Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of nightjourney_v2
Author:Tronyn, Daz, aguirRe
Title:The Night Journey
Download:nightjourney_v2.zip (98c16aa7cac4d04b57dd33b2dd974099)
Filesize:6902 Kilobytes
Release date:30.09.2005
Homepage:http://tronyn.planetquake.gamespy.com
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:rogue

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
nightjourney/PAK0.PAK16045 KB29.09.2005
nightjourney/Readme1st.txt4 KB28.09.2005
nightjourney/progs.dat706 KB07.09.2005
nightjourney/the night journey readme.txt17 KB18.04.2002

nightjourney_v2.zip - The Night Journey

This is an SP episode consisting of six medium to large egyptian/wizard style maps (and a start map) with reskinned monsters.
"[ It ] was originally created by Dustin 'Tronyn' Geeraert and Darren 'Daz' Weekes and released sometime in 2003. Unfortunately, it was unfinished and had e.g. a lot of entity and progression problems." Therefore aguirRe fixed the maps up and re-released this version. The final map nj4 is still missing.
Gameplay is pretty hard. This pack has to be played with Q1MP2: Dissolution of Eternity.


Tags: egyptian, temple, rogue, mustplay, episode, doe, start, unfinished

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 1 March 2010, 23:15
Highly worthwhile, if slightly unfinished, mapset. Balance isn't perfect but in general it's quite challenging but just misses frustration - if you're sure to conserve. Better than the original DOE levels, would have served as a fine 3rd episode to DOE. Recommended.
MegaQuaker 23 April 2010, 1:52
Is the "Arabian Nights" in this the same as the separate "Arabian Nights" (Daz, 2000)?
Tronyn 28 November 2010, 1:41
Actually yes, Daz made 3 maps (called "Arabian Nights" as a set), then I attached them all together and remade the style, which is the map called "Arabian Nights" in this pack. I actually have an even more open version which I might release some day.
Spirit 17 February 2012, 23:24
If you are willing to cheat when necessary (often) this can be fun in coop.
NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 8 February 2014, 11:47

Really feels like it should have been a part of "Dissolution of Eternity". A few monsters have different skins, but their attacks remain the same. Difficulty is acceptable (for my taste at least), even though fighting against several guardians at once can be a test of patience. It's also great that the excellent "Arabian Nights" by Daz has been used and integrates quite well into this pack due to its Aztec/ancient setting. If the last map wasn't missing, it would be a perfect mission pack, but even without it, I'd say it's a must-play for owners of DoE.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 2 April 2015, 18:09

What a terrible shame that the episode ends with "Host_Error: cannot find map maps/nj4.bsp". If the map's not been completed, so be it, but would it really have killed the authors to have instead given us a "Well done, you saved the universe again" message at the end of nj3?

Otherwise, I think this is lovely. The levels are beautiful to look at, and have some very nicely judged combats (though there a couple of places where they fall slightly into the corridor, open space, corridor, open space routine).

Should really be worth more than four stars, but I can't give five after that desperately anticlimactic ending, sorry! Four stars it is. Highly replayable, though.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 4 28 November 2016, 12:08

A really unique experience to say the least...I don't know if the green skins really bring anything to that experience but they do fit on the last two levels.

I would say the ammo balancing is poor becomes the pack's greatest fault. The nocturnal Egyptian/rogue theme is a great breath of fresh air but the lack of ammo to do handle the creatures of the night take away from the magic. The Temple "Guards" are WAAAY too strong considering the ammo and I found myself ax dancing one of the mandatory warriors of the temple. Another instance is the requirement to shoot a switch to lower an elevator. You have to shoot said switch each time you need to lower the elevator...which should be only once. The issue arises when there are mass amounts of wraith enemies (Which are annoying as all living hell) can force you back down.

A niche issue sure, but I found myself literally stuck at the bottom of the elevator room with just my ax. I can't shoot a button with my ax thus I was forced to noclip...that's REALLY bad.

I enjoyed the 2nd realm much more than the first and found it to be one of the more unique settings I have seen in a good while. The toxic metal otherworld was a treat to roam around in but was still plagued with the ammo balancing...but less so.

I also think Tronyn has a serious obsession with scrags ;)

It may sound like I complained more than I acclaimed but I did enjoy the pack and the amount of effort is worth 4 stars alone.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in