Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of mexx
Author:Marcus Dromowicz
Title:The Entrance & The Sanctum
Download:mexx.zip (7c45d6d6daa70dae4289c98f81f0d4b5)
Filesize:677 Kilobytes
Release date:01.12.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's PlaylistRetroquake
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
MEXX1.BSP977 KB24.11.1997
MEXX.TXT3 KB01.12.1997
MEXX2.BSP639 KB21.10.1996

mexx.zip - The Entrance & The Sanctum

Two small and very dark levels: a Wizard-themed house in a pond and a linear Metal map.

Tags: metal, medium

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 3/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 25 November 2013, 20:52

If it were done in 1996 it would be one of the best of that year, brushwork and atmosphere wise.

FacilisDK Registered, rated this a 5 20 April 2014, 12:03

That last map was a tad too short, but overall I think this is very good. Especially since it's from 1997!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 20 April 2014, 14:57

In response to Cocerello's comment above: It might actually be a 1996 release. I suspect the date currently used here is inaccurate.

The maps are both a bit too dark for my taste (it is sometimes hard to see where you're going or where the monsters are, which makes things difficult for the wrong reasons), but for a first release, this is pretty good. It is a quick experience, but fairly solid, coherent and fun.

Some parts of the first map are a little bland (notably the underwater section), but overall there is a fair bit of variety for what -- at least by current standards -- is a fairly small map.

As for the second map: unlike FacilisDK, I did not find it too short. It made thematic sense to have a simpler, shorter more violent second map.

I'm surprised this has an editor's rating of "poor". I would certainly recommend it if you only have a few minutes to spare and do not want to take on a full episode or a massive modern map.

pmk Guest 22 October 2018, 4:27

good short quake maps with a lot of combat but are very dark as well. i feel that levels are pretty good for the level designer's first maps and that they are worth a quick play through. The brush work and architecture especially in the second map are well crafted by the author and provide a sense of dread to the player. These short two maps get a three out of five rating from me.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in