Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hellrev
Author:Rickard Edén & Greenwood
Title:Hell Revisited
Download:hellrev.zip (cc59af3752af16e211aa184581510371)
Filesize:1867 Kilobytes
Release date:25.04.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
hellrev.bsp2735 KB25.04.2020
hellrev.lit1022 KB25.04.2020
hellrev.txt5 KB25.04.2020

hellrev.zip - Hell Revisited

Retextured version of Hell with a bit of colored lighting added and a few missing items fixed.

Tags: large, dungeon, lava, caverns, textures, remix

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.1/5 with 7 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Text_Fish Registered, rated this a 1 5 May 2020, 22:32

So this is a retexture of an earlier map called Hell. The problem is, the bonkers colour palette was literally the only interesting thing about the original map. Did they fix the lack of ammo? No. Did they fix the awkward geometry? No. Did they fix the fact that it only had one poorly hidden secret right near the beginning of the level? No. Did they fix the button that does nothing in the room with weird spikes, a couldron and some sort of teleporter? No, they just made it display a message that confirms it does nothing.

I guess I should compliment the mapper on improving the textures and they do look halfway decent, but for the most part this was a case of using the texture replace tool in the editor, if not simply swapping out the wad.

Usually a map this mediocre would be unremarkable and therefore unworthy of review, but the fact that it's been re-released without fixing any of the originals problems sort of makes it remarkable, I guess, in a weird way?

Conclusion: You can't polish a turd.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 5 May 2020, 22:53

A very unique map. Most lava maps in Quake are essentially abstract dungeons and don't feel particularly hellish to me. This is the first one that gave me the feeling of truly descending into hell. The custom textures, while slightly crude, added to that feeling.

Unfortunately, the gameplay isn't ideal. Progression is plodding at times, and ammo starvation will be a problem to any player who isn't careful. Still, this is interesting enough that it's worth playing.

Greenwood Registered 6 May 2020, 6:38

@Text_Fish,

I did fix the lack of ammo that happened due to several ammo boxes falling out of the map. If you read the Read Me included in the download, this was explained. This positively affected the gameplay and was displayed in a recent playthrough online where someone played both versions. This version was extremely more playable because the ammo stayed in the map after launch.

I also retextured the entire level from scratch. Your assumption of using a replace tool was not an option, due to the custom color palette. I spent time going through the whole map, looking for suitable textures that were pleasing and fixing errors of the original.

Granted, it's an old level and might not be your cup of tea; however, my intent was to simply fixed the gameplay issues (ammo) and convert it to the standard color palette.

Text_Fish Registered, rated this a 1 6 May 2020, 9:32

Greenwood, the retexture is the best thing about the remake, so well done for that.

Unfortunately the gameplay issues have not been fixed, because there still isn't enough ammo on the map.

Greenwood Registered 6 May 2020, 15:20

Normal playthrough by Zigi - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0wVkUT0aNI

Hard playthrough by Ch0wW - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwHEd-Jg5ac&t=8s

JuanchoES Registered, rated this a 4 18 May 2020, 8:10

Really fun map, great atmosphere

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in