Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of nyarlathotep
Author:Dustin "Tronyn" Geeraert
Title:Nyarlathotep
Download:nyarlathotep.zip (497c09fbe9fd9c0805ae23284b8e2f51)
Filesize:5639 Kilobytes
Release date:11.12.2013
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:something_wicked

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
nyarlathotep.txt2 KB08.12.2013
pak4.pak15348 KB08.12.2013

nyarlathotep.zip - Nyarlathotep

Two medium-sized experimental vertical maps with a unique flesh-temple theme and very uncompromising low-gravity gameplay.

Note: These maps require Drake and an engine port with BSP2 support.


Tags: experimental, vertical, blood, gravity, egyptian, knave, medium, flesh, drake, hard, temple, limits, bsp2, unique

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4/5 with 23 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ijed Registered, rated this a 5 11 December 2013, 19:15

Great fun; weird and bloody and good to play with plenty of atmosphere.

jdstoner Guest 11 December 2013, 19:18

this is all i wanted for the holidays!

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 1 11 December 2013, 19:41

I'm sorry, but I legitimately hated it.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 12 December 2013, 0:27

Thanks for the early Christmas present, Tronyn!

Fantastic, beautiful work and (obviously) very original gameplay.

Quite tricky, especially initially. Somewhat less so once you get the hang of it, but still, this is a map that can give you muscle cramps. It's worth it, though, and I recommend noclipping through once you finish, just to admire the scenery.

It took me several tries and many saves to get through this, and oddly, once I encountered a shambler -- but only once. Was I supposed to?

Tronyn Guest 12 December 2013, 2:45

Right, there's only one Shambler in the first map, not even one on easy. There are a few more in the second map nyar2.bsp (which is in the same BSP2 format as "Something Wicked" and thus requires RMQEngine, DarkPlaces or FTEQW, whereas the first map nyar.bsp should be playable in any engine - tested in Fitz which seems the most popular choice around here.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 12 December 2013, 8:40

Thanks for the response, Tronyn. What I meant is I only saw the Shambler during one playthrough -- it didn't appear the other times, for some strange reason, even though I seemed to do the same things each time, so its appearance should have been triggered. I played in DarkPlaces, just like I did "Something Wicked".

Then again, maybe I'm just ditsy -- I didn't even notice there's a second map (I assumed there was just one and quit after completing it). Well, even more to look forward to later!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 13 December 2013, 1:24

Wow, I though the first map was hard – that second map is brutal (I had to stick to skill 0, and doubt I'll ever get through it on anything higher). It looks spectacular, though, and I like how it continues the vertical ascent, and manages – despite initial appearances – to be more than just an arena. I thought the ending was a bit sudden; I would have liked a moment more to catch my breath and take in my surroundings after that last kill.

Overall it's great how the lower gravity not only makes unconventional vertical progression possible, but also dramatically changes combat dynamics: certain weapons need to be aimed differently, some enemies become easier and others harder, and you need to use a different set of evasive manoeuvres.

Personally I found the map pack frustrating and exhausting at times (no doubt due to lack of skill on my part), but certainly very worthwhile.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 13 December 2013, 16:36

(PS: I meant "Christmas" in the entirely secular, any-reason-to-receive-presents sense. No religious implications whatsoever. I should have said "Quakemas", damn it.)

user7346 Registered 14 December 2013, 21:09

Enjoyed it.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 17 December 2013, 23:32

i liked both maps alot. the first map me wonder how hard ziggurat vertigo may be with 'marksmen' ogres! it is nice to see maps with different gravity. that's one thing i havent seen much of. the second map was more difficult for me.

with all the invaluable, exceptional mappers that contribute to quake, yours tronyn, by far, are the most difficult! keep doing what you do.

Daz Registered, rated this a 3 20 December 2013, 17:20
tb Guest 21 December 2013, 1:28

Tronyn has made my Christmas for the second year in a row. Dare I hope for a hat-trick?

Two huge maps but very fast-paced due to the abundance of zombies and relatively few big tough monsters. I enjoyed the narrow vertical feel of the first one and the second was classic Tronyn excess, perhaps his craziest design yet. Also good to see the mummy making an appearance, although the guardian felt a little out of place on the first map and a few more might have been welcome on the second.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 24 December 2013, 14:06

Very nice video, Daz. I especially like your opening shot as you noclip through the first map.

Pity you got so frustrated in the second map (I actually liked the trickiness of it, as that is what made it more than just an arena. The first map is the stronger of the two, though, in my opinion).

dehlor Guest 31 December 2013, 23:44

..looks half a mess of a map, or that was your intention Tronyn ? sure it's original but not very eye-gorgeous

Lava Croft Guest 3 January 2014, 3:18

Great maps! Only real problem was the trap at the silver key, which didn't reset in coop. We solved it rocketjumping over the silver door.

Thanks

jackieben Registered, rated this a 4 8 January 2014, 18:12

A nice experiment, a bit frustrating

Maybe it would be better with (bloody) jump-pads instead of insanely low gravity

Qmaster Registered, rated this a 2 15 February 2014, 19:30

Yuck. Why did I play this?

Qmaster Registered, rated this a 2 15 February 2014, 19:32

I'm sorry, that wasn't so nice. Ahem.

Theme: I don't like it. Enemies: They're okay. Special features: Low gravity is fun, gore launchers were awful yuck. Design: Well made, just don't like the theme.

Sorry, just not much fun. I don't particularly like crawling through a pile of bloodgibs. 2/5

Tronyn Guest 15 February 2014, 20:20

Lol! Thanks for the comments Qmaster. You are the first person to complain about the theme, which Daz called "really disgusting" on his video, rather than the experimental gameplay.

1path0gen1 Guest 1 March 2014, 11:19

the experiment looks successful for the most part to me. "kill a shitton of monsters to progress" trick is probably a little bit over-abused in the second map, but it's not too bad since all the key creatures are easy enough to find. views are excellent and lovecraftian atmosphere is really strong.

mmm Registered, rated this a 3 24 March 2014, 15:42

A little too experimental for my taste.

NoNameUser Guest 26 May 2014, 14:39

Damn it, you scared the crap out of me at the very start with those Spawns, damn things are just too creepy. The first map is very good, albeit a tad frustrating due to the low gravity business, the atmosphere is quite suitable for Quake with all the blood and guts flying around; good use of fog too. I do have against it the use of the Drake weapons, I just don't like some of them, specially the chainsaw. The 2nd map looks great too but I couldn't play it for long due to some terrible slowdows on my computer. Tested under QuakeSpasm and DarkPlaces, it doesn't work with FitzQuake or older RMQEngine versions.

bfg666 Registered 3 May 2016, 2:18

Low-G? Awesome! I'm a huge fan of Ziggurat Vertigo and I've always regretted that id didn't use this feature more. Plus, the screenshot reminds me of the insane level design in American McGee's Alice. I absolutely have to try these maps right now! Judging by the comments, my only concern would be a possible overabundance of grinding but oh well...

MikeTaylor Registered 4 October 2016, 21:59

Dammit, Tronyn, spawns are not fun. They gave never been fun. They will never be fun.

Mugwump Registered, rated this a 4 27 August 2017, 18:47

I can't believe I forgot to rate this! Done. Hands down my favorite Tronyn map(s) to date (haven't played them all yet, though). Love the low-G and surreal design. Combat is very tough, expect to die a lot. I managed to pull it off in skill 2 but it took me many tries and I had to abuse f6.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in