Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hellbase
Author:Roger Staines
Title:Hellbase
Download:hellbase.zip (d37465bb467c63dccfea4a8738ecf0c7)
Filesize:558 Kilobytes
Release date:17.12.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Hellbase.txt2 KB17.12.1996
hellbase.bsp1265 KB24.11.1996

hellbase.zip - Hellbase

Medium sized Base map with Wizard bits.

Tags: medium, base, wizard

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.3/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
xDDGx Registered, rated this a 2 27 June 2014, 23:24

Design is definitely cubish, but somewhat interesting and original.
The map seems to be playable but very unbalanced. Also, I don't like this strange inclination to make door opening by shoot (if this is not a secret door).

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 23 January 2015, 15:07

Hellbase on The Quake Grave

The map is definitely interestingly designed and it's a good map for a first release. I really liked the part where you had to jump from the platform down into the water area surrounded by lava, because it's something a little different.

However, I think xDDGx got it right above, this map is completely imbalanced. It's perfectly paced and balanced up to the last 2 rooms where the map definitely earns its title. In the last room there are like 5-6 Shamblers running around a maze type setup.

I think the goal here was to create a map where you could grab the pent or the quad and go and destroy a room full of baddies. However, the items (pent and quad)are placed in such a way that they would run out in the middle of the very important fight by the exit so you may be left surrounded in a fight you can't win.

Noxat Registered, rated this a 3 22 September 2015, 4:05

This map has very basic, cubed rooms as many early levels tend to, though there are a few spots of interesting architecture. The last few rooms are an onslaught of big nasty dudes, but thanks to the ridiculously easy-to-find secret power-ups and plentiful ammo, I didn't really have many problems.

JMP Registered, rated this a 2 20 March 2017, 18:40

Essentially a Doom level made in Quake. Not terrible, but crude and flat, and unbalanced as the previous comments mention. The author went on to do much better things.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 14 January 2018, 10:18

I think the map's fun. Due to the good pacing it's really playable and makes you want to keep playing even if you die, as Crash stated in his review at his site. I actually didn't find the quad, but was still able to beat the last fight.

The biggest downsize of the map is the poor architecture, which can be forgiven given the time. I also wish the secrets were marked.

pmk Guest 28 October 2018, 1:53

I didn't really care for this map as it is too boxy with various texture issues. Plus I felt the monster count in this level was way too high as the enemy encounter rate in that last room where the exit is is too high. More well balanced enemy placement would have made this map map more memorable and fun too play through. I would only give this map a two out of five rating and say skip this map as there are better quake maps to download and play through.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in