Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of prisonofhope
Author:GrazzasOnlyFan
Title:Prison of Hope
Download:prisonofhope.zip (315219f64b4de61a4d4594101569df10)
Filesize:57889 Kilobytes
Release date:04.09.2022
Homepage:https://twitter.com/GSdigitalbrain
Additional Links: Slipseer pageFunc_Msgboard threadDownload via Archive.org
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
id1/gfx/env/browncloud_bk.tga3073 KB21.11.2020
id1/gfx/env/browncloud_dn.tga3073 KB21.11.2020
id1/gfx/env/browncloud_ft.tga3073 KB21.11.2020
id1/gfx/env/browncloud_lf.tga3073 KB21.11.2020
id1/gfx/env/browncloud_rt.tga3073 KB21.11.2020
id1/gfx/env/browncloud_up.tga3073 KB21.11.2020
id1/gfx/env/tablemt2_bk.tga3073 KB17.12.2019
id1/gfx/env/tablemt2_dn.tga3073 KB17.12.2019
id1/gfx/env/tablemt2_ft.tga3073 KB17.12.2019
id1/gfx/env/tablemt2_lf.tga3073 KB17.12.2019
id1/gfx/env/tablemt2_rt.tga3073 KB17.12.2019
id1/gfx/env/tablemt2_up.tga3073 KB17.12.2019
id1/maps/prisonofhope.bsp86770 KB04.09.2022
id1/maps/prisonofhope.lit4449 KB04.09.2022
id1/maps/prisonofhope.map9312 KB04.09.2022
id1/maps/prisonofhope_readme.txt3 KB04.09.2022

prisonofhope.zip

Prison of Hope

Large sci-fi gothic mountain prison for vanilla Quake inspired by Dark Souls, with textures by Makkon. Difficulty settings are not implemented. Map source is included.

"Even if you escape; there's no escape. A relatively linear map designed somewhat vertically and taking heavy inspiration from the Tower of Latria/Irithyll dungeon levels from the Souls series, but with a dystopian/cyberpunk twist. There are two endings - can you find them both?"

Note: requires a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, cave, mountain, vanilla, classic, prison, jail, makkon, souls, source, limits, sci-fi, base

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.4/5 with 24 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Alex Ros Registered 8 September 2022, 8:53

Solid map. Nice looking. Gameplay is engaging

The_Pirate Registered 8 September 2022, 20:46

This is excellent.

Very good use of lights, sound and monster placement. I can question the use of sword-armed guards, but i admit they don't really have a modern equivalent in vanilla Quake.

Also very impressive design; the blocky bits are done in a way so it feels natural, the areas that crave details are filled with them. Well done. It takes some talent to manage that particular trick. And then some out-of-the-box thinking added for good measure...

It is furthermore good use of the texture pack. This pack can feel very drab, but in this case, it is just right.

Very skilled mapper; excellent map. My compliments. Thank you very much for your efforts, and thanks for sharing!

...I better try again. Didn't find all the secrets...

Quave Registered 9 September 2022, 9:40

Quality map, it has some difficult encounters but it doesn't get cheap. Good use of coloured lighting and general layout and progression makes for good progress.

Greenwood Registered 9 September 2022, 19:14

Pretty cool! Looks good when played with Alkaline too, since it's a dystopian prison. I only didn't care for the perched rottweilers directly above some of the elevators (a bit of guaranteed damage); however, Grazzas supplies a generous amount of health packs, so no major complaints :)

Mr.Burns Registered 10 September 2022, 10:18

An enjoyable map that kept my interest with routes to explore and engaging gameplay. I played in on Quakespam spiked so the visuals were good. The only oddity was a Scrag getting trapped and attempting to attack whilst 90% submerged in the floor. Not sure of the cause and it wasn't there on a 2nd play through. Keep up the good work, I sincerely hope there will be more.

5 stars :)

Kind regards Monty

whatisquake Registered 11 September 2022, 3:46

Wonderful use of Makkon textures. I liked the feel of progression as you climb, it was rewarding to see the sky near the end. I did feel lost after finding the gold gate and retraced everything looking for a silver gate, and I wish it were more obvious that you have to kill every enforcer to progress in the gold key room. Fun.

ARCHIVUM Guest 13 September 2022, 16:19

Several endings! Nice.

Gioyo3aa Registered 15 September 2022, 12:41

Rather straightforward yet enjoyable map. The ending (at least the one I found) is sadistic in a new way. I did not find all secrets but I tend not to try very hard when the count is low.

Spirit Registered 18 September 2022, 19:53

Didn't like it that much to be honest. It felt like a incoherent combination of set pieces and was very plain in some and quite detailed in other places. Maybe I am missing the reference for a better feeling. What was a button and what was not wasn't really clear. Combat was alright!

Johnny Law Registered 30 September 2022, 19:56

Excellent use of color, scale, and shadow. A big jump from your previous map -- and just compared to other maps in general, a unique and strong look. I really enjoyed just seeing what was next in the visuals from room to room while going through this.

Usually good texture selection too, although one of the few visual errors here comes from the use of some textures with quite different scaling, so that the pixels are almost invisible on some textures but huge and blocky on others. Also a couple of movers/lifts have pitch-black lighting issues on the "covered" parts (these are annoying to fix but can be taken care of usually one way or another).

Anyway: great look! One of my favorites this year.

The theme and mild storytelling was also fun, making use of some nifty environment designs. Pretty bold choice also to have a "bad ending" possible in a Quake map. :-) I do wish you had gone with a custom music track BTW, it would have really sold your setting!

The combat encounters were sparse at times yeah (skill 2). While there were at least a couple of areas that did get my pulse up a bit, on the whole I'd say that the fighting was the weakest aspect of the map. If the experience here included some truly punchy combat setpieces, it could be an instant classic.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in