Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of glorious
Author:aDaya
Title:A Once Glorious City
Download:glorious.zip (46c7fcda6b70923a9c6dfc255a2e73d4)
Filesize:10842 Kilobytes
Release date:29.10.2018
Homepage:http://arthurbiver.neocities.org
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
glorious.bsp4294 KB29.10.2018
glorious.lit3180 KB29.10.2018
glorious_readme.txt3 KB29.10.2018
glorious_src/Q.wad5165 KB27.04.1997
glorious_src/glorious.map1945 KB28.10.2018
glorious_src/hipnotic.wad1337 KB25.06.2007
glorious_src/q2TEX00.wad13242 KB08.05.2006
glorious_src/rogue.wad2386 KB14.04.2006

glorious.zip - A Once Glorious City

Large temple complex using Egyptian textures from Rogue/Q1MP2, featuring somewhat nonlinear gameplay. The map source and a few texture wads are included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, temple, egypt, textures, source, limits, greek

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 4 17 November 2018, 12:48

Really nice map with a classic feel.

whirlstr Registered, rated this a 5 17 November 2018, 21:14

Fun map with a unique theme. The architecture and texturing are really Greco-Roman, not very Egyptian at all. The construction is perhaps simple by modern standards but the visual design makes it very nice to look at. This gives it a classic feel, reminding me of the Greek MP2 map but with a more grand scale. The level design is great - very non-linear, without being confusing. And it really has a 3D city feel, with interconnected, multi-level buildings. The gameplay is great as well, with good difficulty balance and some interesting encounters. The final fight is pretty cool - it's just a small box with pillars but a lot of gameplay is squeezed out of the space. Just an overall excellent map.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 22 November 2018, 3:40

Great design! Great labyrinth like! I didn't find any secrets (maybe because I'm tired and studying for an exam)

Would rate this a 5 just for the design. Now that I think about it, I better play it again and find the gold key to the pentagram on the floor...

But, I really have issues in lame teleporting enemies behind the player. This artificial difficulty was implemented well when there was a fiend teleported in the floor above, giving time to the player to asses the situation. But a shambler right in front of you is just lame.

I REALLY liked the super nailgun part. Maybe create a vibe before? That room was optional, maybe give a message like "please the gods for the reward at your own peril".

Just one thing that happened to me.

Since there were a lot of doors, there was an enforcer that had been alerted but I couldn't find him. I think he went opening doors, and everytime I looked around to see if it was a trap. Now THAT created tension. A lot of fun.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 22 November 2018, 3:42

And the teleporting enemy when you enter the room... now that was clever. Really made me go cautiously.

And very interesting how the megahealth guarded by the super knight by the water was on point for me. Had 3 health, ran to the megahealth, nearly got killed. Perfect design, I thought.

F*** spawns.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in