Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of memgrot
Author:Magnus Björkbom
Title:Memories of a Grotto
Download:memgrot.zip (93d53b2b438affd1608f3bc248fb3658)
Filesize:3597 Kilobytes
Release date:07.07.2019
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
memgrotNightmare0h07m40sArcaneFiend6662020-03-27
Full completion of the map.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date

memgrot.zip

Memories of a Grotto

Large level inspired by E1M4-The Grisly Grotto, however with an abstract twist to its style, featuring somewhat cramped interiors, underwater and void sections. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.6/5 with 21 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
cosmaty Registered 23 March 2020, 20:57

The archive is corrupted :(

negke Registered 23 March 2020, 21:16

It appears to be a renamed RAR file. Windows' default zip manager may not be able to open it, but any dedicated tool should. 7zip works fine, for example.

cosmaty Registered 23 March 2020, 22:14

@negke, I use Linux, and File-roller can't unpack this archive. Changing extension from zip to rar solved my problem. Xarchiver on Linux unpack this zip fine, the same like 7-zip on Windows. Anyway, thanks for very good map :-)

Ninja Registered 23 March 2020, 22:21

Map well made, but to much swimming around, not my cup of tea, i dont play quake as a scuba diver lol

dwere Registered 24 March 2020, 13:52

I can't remember the last time I was reloading so much. It's an impressive level, but cramped sounds about right. Makes it extra awkward to do various timed or one-shot secrets. Another property is resource starvation. The closer I got to the finish, the more times "chore" popped into my mind. Ran away from the final vores because no.

Not sure if a dark room with regular walls counts as a void, but it's a minor nitpick.

Liked the swimming bits. The huge room with underground structures that mirrors the one in the donor level on a bigger scale is very good. Water may be underutilized in custom levels, probably because it is generally assumed to not contribute much to the mechanics, but it gives levels a certain depth... I mean it makes for a more immersive... okay, I give up.

Hal Registered 29 March 2020, 18:03

Visually it looks great, but I found the gameplay to be more annoying than anything. It's pretty easily broken as well, I jumped around out-of-bounds to the gold key with ease and skipped a huge portion of the map. Brushwork is unpolished in parts. Three shmeckles out of five.

Johnny Law Registered 31 March 2020, 18:51

Grisly Grotto is one of my favorites from the campaign, but this ended up being not quite what I was hoping; Like dwere said, it seemed short on ammo on skill 2, and also cramped/awkward to maneuver in several spots. Usually I can brush off one of those problems but both together are kind of a killjoy -- it's not fun to try to axe things to death unless you have room to work.

Johnny Law Registered 1 April 2020, 1:28

I was running through doing some quick reviews and now looking at that one it sounds overly harsh (especially since I think this is a first release). There are some great visual ideas in this one and I am a sucker for swimming sections when done well. Lots of promise. For next map, grab some playtesters to shake out gotchas before release!

dwere Registered 4 April 2020, 0:21

There's an impressive max demo now, BTW. Makes everything look easy.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 26 April 2020, 12:54
  1. All map-makers, PLEASE, test your maps with minimum value of brightness. I play with Quakespasm, contrast 100%, brightness 0%, it is the most beautiful option. But I dont see anyithng with my options. So I need to turn brightness to 100% and map looks ugly in this mode.
  2. Very complex floor shape make controls unresponsive and uncomfortable. A lot of times I died on ogres, becouse dodge move didnt make expected bahaviour - becduse of a lot of mikro-stairsteps on the floor. There are a lot of puzzles "to dodge from a scrag, standing on a patch of ground the size of a baby's pinus".
Anoobis Guest 3 October 2020, 4:02

Unfortunately this is still unplayable in the injector, but if you follow what the readme says (type game memgrot in console, then map memgrot) you can play.

Jugador Registered 7 May 2021, 19:27

It's starts off annoying when you have to change the file extension from "zip" to "rar" to get it working, and it stays annoying in actual play due to the extremely cramped interiors.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in