Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of gravelpitfinal2
Author:Daya
Title:GravelPit
Download:gravelpitfinal2.zip (9a27b645463231e9dad9efb06a95ecb5)
Filesize:4357 Kilobytes
Release date:30.08.2014
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Misc. Files
BSP: ✘ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
READ ME gravelpit.txt7 KB30.08.2014
gfx/env/devpun_bk.tga603 KB15.08.2001
gfx/env/devpun_dn.tga670 KB14.08.2001
gfx/env/devpun_ft.tga521 KB15.08.2001
gfx/env/devpun_lf.tga622 KB15.08.2001
gfx/env/devpun_rt.tga537 KB15.08.2001
gfx/env/devpun_up.tga401 KB14.08.2001
maps/gravelpit.bsp4465 KB30.08.2014
maps/gravelpit.lit1340 KB30.08.2014
maps/gravelpit.pts190 KB27.08.2014

gravelpitfinal2.zip - GravelPit

Medium-sized base-style map, based on the Team Fortress 2 level "Gravel Pit". It uses a mix of idbase and Quake II textures. The author's first Quake map.

Note: This map requires Quoth and an engine port with support for colored lighting and skyboxes.

This file was repackaged by Spirit. You can find the original .zip in the trash.


Tags: quoth, base, textures, quake2, medium, tf2, remix, remake

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit Registered, rated this a 3 1 September 2014, 22:24

The open layout is not for me, neither the base monsters. Got lost on my first attempt but managed it easily on the second. I loved the final ending. Overall, not a map of my taste but a very nice first release (more so for base fans)!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 3 September 2014, 0:50

I got lost too -- thought I was just out of practice. Maybe it helps to know the map this was based on (which I don't).

Anyway, I agree that this is very impressive for a first release. It is large and intricate for a first map, with somewhat nonlinear progression, which is nice.

Visually it is a little blocky (the architecture can get away with it, but the rockwork looks perhaps a little too 1990s) and some of the texture choices could have been better (e.g. the base floor texture that is cut off mid-texture on some of the ramps). I also wonder about the item placement: I often found myself either with far too little or far too much ammo given the enemies I was facing, and missed the super shotgun entirely until very late into the map ... but then again, that could just be me (or perhaps it is the necessary trade-off for the non-linearity). One last very subjective nitpick is that I thought the final battle was overkill on skill 1.

None of these are major flaws, though. There is very little really "wrong" with this map, but there are a few things that one hopes will be even better in the author's next release.

So in short: a great debut, and I can't wait for Daya's next map.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 10 September 2014, 17:58

I really enjoyed this one. Didn't get lost, but then I always take maps slowly and carefully, so I tend to absorb the geography as a natural by-product.

I echo Icant's issue about the ammo: I suspect that if I'd taken the right exit from the first big (deserted) area instead of the left, and therefore got the rocket-launcher sooner, everything would have been much easier.

My only other quibble is that it's much too easy to just run straight past the last two monsters into the exit: in fact, the first time I finished the level, that's just what happened by accident! I had to go back to my last save to get that satisfying 89/89 kills.

Satan Guest 25 September 2014, 7:56

Sometimes it is fun to have to learn the right way to play a map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in