Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of jpqm3
Author:JPal
Title:Forgotten Fortress
Download:jpqm3.zip (45d93dc3bb994ac4b15e1e31f045d294)
Filesize:3399 Kilobytes
Release date:18.05.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
README - jpqm3 - Forgotten Fortress.txt3 KB18.05.2020
id1/maps/jpqm3.bsp7917 KB18.05.2020
id1/maps/jpqm3.map5667 KB18.05.2020

jpqm3.zip

Forgotten Fortress

Large Wizard-textured castle. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: large, wizard, castle, fortress, bricks, medieval, source, limits, bsp2

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.3/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 4 June 2020, 23:17

Nice little classic level. Kind of tight, got stuck here and there, but overall very well put together.

Greenwood Registered, rated this a 5 29 June 2020, 13:24

Here is the updated version of this map. It addresses some potential ammo issues at the very end for skill 2 players and a few minor things:

http://www.quaketastic.com/files/single_player/maps/jpqm3v2.zip

erc Registered, rated this a 4 9 October 2020, 6:36

I've lately played JPal's first three levels and they are getting better by each release. Gameplay wise, classic Quake at its best with fun secrets. Looks have that subtle old-school solidness to them. Recommended.

Though as stated in the related Func_ thread by Vorkosigan, picking up the gold key which is tied to ammo spawns crashes the game if you play with QS (0.93.2) - even in the updated version. So I've switched to QSS and went on from there without any problems.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 12 October 2020, 15:46

I agree entirely with erc: the first three Jpal maps are all very much of a piece, but each a a little better than the last. This time around, there is more sense of place, and some nice atmosphere especially at the start. The main explore-and-kill portion of the map is very much like the two predecessors, but the climax is much more satisfying. All in all, this is a real step forward.

MikeTaylor, rated this a 4 18 January 2021, 16:28

Replayed this and enjoyed it very muc


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 5 25 June 2021, 20:44

I try not to read the comments before I play so as not to get an unfair advantage. It was only after I found myself at the end (skill 2), with 0 ammo and low on health and half a dozen of Quake's baddest left to dispatch, that I came back and discovered that there is an updated version with more ammo at the end!

I downloaded it, but after thinking a bit, went into my last save point with the original map and restarted. I replayed the whole level, this time being more conservative and taking a bit more time and ended up finishing it with plenty of armor, health, and ammo to spare.

I just found it interesting that the game had a very different ending when I changed my style of play to match the environment.

Anyway, beautiful map! Much enjoyed!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in