Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of nullbear
Author:Bruno Fabbri (zbidou72)
Title:Null Bearing
Download:nullbear.zip (edf6b166e959f5c71f633ec3c76d7199)
Filesize:7806 Kilobytes
Release date:11.10.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/jajsundown1_bk.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_dn.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_ft.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_lf.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_rt.tga769 KB09.11.2003
gfx/env/jajsundown1_up.tga769 KB09.11.2003
maps/nullbear.bsp10764 KB11.10.2020
maps/nullbear.lit3741 KB11.10.2020
nullbear.txt3 KB11.10.2020
source/nullbear.map3236 KB11.10.2020

nullbear.zip

Null Bearing

Large realism map set in a port. It uses custom textures and comes with a custom skybox. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: small, realism, port, ship, freighter, textures, skybox, limits, source, large

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
erc Registered, rated this a 4 18 October 2020, 19:24

Don't get fooled by the realism tag. This is still pretty much your old-school, moderately detailed, explorative Quake level that takes around an hour to complete. Mixed texturing with all kinds of enemies thrown it, yet still works thanks to its clever, overlapping design and fine-tuned combat setups.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 3 29 October 2020, 11:23

I might upgrade my rating to 3 when I finally get unstuck. All in all this is a nice first attempt, if only a bit crude. I find the progression confusing however, and have spent too much time trying to guess what to do or where to go next. I've just encountered a button that "Seems offline" and have no idea what to do next, or whether getting to the room that contains it had any bearing on anything (hence the map title?).

zbidou72 Registered, rated this a 5 29 October 2020, 18:48

@Gloyo3aa Another switch in the same room sets a container into place, that closes a gap and enables you to complete a jump on some pipes, that lead to the next room. Quasiotter did a commented playthrough for this map, and recommended some ammo or health be placed on them for directions :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAfyqJrpo&feature=emb_logo&fbclid=IwAR163klue3V-EmlwSs-MM4Vy4zR7fgGDgrvRqRGhVLAU3Fjm3JcVV2S5BEw

Anyways thx for the feedback, I'll pay more attention to directions in the future.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 3 29 October 2020, 19:39

Ooooh right, thanks! I had retrieved the grenade launcher but didn't realise this was the way to go.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 3 29 October 2020, 23:32

I'm awarding this one more star because it's still a fun map. I gave up on the Captain however, too hard. I might replay this later in a more reasonable setting (Nightmare is my default).

Armitage Shanks Registered, rated this a 5 30 October 2020, 21:41

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAfyqJrpo&feature=emb_logo&fbclid=IwAR163klue3V-EmlwSs-MM4Vy4zR7fgGDgrvRqRGhVLAU3Fjm3JcVV2S5BEw

Mo video there....

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in