Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hc1extndagain
Author:Nicolas "hexcalk" Maeder
Title:Implo1t Dys3ngage
Download:hc1extndagain.zip (eae513017f4e22507fd346ba58c921ff)
Filesize:772 Kilobytes
Release date:23.01.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
hc1extndagain.bsp1149 KB23.01.2017
hc1extndagain.map329 KB23.01.2017
hc1extndagain.png277 KB23.01.2017
hc1extndagain.txt10 KB23.01.2017

hc1extndagain.zip - Implo1t Dys3ngage

Very small Japanese shrine using Daikatana textures. The map source is included. Barely average.

Tags: small, japanese, shrine, dojo, realism, textures, source, dkt

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.5/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 13 February 2017, 11:56

A unique looking map with a nice comfortable interior is what saves this map from a 2.

Hexcalk, while releasing rather frequently is showing improvements from each map.

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 13 February 2017, 15:06

Agree with Bloughsburgh that this is Hexcalk's best map so far. The textures are nice, and the shrine, while small, is well-designed. The horde combat outside the shrine is better than the horde combat in the author's previous maps (there isn't the same automatic infighting caused by bad monster placement).

Ultimately this is too small to get more than 3*, but I'd love to see something like this executed on a larger scale.

hexcalk Guest 13 February 2017, 22:57

Yep, I actually received a comment from kreathor during beta-testing that this hc1 map felt like Shadow Warrior, which had Japanese themes.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 14 February 2017, 16:05

Small, crude, garish and arbitrary by modern standards. Nowhere near as good as the same author's (presumably earlier) hc0 (Peripheral Fundament). Gets two stars just because it's coherent enough to present some kind of explore-and-exterminate challenge, but really not worth bothering with unless you're a completist.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 26 February 2017, 21:45

Implo1t Dys3ngage on The Quake Grave

A definite improvement over his first map, this one is more manageable, has a flow to it and has really nice textures. There are still a few things to improve upon (like the way monsters are introduced), but this is a vast improvement over the first map. Watch for more!

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 24 June 2017, 17:08

Yep, definitely got some nice Shadow Warrior vibes from this map. I liked the map's unique aesthetics inside the building. On one hand there's a lot of detail put into some elements, while on the other hand the outside, for example, is large and monotonous. Large and monotonous areas look empty and give me strong "beginner map" vibes.

The gameplay was pretty nice inside the building. I just wish the outside would've had something in it to fight for, like ArrrCee pointed out in his review: A secret passage, loot, even a gardener's shed or something. :D

I'm kind of torn between 2 and 3 here. I'd say the unique aesthetics of the more detailed areas warrant a 2.5, which rounds nicely up to 3.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in