Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of mars_e0m1
Author:Mars
Title:The Forgotten Nightmare
Download:mars_e0m1.zip (36705e2e6bc936f300fbceb69cba8188)
Filesize:21331 Kilobytes
Release date:13.10.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
mars_e0m1/README - mars_e0m1 - The Forgotten Nightmare.txt3 KB13.10.2020
mars_e0m1/gfx/env/bleak-outlook_bk.tga769 KB24.04.2003
mars_e0m1/gfx/env/bleak-outlook_dn.tga769 KB24.04.2003
mars_e0m1/gfx/env/bleak-outlook_ft.tga769 KB22.04.2003
mars_e0m1/gfx/env/bleak-outlook_lf.tga769 KB24.04.2003
mars_e0m1/gfx/env/bleak-outlook_rt.tga769 KB22.04.2003
mars_e0m1/gfx/env/bleak-outlook_up.tga769 KB23.04.2003
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/brdg1.bsp12 KB02.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/brdg2.bsp10 KB02.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/brdg3.bsp7 KB02.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/brdg4.bsp10 KB02.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/brdg5.bsp8 KB02.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/brick.bsp8 KB07.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/brick01.bsp8 KB11.01.2019
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/fkplt1.bsp18 KB05.09.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/fkplt2.bsp22 KB05.09.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/fkplt3.bsp14 KB05.09.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/fkplt4.bsp21 KB05.09.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/fkplt5.bsp14 KB05.09.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/fkplt6.bsp14 KB05.09.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/rckbrk1.bsp25 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/rckbrk2.bsp24 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/rckbrk3.bsp24 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/rckbrk4.bsp25 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/rckbrk5.bsp24 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/skl1.bsp11 KB06.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/skl2.bsp11 KB06.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/skl3.bsp11 KB06.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/skl4.bsp11 KB06.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/skl5.bsp11 KB06.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/tmbrk1.bsp9 KB01.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/tmbrk2.bsp9 KB01.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/tmbrk3.bsp9 KB01.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/tmbrk4.bsp9 KB01.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/tmbrk5.bsp9 KB01.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/wd1.bsp8 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/wd2.bsp8 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/wd3.bsp8 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/wd4.bsp8 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/wd5.bsp8 KB24.08.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/debris/wood1.bsp8 KB11.03.2019
mars_e0m1/maps/mars_e0m1.bsp23444 KB13.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/mars_e0m1.lit5873 KB13.10.2020
mars_e0m1/maps/mars_e0m1.map6763 KB13.10.2020
mars_e0m1/music/track29.mp36504 KB13.10.2020
mars_e0m1/progs.dat533 KB16.02.2020
mars_e0m1/progs/candle.mdl24 KB10.10.2018
mars_e0m1/progs/debris.mdl26 KB24.12.2018
mars_e0m1/progs/g_shotgn.mdl25 KB17.05.2019
mars_e0m1/progs/g_shotty.mdl23 KB17.05.2019
mars_e0m1/progs/h_boss.mdl63 KB02.02.2020
mars_e0m1/progs/pd_base_key.mdl21 KB15.11.2019
mars_e0m1/progs/pd_rune_key.mdl46 KB15.11.2019
mars_e0m1/progs/pd_wiz_key.mdl22 KB15.11.2019
mars_e0m1/progs/s_flame.spr29 KB01.10.2018
mars_e0m1/progs/s_null.spr2 KB03.10.2019
mars_e0m1/progs/spark.mdl10 KB03.06.2019
mars_e0m1/progs_dump-mars_e0m1-readme.txt3 KB13.10.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/break/pd_bricks1.wav61 KB27.03.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/break/pd_metal1.wav44 KB27.03.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/break/pd_metal2.wav70 KB27.03.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/break/pd_stones1.wav74 KB27.03.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/break/pd_wood1.wav34 KB27.03.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/break/pd_wood2.wav33 KB27.03.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/dump/elec22k.wav81 KB28.05.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/dump/rumble.wav52 KB31.05.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/dump/spark.wav15 KB03.06.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/dump/water_59_02.wav47 KB01.10.2018
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/bmove.wav14 KB15.09.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/brick.wav121 KB10.09.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/bstop.wav8 KB15.09.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/death.wav84 KB08.10.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/grw.wav82 KB10.09.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/laugh.wav362 KB03.09.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/laugh2.wav144 KB08.10.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/mk5.wav671 KB21.12.2019
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/nightmare.wav109 KB08.10.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/nightmare2.wav105 KB08.10.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/rumble_loop.wav54 KB06.10.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/sacrifice.wav105 KB08.10.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/secret.wav62 KB08.10.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/skulls.wav21 KB06.10.2020
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/ssg.wav240 KB27.05.2017
mars_e0m1/sound/mars/zombies.wav84 KB08.10.2020
mars_e0m1/textures/mars_skull.tga769 KB07.10.2020

mars_e0m1.zip

The Forgotten Nightmare

Huge map featuring a cave system with a crypt beneath, a dungeon and some ruins; very high enemy count. It is based on the Progs_dump mod (included) and comes with a custom skybox as well as a few new sounds. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: large, cave, cavern, crypt, dungeon, ruins, medieval, wizard, progs_dump, sounds, skybox, limits, bsp2, source, hordes

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.6/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
PJA Guest 17 October 2020, 22:24

This map is a nightmare 800 odd kills on skill 3, this map cannot be completed, in anyway or form.Its the toughest quake map ever,just getting down to the bottom of path at start, is a major achievment.Other grumble is, its like theres a earthquake all the time, so ground and walls dont stop shaking.The broken wooden stairs part, even the terminator would die lol.

PJA Guest 18 October 2020, 1:20

ohhh i almost forgot the ending part, in or around a circle open building,dont even bother, your f--king dead before you take your 1st breath.But at same time its that bloody hard, you keep going back to play it, even if you know your dead in 1 min time lol lol

PJA Guest 18 October 2020, 1:29

One more advice, save every 5 - 10 seconds thats how hard this game is, im not joking, the enemy are pouring out everywhere, im talking high end enemy, not just the normal gruntz.

Mazu Registered, rated this a 4 18 October 2020, 11:01

Despite all the problems getting through this one on hard difficulty, it was still really cool and creative in some of its locations. Really impressive for the first level created too.

Some of the issues: Not being able to get NG early. Broken staircase climb is ridiculous without finding the secret quad for it. Some of the knight hordes are pointless gibbing. Lavaclimb is a bit too long to be enjoyable. Map isn't vised if I'm not mistaken, correct me if I'm wrong.

What I liked about the map is that when you just let loose and go nuts against the horde fights it can lead into some really cool action where you just delete hundreds of monsters in 1 minute. Visuals are really cool too in some of the locations.

erc Registered, rated this a 3 18 October 2020, 13:37

A pretty good effort for a first map. Even though it uses 95% stock textures, it has this titular nighmarish atmosphere going for it. With 790 enemies on skill 2 though, it is way too crowded for its own good. It gets tedious quick.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 20 October 2020, 21:44

Played on skill 1. Not perfect but I thought it was pretty cool. I like maps that don't fuck around. I hope the author continues to make maps with this level of style.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 21 October 2020, 23:14

Not sure what Mazu means about not being able to get to the nailgun early, as I got it in the second "room." And yes, this level is crazy hard.

Mazu Registered, rated this a 4 22 October 2020, 7:56

Solomoriah, I mean it is like an unmarked secret. I looked for it quite a bit and didn't find it. Proceeded to get SNG and go through rest of the map without obtaining regular NG.

At the start where teleport to get Mega is a secret, but the NG is not. Does not make much sense to hide only NG in the map in a secret like place.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 23 October 2020, 2:12

Okay, so this level... wow. Not usually a fan of arena battles, but this is like a sequence of them, with all the stupid "monsters appear behind you" crap and everything. And I LOVED it! This was GREAT!

Armitage Shanks Registered, rated this a 5 30 October 2020, 21:15

Yup like it a lot but I'm not as good as you top level Quake players...Over 800 enemies and the start swarm surprised me...Love it...Please make more...

Marian Registered, rated this a 3 6 November 2020, 12:44

Somehow I didn't find this map to be overwhelmingly difficult. On my first playthrough, I died only three or four times. All of them right in the very beginning. But after that, it was OK, except the tedious "climbing" part, where I had to reload a couple of times. I can upload a video of my blind playthrough, if author wants to see it. I have no problem with hordes of enemies, it's always fun to gib them with grenade launcher + quad. But I think it should have been executed better. It's just not fun, If you are overwhelmed and have not enough room to maneuvre between enemies. Battles are expected to be difficult, but fair. I believe you can do better next time. I give it a solid 3 star rating. Some of my remarks: 1) There's a secret (second or third in order), an opening above your head with a yellow armor in it, which you can spot, but cannot access up until a good 30 minutes later on. I wasted like 10 minutes trying to find the entrance to that secret, and I just gave up. It was unnecessarily confusing. 2) Red armor secret is not funny at all. 3) I encountered many Scrags flying through the walls, like if they use the noclip cheat. It happens occasionally in other maps aswell. I think it happens if there is too many of them at once. Probably not your fault. 4) That "climbing" part is tedious. You should have optimized the position of each "step" in the way you can fluently run and jump from one to the other, without the need of stopping and focusing too much on each jump. It breaks the dynamics of the map. 5) The overall layout of your map is good for the fact it's your first map, but it could not stand a chance against the other maps nowadays. You will get better, it just takes some time.

Mars Registered 6 November 2020, 16:39

Thank you all for playing my map and for feedback!

Marian, sure it will be interesting to see your playthrough.

Marian Registered, rated this a 3 8 November 2020, 19:35

Hello Mars, here is my video: https://youtu.be/nlRRA4PaCzo

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in