Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of honey
Author:czg
Title:Honey
Download:honey.zip (5c66609025b7de7d1cbcfac69a92551d)
Filesize:20980 Kilobytes
Release date:31.03.2012
Homepage:
Additional Links: The Abandoned WorkshopsFunc_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
honey/honey.txt4 KB30.03.2012
honey/maps/bm_brkceil.bsp45 KB14.09.2011
honey/maps/bm_brkceil2.bsp45 KB15.09.2011
honey/maps/bm_chain.bsp118 KB06.03.2012
honey/maps/bm_chain2.bsp413 KB06.03.2012
honey/maps/credits.bsp2029 KB20.03.2012
honey/maps/h_end.bsp3557 KB20.03.2012
honey/maps/h_hub1.bsp3075 KB15.03.2012
honey/maps/h_hub2.bsp1988 KB15.03.2012
honey/maps/honey.bsp6614 KB30.03.2012
honey/maps/saint.bsp8493 KB30.03.2012
honey/maps/start.bsp5132 KB30.03.2012
honey/progs.dat519 KB28.03.2012
honey/progs/candle.mdl24 KB22.03.2009
honey/progs/mogre.mdl219 KB20.03.2012
honey/progs/s_light2.spr2 KB26.03.2012
honey/progs/tree1.mdl78 KB09.01.2012
honey/sound/honey/blaahd.wav198 KB17.01.2012
honey/sound/honey/machine.wav585 KB17.01.2012
honey/sound/honey/muzak4.wav5231 KB20.08.2008
honey/sound/honey/q2watr.wav199 KB20.08.2000
honey/sound/honey/ting1.wav166 KB10.02.2012
honey/sound/honey/ting2.wav166 KB10.02.2012
honey/sound/honey/ting3.wav166 KB10.02.2012
honey/sound/honey/ting4.wav166 KB10.02.2012
honey/src.zip3409 KB30.03.2012

honey.zip - Honey

Two cleverly designed maps with massive scale and thick atmosphere, using an expanded cistern texture set. Standard Quake gameplay with several enhancements and surprises. Includes a start/outro map and a bonus credits map. QC and map sources are included.

Tags: fog, medieval, victorian, cistern, epic, huge scale, manass, large, bricks, source, bad qc, cutscenes

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.9/5 with 49 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
onetruepurple, rated this a 5 1 April 2012, 0:58
Highlights:

Entering the main "courtyard" in map 1.

Revisiting the most disheveled parts of map 2 with the "keys".

The lift protruding from the ceiling.

The bloody occult place with a properly scary ambush.

"(...) some extra firepower!"

Spawn on steroids.

Every time a jump across a small gap like in E1M1 is necessary to progress.

The lone zombie gazing into the depths.

The final fights that have you go "oh shit", then "wait, this seems doable" and then "hell yeah".

Excellent work.
than 1 April 2012, 5:32
The rating should go to 11... I know that's 2xMAX+1, but it deserves it. Play it now if you haven't already. Amazingly well designed maps that are easily on par or better than any other Quake maps ever made (including czg07 and his other maps).
JohnNy_cz, rated this a 5 1 April 2012, 16:11
First impression: Amazing how far and deep one can take the true Quake sewage atmosphere.

Further down the game: How much time did it take to make this map?!? 5/5
Serge 1 April 2012, 18:01
Very impressive. Id should hire this guy for the sequel (if it happens). The village map is awesome.
bent 1 April 2012, 23:07
can't save game, gives me an error "ED_ParseGlobals: EOF without closing brace on line 167". Using bengt jardrup's glquake. Any suggestions?
Spirit, rated this a 5 2 April 2012, 7:25
Yes, use Quakespasm.
Daz, rated this a 5 2 April 2012, 16:40
Video playthrough (2 parts) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ty_UVj3qc00
moron 4 April 2012, 14:11
..mmh I'll surely try it !
glad to see Quake classic authors are still alive!
Denizen 9 April 2012, 17:12
Did anyone get this to save a game using Darkplaces?
Dani 12 April 2012, 13:03
Very very beautifull.
I have problems saving, too.
Sometimes I get the same error than bent. And other one I get is :
Host_Error: PRVM_EDICT_NUM: server: bad number 603 (called at prvm_edict.c:515)

It seems that savefiles are there but it throws same errors when loading.

But a great job indeed.
Congrats !!!



QuakeForever 17 April 2012, 22:10
This is an excellent pack. CZG keep on mapping!

Check out taw.duke4.net for the first comprehensive review of the package.

And I hope Tronyn gets to covering this and that other recent map soon!
Rafro007 23 April 2012, 5:26
Man, just when you've laid off for awhile, you come back and find...this! Oh man, this was just what the doctor ordered and the only thing I hated about it was....there wasn't more! Great job, CZG, and loved the little ghosts at the end and uh...the credits.

~jfh

P.S. As usual, I couldn't find all of the secrets, :( but that's ok. This was a necessary diversion at exactly the right time for me, and you can depend on that! :)
John 1 May 2012, 21:28
These are probably the best maps I´ve ever played, and i´ve played them all ;)!!!!

Great Inspiration for All!

Thanks CZG!
hkBattousai, rated this a 1 5 May 2012, 22:29
Unknown command "Fog".
Hunk_Allock: failed on 616944 bytes
Sorry but, 1 star...
megalodon 6 May 2012, 14:43
hkBattousai.... Don't know if you did this or not but you can't play this with a normal quake or glquake.exe. You need to use a Fitzquake with increased limits and proper memory settings. It's not the map's fault since it's not meant for 1996 era.

However, I do feel ALL these things should be included in the readme file for newcomers, incl. mem settings. Fitzquake is mentioned, but that's it.

martyfender 10 May 2012, 17:13
CZG: I wanted to say that I absolutely love your lastest release, Honey. This is probably one of the best map sets I have ever played in Quake. The second map I think is the best of the two. I have played it twice through, once on skill 1 and a second time on skill 2. These great maps are unlike anything else I have played in Quake. I look forward to another great release by you. Thanks for straying off the beaten path building maps that are truly different, with out any of the stupid gimmicks, like I see in some of the so called, 4 star or greater maps. This is 5= hearts rating!
BME/ILMHB 9 July 2012, 21:45
Absobloodylutely a very high standard. The maps have such a humongous atmosphere and size. It's almost unbelievable this is just made in Q1, it can rival modern games of not so long ago.

5/5!
Cocerello, rated this a 5 24 July 2012, 15:48
Well, a lot of people commented already most of what i was going to say, so I'll keep it short.

Visually, the map is the best one i have ever played. It lacks a bit in the game play section and monster placement, like the shamblers at the final part of the honey map. It could be a bit difficultier in nightmare too. The fog looks very good, but in some parts it makes it very grayish, depending of the engine used.

The biggest problem i see is that the water flows again and the slime stops flowing without you using a switch, destroying something or killing the mastermind behind it or any other way it could be used. This ruins the narrative part of the map.
E-werd 27 July 2012, 23:51
Towards the end of the two maps there were very large machines with buttons. This is what started/stopped the flow.

If you were blindly pushing buttons to get through, you'd miss it! :)
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 20 August 2012, 14:51
Thx for mentioning it, yes, there they are.

More than i were blindly pushing, its more like i couldn't see what they were doing or the relation with the water/slime, because, at least in honey, pressing the button on the machine moves 2 doors, so you just think thats all it does. But now that i took a good look, its obvious what they do.
qbism Guest, rated this a 5 12 July 2013, 6:47

This was going to be a 'homage' trailer but 6 minutes is too long for a trailer. At least it's slightly less nauseating than my Tormentarium vid.
[youtube video link] (http://youtu.be/U5sTRO31UCA)

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 15 August 2013, 2:38

On beating the first map, this is incredible

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 17 August 2013, 4:11

I feel like monster placement could be better (waaaaaay too much opportunity for sniping), but visually and in terms of layout this is top-notch.

indstr Registered, rated this a 5 17 September 2013, 20:02

Was really impressed with this map, and it inspired me to download more of czg's levels. So far I haven't been disappointed!

generic Registered, rated this a 5 5 October 2013, 5:03

Excellent mod from one of the best Quake mappers ever! Forget hkBattousai!

mfx Registered, rated this a 5 15 October 2013, 13:50

The best ever!

SleepwalkR Registered, rated this a 5 19 October 2013, 0:31

It's flawless!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 13 November 2013, 16:01

For many years, even as technically better maps have come out, my absolute favourite Quake download has been czg07, "Insomnia". Finally., it may have been surpassed. "Honey" is absolutely sensational in every respect (monster placement included, commenters above!) The ruined underground castle level is just a thing of absolute beauty. 5/5 isn't high enough.

boink182 Guest 20 December 2013, 2:15

this might be the best most shockingly well designed couple of maps i've ever seen in quake.

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 1 March 2014, 10:58

Certainly a milestone in Quake level design, and this so many years after its release still! At first I thought: "OK, two maps, how huge can it be?" The answer is: They are actually MASSIVE - and tied together so cleverly, it couldn't be done in any better way. Your task is clear: Clean a tainted water supply by turning off the poison in one level and turning on the water again in the other (sequence does not matter). Getting this accomplished is quite an experience since your surroundings are absolutely impressive. I was especially amazed by the underground castle with its special ogres and these tricky grenade/rocket switches. And even though the areas are huge, you never get lost, that's the other great thing czg accomplished here. Finally, I can only praise the ending - it's so surprising, rewarding and also funny that it's bringing this pack to perfection. Legendary, amazing, a must-play! [Side note: I played this with Fitzquake Mark V, worked perfectly without additional startup parameters needed.]

Spirit Guest, rated this a 5 20 May 2014, 17:51

I like dudes!

onetruepurple Guest, rated this a 5 20 May 2014, 17:53

Oh hey, so do I! Let's make out :)

Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 20 May 2014, 18:41

This is not the way to test for bugs, especially if I just wrote about this particular one yesterday: https://www.quaddicted.com/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1095#p1095

Comments are meant for civil on-topic (the release) discussion, nothing else.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 18 July 2014, 3:40

I wonder why on earth Daz rated this a 4? It's the only real non-5 score, and I'm baffled as to what we considers would be worth a 5! Sheer Hellish Miasma is so spectacularly super-great that it's easy to forget how awesome Constantly No Respect also is. Until the recent jam on this map (and anyone who's not seen that should over to func_mapjam1 right now), this was the greatest Quake download of them all, for me. How fitting that it should be surpassed (for quantity of not quite quality) only by its own progeny.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 18 August 2014, 19:22

Just replayed this on hard skill and it is still the best thing ever EVER EVER

DiscombobULATED Guest 21 September 2014, 18:47

! I wish I knew how to make things work more properly.

I have got Honey working and it is AMAZINg to play-but it won't save. I am using the darkplaces engine and epsilon (which is confusing) . I just got quakespasm and it makes everything look very 1996 and has no mod option menu, so that seemed pointless.

On most of the readme files from this site say to enter command lines but I can't tell if it means in the console or in the folder? usually they don't work in the game console.

I am currently just adding downloaded maps and folders straight into my Darkplaces Quake folder and accessing them in the mod menu.. for Honey to work I have to put MAP HONEY into the command line , not sure I am doing it right.

I really just want to play all the stuff I can from this cool site but its not proving easy. Boohoo ;/

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 21 September 2014, 19:08

First order of business: If you want to "make things work more properly" you'll want to uninstall Epsilon.

Load the honey files from the folder, like: "quake.exe -game honey". It should bring you right to the start map.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 21 September 2014, 21:16

I second Onetruepurple opinion on Epsilon's pack of mods, delete it or make your own pack from zero, that pack is the worst option for almost every custom Quake map. DarkPlaces has some issues too wih most custom maps but it is still a decent option.

On the help for loading maps, you have a whole page talking about that in the help section in this website, check it out ;)

discombobULATED Guest 22 September 2014, 2:45

:D HOOOOORAAAAAY.... ! I deleted the epsilon files as you suggested and everything properly works properly proper now. What an amaaazing MOD!! Mind=blowing maps! I just been it playing for hours and need to change my underwear (for good reasons not bad*) and I am starving.

Thanks very much for the responses and the help, much appreciated!

Karl_Delacroix Registered, rated this a 5 6 October 2014, 15:28

My favourite fan map for Quake 1 ever. The architecture is just off the charts, the atmosphere is top notch, the gameplay is really well balanced and the level design is just genius.

6/5 easily

mb13 Registered, rated this a 5 11 April 2015, 2:08

One of the best I've ever played. Nice architecture and quite high difficulty level (at least for me).

Jonathan Guest 8 June 2015, 22:55

Has anyone found all 7 secrets in saint? I can only manage 6. From the top of my head, the ones I have found are

1) the megahealth near the start, rocket launcher to release 2) first corridor after megahealth, ceiling shoots switch, SSG 3) drop down to quad damage in the next section 4) the teleport onto the top of the archway, megahealth 5) another drop down to a mega-armor 6) ammo raised up on the scaffold in the Spawn area

Any clues for the 7th?

jmerridew124 Registered 17 September 2015, 19:05

As funny as the last level is, I kind of wish you hadn't gone the whole "abandoned village" route. This is one of your most fun maps but nothing quite hits the tone I love the way that Insomnia did.

That said, the level design here is absolutely amazing. You also seem to have a terrifying if lovable knack for hiding shamblers in places they should absolutely not be able to hide. I've walked around small rocks to find it was the perfect size to hide a shambler and that the path put me within inches of its face. I strongly prefer this method to the worn out "teleport shambler in player's face" trope you see in all sorts of top quality maps. This is one of those fantastic map packs that makes me approach each item, key, and door like it's going to explode. I love that.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 24 September 2015, 15:04

Played Sheer Hellish Miasma again. Oh, man. That level hits <i>every</i> button. It's just perfect in every single respect. Architecture, atmosphere, monster placement, surprises, weapon availability, progression, revisiting already-visited areas under different circumstances, secrets ... Seriously. I can't think of one single thing that could make this better, other than that I want more of it. A true milestone in Q1SP design.

matti Guest 24 September 2015, 21:57

Yeah, its devastating awesome in all aspects. CZG is a hell of a mapper.

selekt0r Registered, rated this a 5 25 January 2016, 15:47

Excellent!

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 5 29 March 2016, 13:18

Incredible in every single facet possible. If you are playing custom quake maps, then you NEED to play this one.

Doc_Holliday Registered 18 June 2016, 7:31

Two of the most amazing maps I've ever seen

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 5 25 August 2016, 16:39

Would rate it 6 if I could! This is all a modern Quake map should be: complex but not complicated, fun and oh, so gorgeous! The first time I saw those arches plunging deep in the golden fog, my jaw dropped! This type of grandiose architecture reminds me of belgian comic book artist Schuitten. Enemy placement is excellent and never deters from the mood set by this incredibly amazing design.

gotshun Registered 27 August 2016, 1:26

Absolutely outstanding. CZG is an artist.

gotshun Registered 27 August 2016, 1:30

I was so inspired by these maps, I decided to remake a "Honey theme." The problem is I don't know how to post my maps, so any help would be appreciated.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 5 27 August 2016, 3:35

Gotshun,

Email Spirit or post on http://www.celephais.net/board/forum.php

Would love to see more maps!

gotshun Registered 28 August 2016, 23:21

Very good Bloughburgh, thanks for the input.

ludicrous Registered, rated this a 5 10 September 2016, 12:38

Played this again after first time in 2014. Great, one of the best I ever played.

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 5 24 September 2016, 11:10

The best superlatives do not do this map pack justice. The architecture and visual desire are outstanding. The enemy placement and encounters are outstanding. The atmosphere is truly outstanding. The scale of the maps is mind-blowing. The creativity of some of the gameplay mechanics (such as the novel form of key used in the second map is incredible. And all this achieved in an engine that was essentially released in 1996.

You could hang this thing next to the Rembrandts in the National Gellery and people from around the world would come to see it - it's that good.

I have some minor quibbles:

  • The colour changing fog was really cool and ensured the atmosphere was always spot on. But sometimes the transition was a bit abrupt. There was one time in particular, where the fog changed from turquoise to pink (it looks better than it sounds) that felt a bit like a 1960s disco.

  • These maps have spawns, which I always thought made a poor fit in the visual theme of quake and don't make for particularly enjoyable fights. Fortunately, they are used sparingly.

  • The tongue-in cheek ending in the village and the credits page felt a bit incongruous, given the thick atmosphere that went before. This was obviously deliberate, but felt a bit out of place to me.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 5 24 September 2016, 13:30

"You could hang this thing next to the Rembrandts in the National Gellery and people from around the world would come to see it - it's that good."

'Nuff said.

dt Guest 25 October 2016, 14:10

Getting this error ending the level "constantly no respect":

http://i.imgur.com/cnTWuy4.jpg

dt Guest 25 October 2016, 14:11

I should mention I'm playing on darkplaces with the game downloaded from steam.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 5 25 October 2016, 20:24

@dt Check this post: http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-help/quake-clients/6978-darkplaces-error-reporting-thread-9.html#post134037 I'm pretty sure it'll fix your issue.

dt Guest 26 October 2016, 13:52

@bfg666

Tried all the cvars there, nothing seemed to work. Error didn't even change. Couldn't find any additional info on google either.

Thanks anyways, the map was very good - I played through both sides (not sure if there was more after) before running into this issue.

Might come back to it if I run into more issues with darkplaces and switch to something else.

Butane Registered, rated this a 4 26 October 2016, 17:12

Quakespasm is the way to go man.

I also used Darkplaces until I stared to get errors with certain maps and mods. I switched to QS for compatibility but stayed for the faithfulness to the original.

Butane Registered, rated this a 4 26 October 2016, 17:12

Quakespasm is the way to go man.

I also used Darkplaces until I stared to get errors with certain maps and mods. I switched to QS for compatibility but stayed for the faithfulness to the original.

Butane Registered, rated this a 4 26 October 2016, 17:12

Quakespasm is the way to go man.

I also used Darkplaces until I stared to get errors with certain maps and mods. I switched to QS for compatibility but stayed for the faithfulness to the original.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 5 27 October 2016, 1:58

Well then I can't help you without more info. Do you have any other mod installed? Which DP version are you using? If you have the one bundled in the Epsilon build, you should uninstall that and start over with a clean DP install.

Quakespasm is the way to go man.

Not if you want fancy stuff like RTlights or advanced replacement content capabilities.

dt Guest 27 October 2016, 2:06

Thanks, I'll give it a go.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in