Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of lordsofchaos
Author:Dennis Katsonis
Title:Lords of Chaos
Download:lordsofchaos.zip (0b4a5952fd0d1fdc5f31f1cbd0590fd9)
Filesize:20354 Kilobytes
Release date:16.02.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
loc/lordsofchaos.txt6 KB16.02.2020
loc/pak0.pak43269 KB16.02.2020

lordsofchaos.zip - Lords of Chaos

Huge hellish fortress using a combination of Apocrypha/Ogro/Zerstörer textures. Features a high monster count, a couple of technical additions, and a custom music track.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits and BSP2 support.


Tags: zerstorer, ogro, apocrypha, lava, hellish, spooky, huge, music, slaughter

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.3/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 21 March 2020, 22:13

This is a complete work of art, design is mouth watering, as with monsters and puzzles, this best map i have ever played, 5 out of 5. Same number of enemy from skill 1 to skill 3. It was like a madalorian designed it lol.

JMP Registered, rated this a 5 22 March 2020, 20:37

A phenomenal map. It's very impressive to see something of this quality executed on a such a large scale.

The architecture is consistently detailed and interesting, and the map maintains an eerie, otherworldly atmosphere despite using a variety of textures. Speaking of atmosphere, I like the music track and think it adds to the experience.

The only complaint I have regards the progression: sometimes it's confusing, and there's a fair amount of backtracking required. But if that doesn't bother you, or even if it does, this is a must-play.

3 out of 5 Guest 22 March 2020, 22:01

Boring copy and paste geometry with uninspired combat. Not worth it, 3/5.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 22 March 2020, 22:27

What a magnificent and interesting map. This reminded me of Tronyn's In a Forest of Flesh, probably because of its size and the use of Zerstörer textures.

I share JMP's opinion regarding the progression: I got lost more often than I'll care to admit, especially after finding the gold key even though I had found the corresponding door early on and found myself thinking then: "OK, I should remember its location later on". Hints would be welcome, perhaps in the form of coloured arrows like in Something Wicked This Way Comes.

Other than that, I'm looking forward to your next release. Thanks for a wonderful journey! -- oh, and the ambient sounds were a nice touch too.

emprosthotonos Registered, rated this a 5 25 March 2020, 8:59

Great atmosphere and aesthetic, combat and exploration were very fun as well. I think there's a bug though, you can access the button to destroy the wall of flesh (where the fiends are at the start), by jumping at the sloped wall at the sides, without needing to open the bars first. Still a 5/5 for me, well done!

The Silent Registered, rated this a 3 26 March 2020, 19:47

Pretty good. Worth a shot. Some truly great pieces of architecture, somehow wasted in a sprawling layout pretty confusing at times. Flow is just not there, as combat, pretty sparse and not very challenging. A couple of stars away from true greatness.

Solomoriah Registered 29 March 2020, 7:39

I'm enjoying it, but I'll admit I'm lost... I've summoned the sixth chaos lord, but cannot find him. While this one is expansive and interesting, it's much less logical than large intricate maps like Something Wicked or the Marcher Fortress. Arrows would be a nice touch, or maybe spawn monsters that are proper breadcrumbs; after destroying the sixth chaos lord, I had to clean up a bunch of zombies, a pair of the laser-toting troopers, and an ogre, but they didn't really "lead" me anywhere.

Solomoriah Registered 29 March 2020, 17:44

Okay, I swear, I looked in that room twice already... but there he was. Gah.

Dancing Zombie Guest 11 May 2020, 21:12

Agree with others, a huge map that is stylistically coherent and you can tell a lot of time went into it. The map's problem is it's extremely difficult to figure out how to progress and ultimately failed because a 'blocker' task cannot be resolved without ruining the fun (or in my case, I never found the shanbler). More on that below..

For me, the downfall of an otherwise great map is when I must resort to noclip to navigate because the author got to deep in the design and forgot the map players don't know it as intimately. It took me a long while to get the silver key and now I've spoiled the map (and spent a LOT of time) trying to find the chaos lord linked to the flesh blob gate. I've been through areas with enemies and areas I've long since cleared and trod, also a LOT before giving up and noclipping.

Exploration is a big part of the fun for me but wandering for more than an hour AND noclipping and you still can't 'backtrack' to puzzle out an overly clever map layout ruins the experience.

Someone mentioned Tronyn. His maps should be a template of great design and playability. Complex layouts? Backtracking? Sure, but it's never fruitless and always hits the right balance.

A 4 on effort and design, a sad 1.5 on playability as I am giving up on it and moving on.

Spirit Registered 23 May 2020, 15:07

While I am glad this does NOT have arrows (how lame of a design element is that, it breaks the fourth wall in so many maps and rarely does not feel out of place), it really could use some environmental guidance. Maybe some blood trails on the ground or sound hints or even the common "drop monsters as bait" on the path would be great.

I just summoned the fourth (or fifth?) lord and cannot be arsed to search for it :(

The atmosphere is awesome, like Diablo's dungeons in style and the music supports it so well.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in