Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of my_level
Author:Denis Gusakov
Title:Lost Underground Base
Download:my_level.zip (79fd2a59a6b30c0f1af0c62905d5b5a8)
Filesize:1879 Kilobytes
Release date:21.05.1998
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
BASE1.dem2327 KB06.03.1998
base.bsp3628 KB04.03.1998

my_level.zip

Lost Underground Base

Third place in a competition of the Russian magazine Game.exe.
Medium to large base map with a warehouse, a mech hangar and a submarine port. A singleplayer demo is included.

Note: Originally named "my level.zip", renamed to "my_level.zip".


Tags: large, base, realism, crates, mech, submarine

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating:
3.4/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








AAS Registered 15 August 2014, 19:31

Too much concentration put to make objects/layout look like in the real life instead of doing playable proportions.

Not bad(even good) for `98 but I'm judging map form year 2014 and it's got only 3.

Also interesting thing - Denis (the author) hide the fact he worked on the map for competition from magazine staff being in position of game.exe's layout designer. (info from the magazine itself, issue 1998/02).

Spirit Registered 16 August 2014, 12:37

Felt like a potpourri of existing parts the author slapped together. Some nice pieces but overall mostly annoying by being tight and hard.

MikeTaylor Registered 20 August 2014, 17:53

How do you get past the lightning on the "Gods need sacrifice" altar near the end?

Spirit Registered 20 August 2014, 20:02

Iirc you have to jump over it somehow. Pretty weird ending.

MikeTaylor Registered 21 August 2014, 15:09

Oh yeah. Pretty easy, in fact. Not sure how I missed that.

Well, all in all, I liked that more than AAS or Spirit. I thought the realism was pretty well done, there were some genuinely tricky combats, and ammu supplies were well judged. It would be a high 3 or a low 4 today, but for the time a definite five-star map.

Greenwood Registered 17 February 2020, 8:02

Although I do admire the brushwork and concepts done here, this map is too ridiculously tight to be enjoyable. Some monsters are stuck in the geometry and maneuvering inside the submarine is almost comical. Also, some crucial weapons are tucked away in dark corners in complete shadow.

Regardless, it does do a good job telling a story and uses some neat gimmicks (like the Mech warrior & sub). If only the gameplay matched the map's ambition.

The_Pirate Registered 21 November 2020, 12:40

I quite like this. There are quite a few good ideas in this map - for it's day and age i think overall it's good, but the practical mapwork has been done by a not too experienced mapper. This seems to be the only map by Gusakov on the site; this may be the only map he published. A shame, i would have liked to see how he had developed as mapper.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in