Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of plaw02
Author:Paul Lawitzki
Title:Waldsterben
Download:plaw02.zip (2bb65225cc6c48748586f71aa93b0738)
Filesize:10736 Kilobytes
Release date:22.02.2022
Homepage:http://plaw.info/quakemaps/plaw02/
Additional Links: author's download mirrorauthor's writeup + more screenshotsFunc_Msgboard thread
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:copper_v1_17

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
copper/maps/plaw02.bsp23553 KB20.02.2022
copper/maps/plaw02.lit6809 KB20.02.2022
copper/sound/ambience/frst01.wav201 KB13.02.2022
copper/sound/ambience/frst02.wav213 KB13.02.2022
copper/sound/ambience/frst03.wav597 KB13.02.2022
copper/sound/ambience/logfall.wav77 KB13.02.2022
plaw02.txt3 KB20.02.2022
src/plaw02.map8726 KB20.02.2022

plaw02.zip

Waldsterben

A medium-to-large sized pine forest / base map for Copper (NOT included) with a mix of custom textures and a few id1 texture mashups. Map source is included.

Note: This map requires a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, forest, woods, foliage, copper, base, source, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.7/5 with 48 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Andrew Registered 27 February 2022, 19:37

I don't know about others, but I really liked this forest map! It reminded me of the first part of the game "Shadow Warrior". 5/5

chris Guest 27 February 2022, 23:46

This map was awesome. It was very fun to play through and doesn't drag on. The interior section was an awesome surprise, when I got the gold keycard and opened the door I was scared the fun was already over. Great ambience as well, reminded me of the trails outside my house as a kid.

My only nitpick is the original wind ambience from the base game playing instead of only the custom ambience playing, and then random bright spots used in the forest area instead of lighting the entire map. It could be intentional, but since the map is night time it doesn't fit to have godray-esque lighting. The variation in warm and cold item lighting was also funny looking, I think it would look better with no lighting on the items whatsoever, or used sparsely.

Other than that, really fantastic job. 5/5

Alex Ros Registered 28 February 2022, 8:20

Simply the best forest map existing on Quake. There are some really-really good like Binding Tower for example, but this one is simply the best as of 02/2022. As for the map itself personally I loved that doors are nearly absent, therefore all feels more natural. Encounters were inventive, and felt like real forest "guerilla" ambushes. Secrets were all interesting to look for; especially Blair Witch secret, my love forever. All in all Plaw is one of my all time favourite mappers. This map & his previous which ended up in Alkaline are both highest quality possible. Must-play map for all quakers. And follow Plaw works!

Alex Ros Registered 28 February 2022, 8:22

This and Zothique's map both will surely end up among best maps of 2022, no doubts at all

Brendy_C Registered 2 March 2022, 7:15

Terrific atmosphere. Really enjoyed the sneak attacks in this one. A well-crafted jaunt into a cursed wood. Excellent bushwork.

Johnny Law Registered 2 March 2022, 17:48

Big thumbs up here for the execution of a slightly unusual (for Quake) setting. A cross between a forest in a spooky old fable, and a logging camp. :-) I really enjoyed the feel! FWIW, I used Ironwail and set rsoftemu 3 and rscale 2 to kind of evoke olden-days Quake where mappers were a little more likely to dive into odd themes without worrying if they could be perfectly represented.

BTW it's interesting to contrast this with one of my other gold-standard forest-y maps, "Binding Tower". That one has a more cartoonish and stylized approach; both work well.

The forest path here was linear-ish but with fun loops and glimpses of things and secrets; that was a really pleasant jog. The encounters each felt nicely crafted for surprise and challenge. Maybe a little too much use of spawning-in enemies? but I know it's difficult to come up with alternatives in a space like this. Sometimes it felt like the baddies were just appearing out of the trees, which was neat.

The bunker was a slight disappointment. It's an enjoyable crazy fight, actually a good climax in that way, but I was hoping/expecting that the map was transitioning into another kind of space rather than just ending. Anyway, if my worst criticism is "awww I wanted more!" then that's pretty good!

The_Pirate Registered 2 March 2022, 18:55

Excellent.

Usually, forest maps are a bit... wanting, usually more due to game engine constraints rather than the mappers abillities. This one is different - it manages to give a genuine 'forest' look and feel.

Also... a nice map for secret hunting. And good gameplay.

I still wonder how the bad guys drove that tank crane down into that hole...

PL, thanks for sharing! You started out with a very high standard in your first maps, and have managed to keep it up. My respect, Sir.

Chaser Registered 4 March 2022, 22:27

Can't remember any Q1 map with forrest setting to look and feel this good. Chellenging, fast, with ambushes that dont frustrate, fun secrets and great finall battle. Loved every minute of it.

Gos Guest 13 March 2022, 1:03

Beautiful

MittensForKittens Registered 15 March 2022, 23:10

Easily the most detailed and convincing forest/nature environment featured in a Quake map, this is truly a remarkable design. Visually, it features excellent, custom textures and immaculate brush-work.

The gameplay is extremely solid for a map that could have easily been more of a proof-of-concept. There are multiple fights that are challenging and engaging. Additionally, secrets and future areas are cleverly teased through the many beautiful vistas on display. Play this map and you will not be dissapointed.

Visuals - 5/5 Atmosphere - 5/5 Gameplay - 5/5 Difficulty - 5/5 MittensForKittens' Rating - 5/5

Jehannum Registered 20 March 2022, 1:12

It was a blast! Like others have said, this is the best forest map for Quake that I have seen and very enjoyable to play.

Thanks for sharing with us.

rchavp Registered 22 March 2022, 12:58

Awesome map. Keeps you on guard all the way. Please make more of these.

Boss300 Registered 26 March 2022, 18:05

bretty gud

Stefimero Registered 3 May 2022, 14:09

I really like this forest experience with great progression and balance of it...full outdoor experience are not enough visited in my opinion, A must have :)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in