Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of nozza
Author:Steven Norrie
Title:Nozza's Palace
Download:nozza.zip (402a124b5d2dae940b0dda34bb400915)
Filesize:107 Kilobytes
Release date:02.02.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
nozzaNormal00h02m29sIcantthinkofanickname6662014-06-16
Player competence < map quality.

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
nozza.bsp262 KB02.02.1997
Nozza.txt2 KB03.02.1997

nozza.zip - Nozza's Palace

Very small and very bad map.

Tags: ugly, small, weird

Editor's Rating: Crap
User Rating: 1.6/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 3 February 2014, 15:56

I really do not see how this is a “very bad map”, or why it is rated “crap” (as per the current editor's description and rating).

It is perhaps nothing special and has the markings of a beginner map, but it's perfectly fine for a quick round of Quake. It's very compact, but not overly cramped for the size. Progression is logical and weapon/ammo/health/monster balance is ok. Lighting is rather bright but not terrible, with some darker areas and flickering lights here and there. With the exception of some out-of-place medieval monsters, enemies are used fairly well. It's not particularly pretty, but not that ugly either. The gold key room has some nice creative touches, and the map contains a secret (with a charmingly modest message).

Crash is strangely also extremely dismissive of this map, but perhaps certain technical flaws were more of an issue back in 1997 than they are today on more forgiving modern hardware and engine ports.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 4 February 2014, 12:07

To me, this is 3 for gameplay, 2 for looks, so 2.5 overall.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 14 June 2014, 19:53

Not a terrible map but not a great map. It feels like there were some ideas here that just couldn't be pulled off with a lot of polish due to the map makers talent at the time or something to that effect but it's not as bad as I would've thought going in. However, this is a palace right? Where is the throne room!? Watch me play it here: Nozza's Palace on The Quake Grave

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 2 29 September 2016, 19:49

So this is interesting. The ugly tag is, in my oppinion, well-deserved because the use of geometry and texture is very rudimentary. There is also z-fighting and all those other hallmarks of a low-quality early years build.

But, having started from the worst map on quaddicted and worked my way up, I see for the first time all of the basic gameplay pieces coming into place. There is a layout with various rooms of appropriate proportion, keys that open doors, triggers that spring traps, a (not-so-secret) secret. I fell like you could take the entities in this map and build a more polished and interesting level geometry around them and you would have a small but satisfying little map. Thus, I rate this a 2/5.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in