Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of maelstrm
Author:Stephen Parker
Title:Maelstrom
Download:maelstrm.zip (e2cbc769354f575ae6bac6eb20792f1c)
Filesize:2960 Kilobytes
Release date:19.07.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sTEAMShambler
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Maelstrm/Maelstrm.txt3 KB19.07.1997
Maelstrm/pak0.pak7319 KB19.07.1997

maelstrm.zip - Maelstrom

Mini-episode with four small to medium Wizard-style maps and a start map.

Note: In the third map, some teleporters may be malfunctioning in newer engines, leaving player/monsters stuck in the ceiling. Use noclip/fullbright temporarily to be able to proceed in these situations.


Tags: episode

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 2.9/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lord of the Undead 19 April 2012, 20:30
There seems to be a problem launching this with Quake Injector. Namely it can't find the bsp.
Spirit 19 April 2012, 22:19
Fixed, thanks.
Drew 8 August 2012, 4:47
huh. entering 2nd map crashes quakespasm... Too bad, since the start and 1st maps were very nice with a great wide open, if sort of ugly, E4 style.
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 11 October 2014, 15:37

although i enjoyed what this had to offer, it seems unfinished. the end was entirely anticlimactic. but nice for a beginner's mini episode.

Doc_Holliday Registered, rated this a 1 25 July 2016, 14:48

Too many glitches spoilt the experience for me

Aspokala Guest 8 October 2016, 13:37

Level design is interesting. Not straight-forward, exploration is needed. There are some problems like monsters stuck in the ceiling which ruin otherwise a good episode. Maybe the author ain't gonna fix these after 19 years. I feel old.

pmk Guest 4 April 2019, 6:14

this is an average quake map pack for me that seems incomplete with no final or climatic to this episode. Also the same level is repeated twice in this map pack. Level design was also a bit confusing with no indications of how to progress through the levels. As a result i can only give this custom quake episode a three out of five rating and would say only download if you are interested in early quake custom episodes.

bhlaab Registered, rated this a 2 21 July 2019, 2:33

Crashed entering the third map. Second map was completely uninspired, just the same room copy and pasted a bunch of times with different monsters (that you can easily run past). First map is decent-ish, but pretty aimless with lots of uneventful backtracking. Got stuck in one area. I don't know if it's a bug or not but I had to noclip through the wall (part with sleeping shamblers). Another area you have to shoot a wall to break it apart, but there's no crack or anything. Pretty unintuitive. Seems like the author wasn't ready for trying his hand at a multi-map episode yet and should have just focused on making one map that's good.

I haven't played Nehara yet but these new enemies don't inspire a lot of confidence.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in