Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of mazotac
Author:Andrew Yoder
Title:Ruins of Mazotac
Download:mazotac.zip (40a1b70a5fa8d75a0e95af15d35de07c)
Filesize:1106 Kilobytes
Release date:04.04.2018
Homepage:http://www.andrewyoderdesign.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
mazotacNormal0h08m14sRoman6662018-06-06

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
mazotac.bsp1730 KB04.04.2018
mazotac.lit628 KB04.04.2018
mazotac.map662 KB04.04.2018
mazotac_readme.txt3 KB04.04.2018

mazotac.zip - Ruins of Mazotac

Small green Wizard-textured temple ruins with some ancient machinery. The map source is included.

Tags: small, wizard, green, bricks, ruins, temple, source

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
dumptruck_ds Registered, rated this a 3 14 April 2018, 3:15

For a first Quake map this is a nice "bite sized" playthrough. Giving it 4 stars for some original ideas. It's pretty easy, so know that going in and set skill level accordingly. It has a unique look and feel. The only real issue is the ease of finding secrets. Most of them were out in the open. Good platforming challenge in one section. Looking forward to more of Andrew's Quake-stuff.

dumptruck_ds Registered, rated this a 3 14 April 2018, 3:16

Woops. Meant to click 4 stars.

negke Registered 14 April 2018, 8:54

You can change your rating by simply clicking on another heart.

dwere Registered, rated this a 4 14 April 2018, 18:59

Colors = cozy, and the lighting compliments them well.

etb Guest 14 April 2018, 19:28

Quite easy, small map. Quite nice with good ideas and uncommonly pleasant coloring together with lush and bright sections.

As mentioned the secrets are a joke.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 3 15 April 2018, 19:54

It's an adequate map, but also very short and rough around the edges, so replay value is minimal. I think 3 stars is fair.

A_COC0NUT Registered, rated this a 4 17 April 2018, 17:08

I liked the colors and fairly bright lighting to the map. It was short but made me look forward to more maps from you in the future. Great work

If you care the 6 enemies that are supposed to spawn in the main courtyard after you pick up the silver key don't spawn when the map is launched through arcane dimensions.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 20 April 2018, 12:31

I would classify this as extremely competent. It's fun to play, but much too easy, and it arguably lacks a spark. But it's great to see a new mapper enter the arena with such a solidly constructed offering, and I'm confident that Andrew can build on this beginning to give us something much more atmospheric and distinctive next time.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 23 April 2018, 7:21

I had a hard time choosing my rating. I think the architecture is the strong point of the map. It looks good and is consistent, and the map is fun to play, which is the most important point.

But I think onetruepurple and MikeTaylor helped me reach the same conclusion that the short length and easy difficulty, in addition to inconsistent secrets (3 trivially easy to find, but the fourth unnecessarily difficult) make this a 3/5 map. But a solid one at that! Keep up the good work, looking forward to playing more of your work! :)

mafon2 Registered, rated this a 4 23 April 2018, 13:01

Moving parts are really cool. I would have made silver door more apparent (maybe framed it) – it's easy to miss.

Shambler placed very strangely – you just sit in your safe cell and destroy it.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 14 May 2018, 0:00

Ruins of Mazotac on The Quake Grave

This is just a variation on my comment from func, but this is a very strong first map. I love the sunny jungle theme and from the first screenshot of the map, I wanted to play it!

My only real critiques here are that it's a bit too short (more a compliment that I wanted to play more of it) and some of the secrets were too easy to find. And if I say they're too easy to find, you know it's true, I'm terrible at finding them.

Nice work on this!

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 17 May 2018, 0:21

Would love to see a sequel. Kind the feeling of a start map of a chapter. The greenish texture, slimey, forgotten was really insightful.

Liked the contraptions.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 17 May 2018, 9:40

Well, you're in luck, because the author's next map, which is most excellent by the way, is quite similar in theme. I would consider that a sequel to this map.

Rhoq Registered 5 June 2018, 22:29

Nice map! Definitely a cool sense of place/atmosphere. The water and mechanics theme is interesting, since you used it for both visual design and gameplay. I had a heck of time with those platforms that lead to the thunderbolt, but it was a solid level.

As other have said, I'd like to see another in this style!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in