Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hipside
Author:Levelord
Title:Hipside
Download:hipside.zip (a4882cb587ff579d5aa6130ec600663b)
Filesize:461 Kilobytes
Release date:20.03.1997
Homepage:http://www.levelord.com
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
HIPSIDE.BSP964 KB20.03.1997
HIPSIDE.MAP449 KB19.03.1997

hipside.zip - Hipside

Small orange base map, made for Computer Gaming World magazine. The map source is included. OK.

Tags: small, base, orange, source, dm, scourge, worthwhile, orion

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
sg.cal Guest 16 December 2013, 19:27

nic€

Breezeep Registered, rated this a 4 16 December 2013, 21:38

Just finished the map, I gotta say, it's well done for an old map.

user7346 Registered 17 December 2013, 1:52

'tis true....

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 17 December 2013, 10:20

True, but I thought it was a little boring. It feels very much like something that was primarily intended for DM, which I believe is in fact the case.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 18 December 2013, 13:51

Why is this listed on the front page as the newest map?

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 18 December 2013, 14:12

Because it is the latest map to be added to the database, I would assume. Not because of its date of release.

digs Registered 19 December 2013, 17:12

Very good for 1997

mfx Registered, rated this a 4 20 December 2013, 20:50

Absolutely well thought out map, it breathes that oldschool vibe, which is hard to describe.. Fun to blast through!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 7 January 2014, 11:58

Boring architecture, uninspired monster selection, far too easy ... and yet, an absolute blast to play. I enjoyed this much more than lots of other levels that are palpably superior. 4/5.

mmm Registered, rated this a 4 24 March 2014, 15:51

That was 5 minutes of good, solid fun. I'd like at least a couple of stronger monsters, though.

FifthElephant Registered, rated this a 4 4 April 2014, 22:57

Very dated looking map, monsters are a bit boring but the map is brilliant for offloading a bunch of carnage. Levelord was a superstar mapper back in the day, it's no wonder this is such fun.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 3 January 2015, 22:27

Truly a very good one. I would highlight the so good use of just a few textures, the non-linear and very well interconnected layout that looks inspired by DM maps, the numbered and not numbered secrets, for their placement and for the added fun when the player finds them, and the number of places to explore and move around, that feel natural. Ammo and health is in amounts around those in ID maps. Difficulty around ID maps.

But while the combats and ambushes are way better than most maps that use just base enemies in id1 progs, it feels like they are lacking something. The bigger weapons make the map easy and the combats too short so the player begins to think, ''it was just only that? I just began shooting''. For that i recommend to discard the RL and the LG, and stick to GL, SNG and SG, which are more than enough to kill the second half of the enemies.

5- for a 1997 map.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 13 February 2017, 14:57

Pretty much a meat-and-potatoes base map, but really fun to play.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in