Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of mines
Author:Ed Cope
Title:Mines & Mayhem
Download:mines.zip (95923a935a56d11074938f2297fb937f)
Filesize:746 Kilobytes
Release date:22.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
M&M/mines.txt7 KB24.11.1996
M&M/pak0.pak1806 KB23.11.1996

mines.zip - Mines & Mayhem

Small mine level with slightly confusing progression and some kind of future amazon enemy with a rocketlauncher.

Tags: small, canyon, mines, bricks, monsters, broken_injector

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.5/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
xDDGx Registered, rated this a 3 23 June 2014, 23:00

It is hardly playable. At first, I can't understand how to get up using platforms in corridor end, so I decompiled map and after some search in Worldcraft finally found out that those blue lights on the walls are actually buttons... At second, there's not much ammo (maybe, it's not critical if you find secrete rooms (corresponding to what I saw in Hammer, there is should be one or two..., but I didn't reach anything and in ending screen only 0/0 is shown)). At third, level is extremely short.

Well, at least there is new enemy with new sounds.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 14 November 2014, 21:54

Strange mix of themes with base enemies. Relies on button finding, wall-shooting, and on exploration to go on. Weapons are mostly hidden. Way easier than ID maps. Ammo is a bit tight, but there is non-secret Quaddamages to make up for that.

There is many secrets, but they aren't numbered. Found hidden a GA, a RL, a NG, a MH, a RoI, and two stashes of ammo just before the exit.

OK for 1996.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 14 November 2014, 21:55

Its a hidden GL instead of a RL. The RL is out on the open.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 10 April 2017, 0:34

Mines & Mayhem on The Quake Grave

It's competent and have some cool thigns going on but I feel like for every cool things, there is something weird that nullifies it a little bit. Decent little map.

This is your typical retro map from 1996, but there are a few cool things about it. I like the mines look even though it's a little cramped, I like the use of custom monsters here and I like the trap that was built for the RL.

However, the map does have a very odd vibe about it. Weapons hidden in the shadows, oddly placed secrets without clues of hoe to get to them (though the map doesn't have any registered secrets to be fair) and the trolley/mine cart thing that didn't seem to work for me.

Spirit Registered 24 April 2017, 22:44

This is broken in the Injector. Not sure where we would need to escape(?) the & but "-game M&M" is borked in XML.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 11 October 2017, 20:43

I think aesthetically it looks pretty nice with the fallen support beams scattered all over the place. I especially like the dark mine part. Quite nice atmosphere.

But then it has these little things that irk me, like having no official secrets and a non-functional trolley. Also the weird elevator buttons and how the elevators have a bit too long of a delay when going back down.

pmk Guest 26 October 2018, 16:31

I would only give this short map/mod a two out of rating as their are some glaring faults within this map such as secrets not being identified, a mine cart that cannot be activated, mines being implemented as a sup weapon when their is no actual use for them. I also didn't care for the new custom enemy as well as she does not really fit into the theme of quake and its universe. I would say skip this mod as a lot of the ideas presented in this mod do not really work out well and their are better mods out there to play for quake that deserve your attention.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in