Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of janitor1
Author:Neil Manke
Title:Outpost
Download:janitor1.zip (e4da1dbbd6c0e6b3572405280f71d543)
Filesize:475 Kilobytes
Release date:16.02.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sQuake Terminus
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Janitor1.bsp1161 KB09.02.1997
Outhints.txt5 KB10.02.1997
Janitor1.txt6 KB16.02.1997

janitor1.zip - Outpost

Small castle with a few custom textures and many func_illusionaries.

Tags: castle, small, textures, traps, exploration

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.8/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 16 December 2013, 17:28

Yes, the sky and foliage look very primitive and recent well-known castle maps are in a completely different league. You get very few weapons, which may be frustrating for some. Certain secrets are also ludicrously easy to find.

But there is just so much going on here: exploratory progression, hints in the form of riddles, optical illusions and allusions like in digs06 … If you can look past its somewhat rough exterior, this is a very rewarding map.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 14 January 2014, 17:32

Yes, this was kind of fun. Worth three stars, I think. It's easy to forgive crude maps if you feel they're at least making an effort.

Playing on hard, I thought I'd cleared out the level (got all secrets, killed everything I saw), but still only scored 52/63 kills. I wonder where the other 11 monsters are?

spacey Guest 11 June 2014, 23:13

MikeTaylor, perhaps the rotfish are to blame? Ok, this is classic Neil Manke. Can be a bit tricky finding all those secrets but it's great fun overall.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 31 July 2016, 4:25

Outpost on The Quake Grave

This map is very interesting. Though not as good as his Starship map that he made just a few months later, you could definitely see the potential in Neil's mapping in Outpost.

The puzzley/riddley type things and all the variety in gameplay, like the clues, spider buttons and the strange paintings on the walls, are both a blessing and a curse. I feel like they're cool additions but at the same time they don't seem intuitive to a quake map. However, once I saw what he was trying to do here, it started to work for me. Very unique!

The worst thing about it is it's a little ugly and cramped at times but hey, 1997, what do you want? =)

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 4 August 2018, 11:37

I think this map is greater than the sum of its mediocre parts. The author set out to make an atmospheric map for a cautious and exploratory playstyle (generally my kind of style), and it shows in the end result. I think it's a sign of a good author, when he can stick to a certain goal and can achieve it without sidetracking.

The environment, albeit primitive, is interesting to explore and the messages make exploration all the more enjoyable (although I didn't enjoy this one instadeath trap much). I liked this one shambler room, in particular. It was kind of endearing. :3c

The combat wasn't bad, in my opinion. Maybe because the map rewards players who explore. It'd be a lot more brutal for run n' gunners.

In a nutshell, this map isn't for everyone. If the stuff that I wrote about resonates with you, give the map a go!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in