, 18:58

Even though I contributed a map to this I have to agree with AAS. It takes too long for the difficulty to become challenging, I felt like my map wasn't fun enough but it is fun when it gets harder.

I think the way many of the maps were designed was around the higher difficulty waves and thus the build up is not as fun, including my own. Looking at my own map now I should have let the map open up as you get into the higher waves. That way the arena would be smaller and more challenging in the lower waves.

Wisdom Registered, rated this a 5 12 April 2015, 7:29

what the apropriate engine to run this perfectly??

AAS Registered, rated this a 5 12 April 2015, 8:11

@Wisdom Use http://quakespasm.sourceforge.net/

You may also consider usage of https://www.quaddicted.com/tools/quake_injector to simplify installation maps from this site.

Wisdom Registered, rated this a 5 12 April 2015, 19:25

it will run with darkplaces?

user7346 Registered 15 April 2015, 2:32

Pleeaaasse release a "single player pack" of these maps!!

Dave Guest 15 April 2015, 14:42

This is amazing! Please make more Qonquer.

FifthElephant Registered 19 April 2015, 20:48

Tweaked lighting version of hypnos map.

http://www.quaketastic.com/files/singleplayer/maps/jam5hypnos2.zip

dokka Guest 25 April 2015, 1:23

wow ! I don't know Conquer mod and don't care about playability but what I'm seeing in the screenshot is absofuckinglutely amazing !

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 4 11 May 2015, 19:11

I'm unsure how to rate this. Everything looks amazing! Quake combat is difficult to set up well in this horde defense format though.

Scampie's "Quicker Qonquer" mod helps. http://scampie.net/files/QuickerQonquer.zip That speeds up the enemy progression and fixes a bug. If you want to get the fixed/changed behaviors from that mod into jam 5, all you need is to copy the new progs.dat into your jam 5 folder.

If you just want to see IMO the best gameplay in the pack, then try the maps by FifthElephant and Scampie. Scampie's is a multi-arena map -- arena 1 is the standout, actually the best arena in the pack overall, although his arena 3 is definitely worth a play in its own weird way.

Since Qonquer maps are arenas, you can quickly see what a map has to offer, so all the others are still worth a look too. Some great Quake architecture, and they're all fun for at least a few Qonquer rounds.

MikeTaylor Registered 11 May 2015, 21:36

I've played a little of this. I think I just have to conclude it's not for me. I've never seen the point of combat for its own sake -- deathmatches never held a lot of appeal for me, and Q3A completely failed to light my fire -- and that's what this feels like to me.

I would love to see proper Q1SP versions of these maps, and I fervently hope that someone -- either the original authors, or an enterprising mapper looking for new challenge -- upgrades them to single-player maps. There's evidently some very lovely architecture here.

I won't award a score for this pack: it would be unfair of me to give a low mark because of personal gameplay preferences.

Gorlash Guest 6 June 2015, 15:52

Some great looking maps, but the arena gameplay is dull as ditchwater. It just does not work with quake's AI.

Wandering aimlessly in a big area trying to find monsters to shoot is just tedious and boring.

FacilisDK Registered 17 June 2015, 22:24

The maps are beautiful and screams for a single player mission.

adib Guest 22 June 2015, 6:48

It's 1:45 AM here and I just wanted to stop by and say I wanna live at that Skacky's blue mosque. Like forever. Good night, I'm gonna dream of it now.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 1 September 2015, 9:41

I really like the Qonquer mod, but only because I like horde/survival gametypes in FPS games. UT2004's Invasion mode with waves of Unreal monsters, Halo: Reach's Firefight mode with waves of Covenant: all great. This is great too, but I have to agree that the early waves are kinda boring, especially in the bigger maps. If there's a way to fix this, without drastically changing the maps, it's to spawn more monsters to begin with.

That said, I haven't spent too much time with any of these maps, but I played the maps that came with Qonquer earlier. It was a lot of fun, even if I only liked one of the maps.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 1 September 2015, 9:43

Needless to say I'd love to play more Qonquer maps!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 15 February 2016, 20:31

I played Scampie and Scacky's maps today with the Quicker Qonquer mod. That mod definitely changes the enemy progression for the better.

asking Guest 16 February 2016, 0:03

Were does one get the "quicker conquer" MOD?

Lane Powell Guest, rated this a 4 16 February 2016, 7:59

Johnny Law posted a link to it above!

seeing Guest 16 February 2016, 17:54

Must have overlooked that, thx!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 3 May 2016, 7:28

Tried this out again. Somehow I had completely missed the "hidden" arena in mfx's map, which is by far the best one in the pack in terms of gameplay. It looks great too! I had been trying to learn some of the basics of Quake mappery by making Qonquer maps but now I have to go back to the drawing board :) Really a great example of how a tight, threatening arena combat map can be done.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 3 May 2016, 7:49

P.S. Any particular reason why no source for mfx's map is included?

dwere Guest 15 July 2016, 23:21

Anyone still has QuickerQonquer? The link is dead.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 15 July 2016, 23:49
dwere Guest 16 July 2016, 6:36

Thanks!

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 3 September 2016, 20:57

As most people have already stated, the gameplay is simply not suited for me.

With that out of the way, these are some gorgeous map designs!

Most notable is (and as been a trend for the jams I have played) Skacky's submission. My GOD is this an amazing piece of work. The calm blue lit moonlight and contrasting sharp white lights for dwellings just brings everything together in on cohesive package. On a sad note, it is a bit demoralizing as I can't see myself ever crafting the designs Skacky has displayed here.

Either way, I have to rate this pack 3 stars just for the fantastic designs. I can't judge it on the gameplay alone as it would be unfair.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in