Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of jailbrk
Author:Psycho
Title:Jailbreak
Download:jailbrk.zip (2a9e25e1a8ffefc5ec6668cc48db5d67)
Filesize:650 Kilobytes
Release date:10.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
jailbrkNightmare0h10m48sEsrael6662017-07-27
First run, NM difficulty, 2/4 secrets, no deaths, commentary

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
JAILBRK.BSP1578 KB16.02.2002
JAILBRK.TXT2 KB17.02.2002

jailbrk.zip - Jailbreak

Smallish mix-style pseudo-prison map.

Tags: small, prison, dm, mixtex

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.1/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
xDDGx Registered, rated this a 3 16 June 2014, 1:46

Despite some plainess, general look of this level is quite nice and original, especially the ending. Gameplay a bit rough but not too hard, there are some secrets but most of 'em almost obvious.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 2 24 June 2014, 17:27

I only found one secret even though I was looking for them, heh.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 3 26 June 2014, 1:36

Hmm, I wasn't, but I didn't unlock only one of four, that one on platform with red armor (that place is easily recognized because of lightning, at least, in software graphics; the hard part is to find button or something, which is opening that door).

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 28 June 2014, 15:15

Merely OK. I found all the secrets except the red armour: how do you get up to its ledge?

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 3 28 June 2014, 20:29

Just run and jump... If you mean how to get the red armor only, I don't know how to open that secret door too... Although, I can decompile map and look it in Hammer, if someone is really interested.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 30 June 2014, 0:53

The red armour is not a secret. Here is a guide to all four secrets if anyone is interested. I don't think secret # 1 is reasonable; there is no way of finding other than through sheer luck. I suspect that's the one MikeTaylor and xDDGx missed.

The ending is charming, but overall I also found it to be "merely OK". 2 plus.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 3 30 June 2014, 1:50

Thanks for the link! Actually, I missed #4. And completely forgot that quake maps are used for both single- and multiplayer. So there are present a couple of not-a-secret doors those are invisible in deathmatch...

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 18 March 2016, 15:29

Jailbreak on The Quake Grave

I found Jailbreak to be a fun little map with some interesting things to see, like the spiral bridge. The best part is the end when you escape from this horrid place, and it really puts the map over as something everyone should check out. Another thing that I'm impressed by in this map is how it's able to sort of tell the story of this place without actually explaining anything in context. Obviously you know you're breaking out of a jail, but as you traverse this place, you see rooms that you can piece together, such as the torture room, or the control center. This is easier to do with something like a jail, as the rooms will be familiar, but it's nice to see.

Obviously for it's an old release so it may look a big ugly and archaic to some, but I think this one is worth checking out, if just for the ending bit.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 27 July 2017, 9:48

For a 1996 map, I think it's really solid and with cool ideas. I liked the parts that looked prison-like, and the ending was cool.

I think the gameplay is quite well balanced. Item placement isn't too generous and combat situations were fairly varied.

The looks were quite plain at times, as stated above, and one of the two secrets that I found was maybe a bit too obvious. Otherwise, it's a nice little map with not too much to complain about.

pmk Guest 22 October 2018, 2:48

Quite a fun short map to play from 1996. Well built level with varied architecture such as going through the spiral walkway, or the room with chained corpses along the walls. There are plenty secrets to find and interesting combat scenarios throughout the map. I especially like the ending of the map where you use the ship to escape the jail compound. I thought that was a very clever idea for early quake mapping. I would give this map a 4 out of five rating and say that this is a must play even though it is a short map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in