Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of kpcn2014
Author:KillPixel
Title:Cartographer's Nightmare
Download:kpcn2014.zip (b147c3c48fd0abb6cf63d94da3cf8833)
Filesize:6208 Kilobytes
Release date:03.07.2014
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
kpcn2014/PAK0.pak10963 KB03.07.2014
kpcn2014/readmeh.txt1 KB02.07.2014
kpcn2014/src.zip3003 KB02.07.2014

kpcn2014.zip - Cartographer's Nightmare

A large heavily scripted, meticulously crafted and sadly unfinished base map with a horror theme. The map source is included.

In the words of the author: "This doesn't play like a Quake map. I never had the intention of making a Quake map, it just happened to be the game that was available. I say that so you don't get your hopes up or go in guns blazing only to find yourself at spawn over and over again. It plays like a less forgiving Doom3. [...] No single section is 100% complete."

Note: This map requires an engine port with increased limits. DarkPlaces is recommended and texture filtering should be disabled.

This file was repackaged by Spirit. You can find the original .zip in the trash.


Tags: horror, base, source, unfinished, large, corridors, limits

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 21 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
mfx Registered, rated this a 3 1 September 2014, 19:28

I do remember my first "playthrough" of this map quite more than any other map lately released. And i haven´t played it since then.

A shame this map has no "ending", the missing exit trigger is unforgiven.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 1 September 2014, 19:39

Like it says on the editor's rating page for excellent maps: great execution of a theme/idea, or unique gameplay. Layout is also very good. The downside is the brushwork and polishment, but that is to be expected of an unfinished map.

The scripted parts are great for ambience, with the addition of sounds from Quoth and some polish, the gameplay would be astounding.

A great shame this hasn't been completed nor finished, not even an exit, as it could be on the top of the top tier of Quake custom mapping.

4+/5-

vIE888 Registered, rated this a 4 22 October 2014, 17:32

Yup, one of the best Q1 (unfinished) map. Reminded me a little of my other best game - System Shock 2. Gameplay, horror moments, triggers!, design, all in all - You rock my friend! Ladies and gentleman, that's how we should make quake maps (not counting the no-exit last part), typical carnage seems too much for me in these days.

Even at this stage of completion - 4+/5

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 2 23 October 2014, 0:08

The person above rated Jam 1 a 3/5 btw

Lane Powell Registered 23 October 2014, 17:50

^ So?

Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 23 October 2014, 20:43

People have different taste. No personal attacks on this website please.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 2 23 October 2014, 22:19

How was that a personal attack? Do you even read what people say, or do you just look at the username and ignore the rest of the post?

Yhe1 Guest 23 October 2014, 23:21

Is this map going to get a revision? Or at least an exit traigger added?

AAS Registered, rated this a 4 18 December 2014, 8:23

+5 for overall style and design +1 for shambler nightmare thing -2 for unfinishedness

dskzero Guest 20 February 2015, 21:45

Goddamn this map freaked me out so good.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 26 March 2015, 2:25

Stupid question. I selected a skill, fell into blackness. All I can see is the level title. I shot that to pieces, but nothing happened. Now I am hanging in a void, and nothing I do has any effect. What am I missing?

I'm using QuakeSparm 0.90.0 on MacOS 10.10.2.

KillPixel Registered, rated this a 4 27 March 2015, 4:35

@MikeTaylor

Instead of shooting the title you can walk up to it, triggering a passage to appear. works fine on quakespasm .9.

another oversight on my end. that room was an issue for several people IIRC.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 27 March 2015, 10:01

Thank you. Fantastically stupid of me not to have thought to try moving!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 9 April 2015, 0:57

Well, I got as far as 106/118 kills (on Hard skill) with 3/4 secrets, when I ran out of places to go -- so far as I could tell. Either I missed something, or that's as far as this incomplete map goes. A real shame it doesn't reach a conclusion.

The build quality is lovely, but the arbitrary nature of the gameplay left me a bit cold, so all in all I have to score this a three-star map. Perhaps there was a master-plan that I never grasped, but it seems work was abandoned before it reached its conclusion.

Does the silver open anything?

KillPixel Registered, rated this a 4 10 April 2015, 1:29

@MikeTaylor

The silver key does open a door. In the room where you acquire the key, look through the window that opens up. Originally this was a switch (no key pick up here) and the player could see the door open. I just put the key there when I decided to release it. Several others had issue with this as well, I wasn't in "quake mode" when I made this and didn't use the designated 'key' symbols to clearly mark doors.

Yes, there was a master plan, as this is only about 1/3 of the map that I had in mind. But, that won't see the light of day :P

"Arbitrary" is a good word to describe this map as it really is just a sketchpad of sorts; a single project that is nothing more than me learning how to technically make a level.

Thanks for checking it out!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 10 April 2015, 16:35

And thank you, both for releasing what you had, and for the silver-key pointer. I'll go back and try it again.

Doc_Holliday Registered 27 May 2016, 9:42

Can't get this to run:(

Doc_Holliday Registered 27 May 2016, 9:54

Spirit spotted it...in the readme -map should read +map

Very imaginative and inventive map...more more more

faelnor Registered, rated this a 4 27 May 2016, 11:55

KillPixel, I wish you would have gotten into the Quake mapping scene. Your map has some great moments and heaps of potential, a real shame it will never be finished. Maybe the rest of it could be mapped by someone else as a collaborative effort?

KillPixel Registered, rated this a 4 10 June 2016, 20:05

@Doc_Holliday - Glad you enjoyed it!

@faelnor - I appreciate the sentiment :) This is a small step toward something greater that got a little out of hand. That 'something greater' is currently in development and perhaps will see the light of day in the not-too-distant future. Regarding collaborative efforts, I think it would be totally rad if someone revamped this map, I'd like to play it!

Anon Guest 28 November 2018, 8:52

This level is absolutely gorgeous; it really is a shame that it was never completed. It's also unintentionally scary that, as the level goes on and the player reaches the more unfinished sections, they're eerily plain. The combat is also fun, too. I hope KillPixel is still out there, somewhere, mixing up the spooky stuff.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in