Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of k_dark1b
Author:Ludovic Texier
Title:Keep it dark!
Download:k_dark1b.zip (d1372538f19e2b4289aae02fae2a56f1)
Filesize:346 Kilobytes
Release date:12.08.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
K_DARK1.BSP796 KB12.08.1996
K_DARK1.TXT3 KB12.08.1996

k_dark1b.zip - Keep it dark!

Small Wizard-textured "building" in a water pool.

Tags: small, dm

Editor's Rating: Crap
User Rating: 1.6/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 4 May 2014, 15:57

This looks like it could work pretty well as a deathmatch map but as a single player map...I guess I'll never understand why map authors just add monsters to them... You can watch me play it here: <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHXx08UBu_c" title="Keep it Dark!">Keep it Dark! on The Quake Grave</a></p>

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 4 May 2014, 16:40

Yeah, this is not very good as a single player map (I played this a while back and am speaking from memory), but there is something interesting about it. The entire ... structure (for want of a better term) reminds me of a modernist house from the 1930s. It sort of looks like what Gropius, Mies van der Rohe or Wright would have made if they played around with a Quake editor for a while.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 5 May 2014, 6:08

Yup, it has a strange setup indeed! I just think if you're going to make a DM map, make a DM map. Unless you can make a decent single player experience within it of course. Here is the working link for the video! My fault on the last post. Keep it Dark! on The Quake Grave

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 2 16 August 2014, 0:59

Pretty sure this is just a DM map with monsters stuck in it. I couldn't find an exit anywhere. It might be pretty fun as DM, but the combat is just eh. Not much else to say, not really recommended for SP play.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 1 4 January 2015, 2:58

A rather ugly deathmatch map with 14 enemies in it. I honestly think it could be pretty fun as DM but I rate these based off how good they are in single player. The teleporters and tricks are kinda interesting but I couldn't find an exit. As an SP map, I give it 1/5.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 6 November 2016, 17:15

These DM maps with a few tacked on monsters are kind of, dunno, depressing. There's so little happening; it's so lifeless, especially when the rooms are kind of big, which makes the place feel all the more emptier.

It has a couple of neat things going for it, though: There's a flight of stairs at the beginning of the map that cast cool shadows from the light underneath the stairs. Also, the idea of using blackness as the bounds for the map also makes the impression that the fortress is somewhere in the middle of a vast sea, or something.

pmk Guest 7 October 2018, 6:27

Don't bother with this map either. Terribly designed sp map with no exit. 1 out of five from me.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in