Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of jpqm9
Author:JPal
Title:Greymoor
Download:jpqm9.zip (f020d2dad7eedbd0647906a9d2a24c05)
Filesize:26117 Kilobytes
Release date:19.03.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardTrailerScreenshotScreenshotScreenshotUpdated version
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
jpqm9/README - jpqm9 - Greymoor.txt5 KB19.03.2021
jpqm9/map src/jpqm9.map26470 KB19.03.2021
jpqm9/music/Track102.ogg3148 KB19.03.2021
jpqm9/pak0.pak62682 KB19.03.2021
jpqm9/progs_dump-devkit-readme.txt6 KB06.02.2021

jpqm9.zip

Greymoor

Large medieval castle with several nightly courtyards. It runs on the Progs_dump mod (included) and comes with a few custom models, sounds, a skybox and a music track. The map and qc sources are included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.
An updated version is available here.


Tags: large, medieval, castle, fortress, courtyard, night, bricks, trees, progs_dump, sounds, models, skybox, monsters, limits, bsp2, source, music

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 38 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
zombipuppy Registered 21 March 2021, 22:07

This was such a fun map!!! Thank you!

rampancy Guest 22 March 2021, 8:54

5/5, its as good as anything out there. kinda has a soe vibe, but with a more contemporary aesthetic. the amount of work in a map like this is incredible.

Ninja Registered 22 March 2021, 23:43

This map is 10 star not a sorry 5 star.The thought thats gone into it, is mind boggling.Best map ive ever played,skill 3 played 300+ enemy.Well done jpal, the map is astonishing.Well to me it is anyway.

grog Registered 24 March 2021, 14:22

Super map, 5/5. I missed a lot of the secrets, looking forward to the 2nd go-around.

Johnny Law Registered 25 March 2021, 16:36

Great map, a real adventure!

Took me an hour on skill 2, finding 8/13 secrets.

  • Quick bug report: the music file is named Track102.ogg, with a capital T, so it won't play on non-Windows setups. It should instead be track102.ogg. I didn't realize the map had music until I was about done!

  • The thing with the gated buttons is a good "go somewhere else and then come back" device. Functionally it's much the same as a keyed door, but it's a nice distinctly different-looking thing which I like better than just having a bunch of different keys (gold, silver, bone, rust, banana) and needing to remember which doors were which.

  • The very FIRST gated button though, since it is unlocked a lonnnng time later... that took me a bit to figure out where to go. I know there's a teleporter that dumps you out facing the now-available path, but I honestly thought I had already been down that way.

  • For a map with a lot of monsters like this one, I appreciate that it provides the RL and LG early enough that they (especially the RL) can be used for a while, rather than just for some final fight. The ammo distribution on skill 2 also seemed good at encouraging the use of grenades/rockets.

  • I think I picked up the gold key before even seeing the gold door? Did I take a weird path somehow?

  • The brief trip into the basement cave-space was very good for variety and pacing. I think it would also have been good to have a jaunt outside the castle walls, or at least through some area that was partially open to the outside (not just overhead) -- as well as being good for variety, it would really cement the whole level as a "place".

I think this is in the top tier of "big castle adventure maps". sp_maxx is probably still my gold standard there, but this one is also a banger.

huanlopan Registered 27 March 2021, 21:37

Skill 3, any%, 43 minutes.

Greymoor, along with Godfreys Demesne, show us not only what these skilled mappers are capable of, but also serve as fantastic showcases progs_dump 2.0, this new in-between for vanilla Quake, and Arcane Dimensions. The extra functionality and the extra enemies are a welcome sight that make me burn for more maps from this mod.

Enclave Guest 30 March 2021, 14:35

I am hard pressed to think of a single better map than this one. My god an actual episode with this quality would be amazing. Extremely well done, great pacing and architecture.

Bravo

DragonsForLunch Registered 21 April 2021, 21:02

Wonderful map!... beautiful architecture and fun gameplay! big fan of the tentacles eating the castle and the dnd style light storytelling. I wasn't able to complete the final fight, too low on health and no nailgun ammo!

Alex Ros Registered 15 July 2021, 22:29

One of my fav maps I ever played. Not to mention really fitting music. Personally I wish it could be a bit more detailed visually but that's fine - it's still truly gorgeous & gameplay wise is an absolute hit. THANKS for investing your time into making it

MikeTaylor Registered 26 August 2021, 13:55

Wow, there is a lot of love for this map in the comments! I enjoyed it, but honestly it didn't stick out that much for me, and parts of the progression felt a bit mundane and arbitrary. That's not to overlook that there is a lot of excellent craftsmanship here. Somewhere between three and four stars for me.

erc Registered 5 September 2021, 13:02

When it comes to a solid and atmospheric romp, JPal never disappoints. I've enjoyed all his maps up to this point immensely and I think he raises the bar even higher with every subsequent release. Built to very high standards, Greymoor (a.k.a. 'No Cross Unturned') reminded of Tyrann's classic Moonlight Assault -one of my all time faves- as if it was reimagined under current standards, with a slew of new features, modified enemies and a great ambient track for that extra touch.

Cpt.Gonzo Registered 28 March 2022, 20:05

What a masterpiece. Thank you.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in