Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of pop
Author:Darren Stabler
Title:Potpourri
Download:pop.zip (1aa277227359928ad6ea51476df319d6)
Filesize:532 Kilobytes
Release date:28.07.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
popNormalSpirit152014-07-03

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
pop.bsp1200 KB28.07.1996
potpourri.txt3 KB28.07.1996

pop.zip - Potpourri

Small, ugly, boxed map.

Tags: small

Editor's Rating: Crap
User Rating: 1.9/5 with 16 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 8 May 2014, 17:24

This map definitely sees Darren improving over his previous map Basic Castle in certain ways but kind of going off the deep end on others. Hey, at least I can finish this one! Potpourri on The Quake Grave

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 3 16 August 2014, 0:35

I don't really get the "crap" rating, this one's pretty decent in my opinion. It's nonlinear but not too confusing, and it has some pretty nice combat here and there, as well as a pretty good variety of enemies. Sure, there were problems, like the slow lifts, the glitchy window and the exit being obscure (I'm lucky to have found it without wandering for a long time), but overall I wouldn't say it's too bad at all. I wouldn't recommend it to everybody, but if you have some patience, I would say it's worth a try.

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 1 3 January 2015, 10:26

I can tell this map has some actual effort put into it, but the result is a confusing ugly map with easy combat. It mainly just uses base enemies and although there are some fantasy ones, there are many more grunts than any other enemy. The lifts are really slow and the exit is in a ridiculous place. Overall, it's not a map worth playing. 1/5

Noxat Registered, rated this a 2 7 July 2015, 19:00

Not much to look at but I sorta have a soft spot for these ugly patchwork maps if they're at least playable. A good example of an early custom Quake map before the building tools became much more refined.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 6 November 2016, 13:30

As ArrrCee stated, a definite improvement! The architecture was a lot more interesting here, with fairly detailed ceiling elements that caught my eye. Still got stuck for a little bit, because of an unconventional button, which I mistook for a mere architectural element.

Carrascado Registered, rated this a 2 20 January 2017, 22:46

Bad use of textures (they always use the same boring beige textures omg). The geometry can get kind of confusing (I had some problems knowing my way through the exit).

Overall it keeps being a bad map, but it's not terrible at least.

(Kudos for the super ultra slow elevators lol)

pmk Guest 7 October 2018, 4:46

better than the map basic castle from the same author, finding the exit was difficult and there was very strange texture work and level design. I would say skip the map as there are better quake maps to play.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in