Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hc0
Author:Nicolas "hexcalk" Maeder
Title:Peripheral Fundament
Download:hc0.zip (ea981c5144796489177c32913a38dd15)
Filesize:4499 Kilobytes
Release date:10.12.2016
Homepage:http://hexcalk.blogspot.com
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
hc0.bsp2673 KB10.12.2016
hc0.map395 KB10.12.2016
hc0.txt3 KB10.12.2016
spasm0000.tga6076 KB10.12.2016

hc0.zip - Peripheral Fundament

Small mostly base-style beginner map. The map source is included.

Tags: small, base, mixtex, source

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.4/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
bfg666 Registered, rated this a 2 10 January 2017, 22:36

It is too painfully obvious that this is a beginner's map. A 1996 beginner's map... made in 2016! Blocky, randomly textured with very flat lighting. I think this should have remained an unreleased test map.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 11 January 2017, 11:44

I can't agree! While Peripheral Fundament is obviously not an objectively good piece of work, I had a great time hacking my way through the apparently random mix of monsters and taking advantage of all the infighting. I hope hexcalc goes on to much better things in terms of architecture, lighting, logical layout, monster placement, ammo balance, health balance and more. But with all that said, this is fun -- and isn't that the point?

(I finished with only 167 of 200 monsters, and can't imagine where another 33 could be hiding.)

JMP Guest, rated this a 2 16 January 2017, 0:06

FYI the author has a new map that IMO shows significant improvement over this:

http://hexcalk.blogspot.com/2017/01/hc2-quake-baneful-politic-comply.html

hexcalk Guest 16 January 2017, 10:45

Well yes, I made better maps than hc0 (as JMP stated). I made one after this named neg2betahc, and then hc2 was released afterward. Peripheral Fundament was created because I wanted start off with a weird idbase map, and the result is messy.

hexcalk Guest 16 January 2017, 15:12

By the way, here's my Blogspot/Blogger page about neg2betahc (ethycs0fL3gaci).:

http://hexcalk.blogspot.com/2017/01/neg2betahc-ethycs0fl3gaci.html

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 17 January 2017, 16:22

I assume these other maps will turn up here on Quaddicted in time?

Spirit Registered 17 January 2017, 18:15

They are uploaded but no one added them to the system yet :(

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 29 January 2017, 0:04

I agree with Mike; while it lacked the polish and was all over the place, it was fun and the very messiness also made things more unpredictable and kept me on the edge. Hearing monsters seemingly randomly teleporting into the installation en masse and hearing their roars echo in the hallways added to keeping me on my toes.

I played it on hard and did manage to beat it without dying; I did get close, though, with like only 15 HP remaining, until I was able to find two megahealths in a crate, which saved the day. Ammo was plentiful, maybe even too much so, but once I realized it, I could just keep chucking rockets and grenades at the horde shower in their innards. Bloody good fun! >:D (pun intended)

Sometimes I'm also just on the mood for something small bite-sized, rough-and-dirty maps like these, when I don't want to get invested too heavily on large maps that can take long to complete, especially when half of the experience comes from appreciating the work that went in the fine details of the architecture. Tonight, I didn't feel like appreciating architecture; I just wanted a quick bloodfest, and this map delivered! ;3

3/5

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 26 February 2017, 21:43

Peripheral Fundament on The Quake Grave

I had a hard time making heads or tails of this one. It's like a demented fun house in Quake! Watch for more!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in