Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of metmon1d
Author:sock
Title:Metal Monstrosity
Download:metmon1d.zip (66a51398168314ce5ff098c742d7b1e3)
Filesize:12430 Kilobytes
Release date:27.05.2014
Homepage:http://www.simonoc.com
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardModDB
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:quoth2pt2full_2



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
metmon1dNormal30mVondur6662014-05-27
first run with alot of deaths
metmon1dNightmare14m48sskacky6662014-05-27
First run on Nightmare. No deaths.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
metmon1d_readme.txt12 KB25.05.2014
pak0.pak29675 KB25.05.2014

metmon1d.zip

Metal Monstrosity

Medium-sized vertical runic metal structures floating in the clouds. The map features enemies of the Base variety and has an integrated skill selection area. Additionally, it comes with a custom skybox as well as a few new sounds. The map source is included in the PAK.

Note: This map requires Quoth and an engine port with increased limits (as well as support for the -quoth command-line switch).


Tags: medium, metal, runic, base, industrial, quoth, spacemap, limits, source, coagula, bsp2

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 56 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Breezeep Registered 27 May 2014, 21:40

finally!

Asker Guest 27 May 2014, 23:13

Finally what? Alien invasion?

mfx Registered, rated this a 5 28 May 2014, 16:19

Well, Sock showing us his astounding mapping skills once again! Tight combat areas combined with everpresent danger of falling into the void is what this map is all about. Perfectly used Quoth base bestiary, the texturetheme is suberb! And i like its shortness. Cant praise it enough i guess.. Well done Sock!

FacilisDK Registered, rated this a 4 28 May 2014, 22:24

Cool architecture. Map is easy to follow. Gorgeous skybox, it really adds to the enviroment.

Secrets are very well hidden, considering that I can see pretty much all of the map, all of the time.

I did manage to find all of them, while only falling into the void while being attacked by monsters I thought weren't there, a few times.

Yes, my English spelling is rubbish. What I'm trying to say is; I really REALLY like this map :)

Tom Guest 30 May 2014, 15:12

Quoth monsters is hard to fight with. Looks good this level. My english is bad i know. Sock must make more of this maps!

fred Registered, rated this a 5 11 June 2014, 0:39

A complex and very nice map.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 19 June 2014, 15:01

skacky, I really enjoyed your demo. Your comments throughout were very entertaining and I am absolutely humbled by your skill as a player (and I was already in awe of your skill as a mapper).

As for the map: always nice to see something new from sock and this is a very nice map -- even though I am not a big fan of void maps in general and I don't think this is quite up to the standard of Backsteingotik, The Ivory Tower or Midnight Stalker, all of which were near-perfect in my eyes (still have not played The Horde of Zendar, which I'm saving for later).

As I recall from what I read on Func_msgboard, this was initially supposed to remain an unreleased experiment -- which would have been a big loss.

Vague SPOILERS to follow:

Loved the forcefield bridges, although I wish there were more obvious opportunities to use them strategically as enemy traps. The skybox certainly adds a lot to the experience and I'm glad this is not a standard coagula map floating in pitch blackness. The final battle was interesting, though less so than the final battle in e.g. Backsteingotik: as with the bridges, I kind of wish it were possible to use the lightning strategically, whereas it just seemed to add a fairly random variable to the battle. I do like the appearance of the arena, though, and the exit teleporter really made me wish it led to a second map...

Q5 Guest 25 June 2014, 20:55

Is this a BSP2 format map?

negke Registered 26 June 2014, 9:11

No. It exceeds the standard limits, but it does not require BSP2 support.

Q5 Guest 26 June 2014, 13:41

So which smartass is tagging it bsp2 then?

Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 26 June 2014, 22:47

Hey, be nice on this site.

I'll remove the tag later.

mmm Registered, rated this a 5 1 July 2014, 15:15

Excellent work from sock, as usual. Lots of small nooks and crannies to find and a climactic battle in the end. Should've found the modded lightning gun before I started it, though. And I'm still hoping that eventually sock will release a commercial mappack.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 27 July 2014, 11:16

I seem to be in a minority in this one. I loved the look of the map, but I didn't actually enjoy playing it all that much. It felt too arbitrary to have a real sense of progression. Still well worth 3*, though, for visuals alone.

Xfg Guest 9 August 2014, 16:54

Great looking level. Although this is already released and it probably doesn't matter to much, I fell off and didn't die,cheats were not being used.

par Guest 9 August 2014, 16:58

Use quoth mod, xtg..

Xfg Guest 9 August 2014, 19:10

Yep, will do. I just ran it Regularly.

par Guest 9 August 2014, 19:19

Quoth maps should crash when not being ran in quothmod. With a bold message:USE QUOTH!

Karl_Delacroix Registered, rated this a 5 1 October 2014, 21:05

This map is completely gordeous, loved exploring all the nooks and crannies in this, found it nicely balanced, and the finale was pretty tense.

Avoozl Guest 5 April 2015, 11:21

Man, there's more complexity in these Quake maps than there is in most GZDoom maps.

Bozo Guest 6 April 2015, 1:00

Very good map! I like the new monsters too.

AdAstra Registered 14 May 2016, 7:30

I've been around for a while, but never registered. Will comment on these as I remember them or trip over them. This on definitely stands out as one of the best maps I have downloaded and played all of the maps rated 4 or 5 as well as many others. This one is on my top 5 easily.

Midgard Registered, rated this a 4 13 August 2016, 4:22

Very Nice! Best use of Quoth critters I've seen in awhile (though too many Bobs for my taste). Lots of fun on Hard, you should have added a Nightmare setting :-)

Pasokon Deacon Registered, rated this a 5 29 January 2017, 21:54

From the start there's enough non-linearity to give you freedom but not enough to confuse you. I knew this was a good omen, and I felt vindicated climbing up this derelict prison in the sky (or is it a superweapon?). The Quoth bestiary works very well here, with just the right placement for certain enemies (Pyros, Rocketeers, Edies, and Enforcers). Closet-style closets and teleports spread squarely around the map makes progression agile—I wish the enemies could use these as well, or they would if they could. Skybox and detailing are gorgeous, but the combat stands out most here, rewarding precision at every step up through the arena fight. Biggest disappointment here is how little motivation you have to deactivate bridges, since grounded enemies don't follow you as much as they'll try and pick you off away from bridges. This doesn't invalidate the rest of the map's quality ofc.

marctimothymoses Registered, rated this a 5 25 December 2018, 21:22

the exit is not in sight but it's a good map

triple_agent Registered 22 May 2021, 22:10

Not the best shot - for one of the best designers in the contemporary 'Quake' space.

Simon, you are one of the 'Quake' community rockstars. Therefore, the expectations of you, are high - they are even higher than that. "Metal monstrosity", is not a good map. It reminds me of one 'Quake 4' level - the one having a boss fight with utterly unbalanced, flying blob, somewhere on a tower rooftop. "Metal monstrosity", is beautiful - you are a decent artist; there is a clear concept to the design; but it does not fit the 'Quake' dynamics; making the map difficult for all the wrong reasons. Tripping over a bridge switcher, to find oneself suddenly fall and perish, is not very unlikely. Spaces, are sublime, but the player movement, is more like that of a raging bull - making the gameplay a struggle against the momentum; which could frustrate on the long run. The gameplay, does feel like a mountain hike, but it is a hike when the hiker, is already exhausted. Such as you have pointed out in the map description, the 'Quoth' enemies are artificially made tougher. I assume you must had felt out of touch with this base of assets - and this lack of connection, has projected upon the final player experience. It does feel somewhat blunt, all in place but null. The final area with two closing portals, is confusing - initially, I thought it is required to return downwards, in order to reach exit; while that, was simply an option, without any clear purpose. Even though the path throughout the map is arguably intuitive and the entire space does have a focal point, it all feels scattered and missing a meaningful emphasis. It must be true, that the real emphasis - was simply the skybox. Thus, the emphasis, was everywhere around and visible all the time.

I feel like you have made this map against yourself, in a way. While "Metal monstrosity" is a genuine display of your artistic and designer abilities, it does not represent your best.

I Like Quake Guest 23 May 2021, 11:11

@tripleagent Set svstopspeed to 300. That kills the jump momentum. I feel that the default value of 100 is too low, makes it feel like being on slippery ground. With 300 you'll get a good grip and manage jumps efficiently. Another thing to add in one's personal configuration file.

I Like Quake Guest 23 May 2021, 11:19

It appears that Markdown interpreted the underscore between "sv" and "stopspeed" as a signal to italicize. Yeah, it connected it with the underscore in the name. It would be better to interpret [space][underscore][text][underscore][space] as a signal to italicize the text in between. The way it does it is a hindrance, especially when you wanna send links that have underscores in them.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in