Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of nike
Author:Brenda Ellen Perdion
Title:Nike
Download:nike.zip (573b4d0443aa89e3152a8ce88eb0ebb8)
Filesize:3896 Kilobytes
Release date:22.01.1998
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
custents.txt9 KB01.01.1996
GLQuake Nike.lnk1 KB22.01.1998
Nike.ico3 KB22.12.1997
Pak0.pak10361 KB20.01.1998
nike.txt25 KB22.01.1998

nike.zip - Nike

Five small to medium sized realism maps with new textures. The mission is to infiltrate a 1960's Nike radar and missile base at night in order to obtain classified information. Uses custents.

Tags: episode, realism, dark, nike, zeus, radar, sam, cold war, soviet, bombers

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.1/5 with 7 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 8 July 2012, 8:56
Wow, very good map.
How do I exit after deleting the file in 3D Microcosm PC? I'm stuck there.

5/5
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 4 December 2013, 10:32

I'm baffled by the high rating. This is big, and I admire the ambition of telling a somewhat real-world story, but the execution is dismal. It's just a sequence of blocky, underlit buildings.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 4 December 2013, 11:15

Yes, I largely agree. Tried this a while back, as I am drawn to unusual/experimental maps, but the execution sadly did not live up to the ambition.

I would not go so far as to call it "dismal", though, and had I finished the whole thing, I would probably have rated it a 2 (or maybe even a 3, at a push). But your description is otherwise spot-on, in my opinion.

The (unintentionally funny) exploding doors made me chuckle, though.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 4 December 2013, 11:19

Probably rather a 2, though. Slightly off topic, but map-related: MikeTaylor, have you played The Altar of Storms (ne_ruins) yet? I know your a big fan of necros's work and would love to know what you think of it.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 4 December 2013, 11:20
  • you're -- gaah!
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 4 December 2013, 13:15

I've played almost all of Altar Of Storms, and I'm suitably impressed. But I find boss fights boring, and frustrating so I've put off finishing it, and I don't want to rate it until I've won. I'll comment on it and score it when I'm done. LOVE the zombie hordes.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 4 December 2013, 14:14

Understood -- I also don't like rating maps until I've finished them. And sometimes even then I need a while to digest.

I'm actually quite surprised that you find boss fights boring. I do too, but somehow I figured you were into hard, punishing combat and would therefore generally like bosses. I guess our tastes are more similar than I had thought.

And yes -- those zombie hordes are fantastic.

cjnovak Registered, rated this a 4 17 December 2013, 16:24

On Windows 7, this level plays best with GLQuake -- regular WinQuake has trouble with the scale of the graphics until you get close to them.

I've rated it a 4 based on historical significance. Having grown up in the 1960s, living & playing within sight of the Radar domes (especially the large one), I think Brenda did a fantastic job on designing the buildings -- real historical accuracy here, right down to the long access road at the beginning from the guard post to the base itself. I lived near the C49/50 radar in Homewood (one of 20 sites encircling Chicago), and neighbor's back yards ended at the site's chain link fence, as you can see in this contemporary Google Maplink: http://goo.gl/3s3YBq The large radar dome was easily visible from my back yard 2 blocks away, and there were open fields and a large hill (we called "Nike Hill") from which the smaller domes could be seen. The C49/C50 radar site is now called "Patriot's Park", and its companion missile site is now called "Apollo Park" (the missile bunkers were underneath the large asphalt parking lot of Apollo Park).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ListofNikemissilesites

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 17 December 2013, 16:41

Thank you very much for that additional background information, cjnovak.

cjnovak Registered, rated this a 4 2 December 2014, 5:05

Since I posted the above comment a year ago, a Facebook Group from Homewood has collected quite a few Homewood IL NIKE recollections AND original base aerial photos (both Radar and Missile). You can view these at https://www.facebook.com/groups/IamfromHW.FM.GW/permalink/10152099505794528/?comment_id=10152744129604528

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in