Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of menk
Author:PuLSaR
Title:Menkalinan
Download:menk.zip (a5433ec36971581f2e474b1999c06129)
Filesize:3536 Kilobytes
Release date:15.07.2004
Homepage:http://pulsar.quaddicted.com/
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
menk.bsp6183 KB15.07.2004
menk.txt5 KB03.12.1997
menkstart.bsp1761 KB03.12.1997

menk.zip - Menkalinan

Very huge beautifully crafted egyptian temple, diverse and challenging gameplay.

Tags: egypt, large, temple, multiple exits, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 26 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
FifthElephant Registered 29 June 2013, 18:15

Not bad, will rate it when I actually complete it. It's fairly tricky actually.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 12 January 2014, 22:08

I remember playing this one for the first time, it was so different from the others I had played until then thanks to the theme.

LeopolD Guest 14 January 2014, 15:01

Played this the first time, very good map indeed.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 January 2014, 16:56

Yes. this is excellent. Just replayed it on Medium, and found it really well balanced: I was nearly always low on health and having to conserve ammo, but without ever actually running out. Very nice architecture, too -- though the elaborate decoration makes it very hard to spot secrets: I only found three of the seven.

When you press the last button in the main area, above the lava chasm, a very brief message pops up saying something like "Return to the first room, or find another way". Has anyone figured out what the other way is?

Anyway, five stars -- just. I nearly took one off because this does suffer from one my per hates: architecture so chunky that I kept getting stuck on it when trying to manoeuvre away from monsters. But that just it down from "easily a five" to "just a five".

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 4 March 2014, 1:52

i play on normal. i loved this map. the gameplay was great. challenging & intense. i, too, never ran out of ammo, but i did run low on health once or twice. i didn't die until about halfway. i changed to the wrong weapon by mistake. derp; eviscerated. i didn't get caught on any of the architecture during maneuvering, that i recall. i didn't find any secrets, but perhaps the exits from one or two. i'll have to go back in and explore. 5/5

FredBezies Guest 25 December 2014, 20:29

Great map. And a not too bad access to nightmare skill level. Just a little "jumpy" :)

A good challenge, but I'm ashamed : I did not find any single secret ! :(

Pasokon Deacon Registered, rated this a 5 2 February 2017, 0:45

Secret hunters would love this map. Actually finding the marked secrets is tough, but unessential for clearing this otherwise challenging and beautiful adventure. You've got multiple detailed and large chasms, bridges and closets for both you and your foes, and just the right ammo placement (health's on the scarce side but fair). This one's a hallmark for Egyptian-style custom Quake maps, well beyond the Sadlark series and a nice step up from Tomb of Urth Majik.

AnthonyS Registered, rated this a 4 20 October 2017, 4:07

Fun game play. Great map design. Did not find all the secrets :(

epiplon Registered, rated this a 4 31 May 2018, 20:41

The level layout is great with some interesting textures. I liked the jumping sections and the general flow of the map to get keys and push buttons. But the hard difficulty is highly unbalanced. There are too many strong monsters, few ammo and you run a really god portion with just a double barrel shotgun. Like, this is really frustrating. I spent a whole portion just dodging monsters with the axe in hand.

itsme Registered, rated this a 5 1 June 2018, 17:03

Unpretentiously gameplay-driven but still very attractively constructed with many diverse room styles; engaging but fair difficulty throughout. Secrets are challenging but never necessary to progress even on Hard or Nightmare (a pitfall for many otherwise good maps). Fantastic map.

komagama Guest 16 June 2018, 23:43

Playing now.. I'm halfway thru :) Good setting(Egyptian) other than the same old Quake corridors stuff I don't die for.. so 4 stars for me! The best effort from Pulsar

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in