Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of kinn_bastion
Author:Kinn
Title:Bastion of the Underworld
Download:kinn_bastion.zip (ed7776a203e094164b1f20be38f77e5f)
Filesize:6715 Kilobytes
Release date:20.05.2004
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceRetroquakeUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
bastion/README.txt5 KB19.05.2004
bastion/Pak0.pak11848 KB20.05.2004
bastion/autoexec.cfg1 KB16.05.2004

kinn_bastion.zip - Bastion of the Underworld

Q3stone/metal styled fortress of epic scale, with a few new monsters in lots of horde combat (about 300 monsters in total) and othe custom gameplay additions.
Awesome map, definitely a must-have.


Tags: quake3, huge, epic, classic, castle, mustplay, hordes, monsters, q3

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 29 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
danshalam 4 April 2009, 20:32
Great MAP-THANKsssss!!!!
Quaker 5 March 2010, 5:44
Incredible map. Horde combat reminded me of Doom or even Serious Sam. Only complaint is no difficulty settings.
Aen 10 August 2011, 19:22
Insanlik disi bir bolum, enfes!
Spirit, rated this a 5 19 August 2011, 12:35
Please do not post in non-english languages here.
Aen 1 September 2011, 16:24
Sorry. In English: Inhuman map, delicious!
AAS, rated this a 3 2 January 2012, 15:08
Good architecture with bad gameplay :/
New monsters are ugly, overall pace is boring.
Spirit, rated this a 5 17 February 2012, 23:23
Does not seem to work in coop. Weapons and keys are not staying available.
Kawen 2 May 2012, 2:27
how to get the last secret (quade)?
hkBattousai, rated this a 1 6 May 2012, 21:45
Dude, why your map starts mouse look disabled?
Resurrected 3 July 2012, 12:29
Awesome map!
Cocerello, rated this a 5 24 July 2012, 15:59
A very good map, indeed. The layout is nice and the combats are enjoyable, difficulty varies a lot.

I only see two big drawbacks: the lack of a feeling of wholeness in the open areas, that seem like separate plain boxes. And the horde combats in open areas, where theres too much room to move and you can remain unscathed most of the time. Those two have being solved nicely in kinn_marcher.
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 26 November 2013, 11:13

A sensational mapping achievement, which I wouldn't have thought its author would ever be able to surpass ... then along came the Marcher Fortress, which is even better. Still, this is a very sold five: if we were marking in percentages, it would be up in the mid-to-high nineties.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 26 November 2013, 13:44

The architecture is brilliant, and were that the only relevant element, I could easily give this a 5.

But sadly, like AAS above, I also found the gameplay boring (it felt very much like "kill all monsters in room 1, move to room 2, kill all monsters, move to room 3", etc.). One could argue that that is essentially what one does in every FPS, but here it felt particularly stilted and artificial. There were some nice moments, though, like the sacrifice to the gods and the fiend trap, but not enough to redeem the entire experience.

In addition to that, some of the monsters felt very out of place, in particular the re-purposed Quake 2 enforcer (along with Quake 2's radioactive barrels – in a medieval fort?), but also the base enemies in general. The large blue-ish monsters looked very amateurish in comparison to the beautiful setting.

Overall, as lovely as the architecture is, everything else just seems rather rough and unfinished – like a partially successful trial run before the masterpiece that is The Marcher Fortress.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 26 November 2013, 21:51

I can see how you might downgrade it from 5 to 4 for those reasons, but -- really, 3? 60%? Half way up the 1-5 scale? Wow.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 26 November 2013, 23:38

MikeTaylor: Thank you for responding to my comment. Perhaps you are right; I can certainly see why you thought a 3 is too harsh. For what it's worth, I was wavering between a 3 and a 4. I would not necessarily consider a 3 the equivalent of 60%, though – the downside of a 1 to 5 scale is that one cannot be as precise as with percentages.

I appreciate your passion for this map and I do think that the author is immensely talented; this just does not strike me as a well-rounded work when considered as a map to play through (as opposed to a virtual setting to admire).

Fortunately, too, my rating is just one among many and won't change the fact that many others, like you, regard this map very highly.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 16 December 2013, 12:50

Take into account that the rating in this website isn't done like that, with percentages. Check the ''Help>Map Terminology'' section, and go to the bottom of it. Then you will understand the ratings that are given to the maps.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 16 December 2013, 14:00

Cocerello, I assume your comment is in response to MikeTaylor's comment. I have always kept the descriptions in the Map Terminology section in mind when rating maps (plus subjective enjoyment, which I believe plays a significant role in user ratings as well, as opposed to editor's ratings).

Even then, though, it is very hard to be precise with just five possibilities, and one person's 4 might be another's 3.

By the way, Cocerello, I have read quite a few of your comments on this site, and I usually find them very insightful and well-argued (even when I do not necessarily agree). Thank you for that.

Kawen Guest 10 February 2014, 14:22

Ha! Close to 2 years from my question and no answer! :-( An now i cannot also remind 4th secret... :-)

Allister Registered, rated this a 5 30 August 2014, 2:47

Cool map, new red eye monster scared the hell out of me first encounter!

Paolo Guest 16 February 2015, 19:16

Very nice map, I found quite interesting the mix between modern-like enemies like soldiers and medieval ones.

The only complain I got is I do not like the minotaurs enemies.

FacilisDK Registered, rated this a 5 30 June 2015, 23:11

Am I the only one who thinks that these Quake 3 textures looks better in Quake? They seem a lot more crisp.

This map looks beautiful and the hordes.. well thank god for Save / Load :D

What a masterpiece!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 18 April 2017, 14:08

Replayed this for the LULZ. So much fun, even when the geography doesn't necessarily make a great deal of sense. And one of those rare example of the Quake-level climax that is sheer joy to play rather than a grind to get through.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 18 April 2017, 14:12

Kawen, I just do a rocket-jump for the last secret. There may be a better way, but that's good enough.

But I never found the way to the red armour that you can see through the bars in the corridor just off from the meat-grinder area. Does anyone know the secret?

inkblot42 Registered, rated this a 5 10 November 2017, 18:59

Not quite as visually impressive as the Marcher Fortress, but I feel that it plays a little better.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in