Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of progref
Author:Mechtech
Title:Plain ol progs.dat tricks
Download:progref.zip (b31d4e4bc3f7977a68e3ade44dfae4c8)
Filesize:1297 Kilobytes
Release date:09.02.2008
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
progref.txt2 KB09.02.2008
progref.bsp1545 KB09.02.2008
progref.map507 KB09.02.2008
progref.rmf2104 KB09.02.2008
progref.wad852 KB09.02.2008
progref.lit652 KB09.02.2008
progref.bsp1545 KB09.02.2008
progref.lit652 KB09.02.2008
progref.map507 KB09.02.2008
progref.rmf2104 KB09.02.2008
progref.txt2 KB09.02.2008
progref.wad852 KB09.02.2008

progref.zip - Plain ol progs.dat tricks

A showcase map displaying several tricks that can be done with a standard Quake progs.dat. Very neat, but basically of interest to mappers only.

Tags: showcase, source, tricks, hacks

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 2.7/5 with 7 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 18 December 2014, 16:11

Surprisingly fun. Shame there didn't seem to be an exit trigger.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 10 July 2017, 18:22

Cool! This map was my introduction to the wonderful world of mapping trickery made possible by info_notnull entities.

Oh, the possibilities this map revealed to me! Some of the cool tricks I learned from the map: - making entities respawn - making custom exploding containers - making traps with other projectiles besides nails and laser - changing water level - making a killable Chthon (it felt weird being able to hurt him!)

The map also demonstrated decorative models, such as gibs and the player model (in various poses, including dead position), but on the Trenchbroom map editor I couldn't see any entities related to generating these models in any way. Perhaps I'll have to lurk moar the interwebs to find an answer to how to do it...

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 10 July 2017, 18:26

How could I forget to mention perhaps the most useful trick of them all: making triggers dormant until certain conditions are met! That opens up a whole load of possibilities one could do with one's maps! Seems something I could be using very soon in my own creations! :D

Knowing Guest 11 July 2017, 2:21

Just use Arcane Dimensions for triggerable triggers.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 11 July 2017, 9:05

Right, haven't looked into the possibilities AD offers to mappers (besides the obvious things you see while playing, such as destructible terrain). o:

But if I want to keep things vanilla, then this seems like the only solution that I know of.

Mugwump Registered 2 August 2017, 23:54

Limiting yourself to vanilla is gonna make you miss out on all the awesome evolutions of Quake mapping and playing that modders have come up with in the last 20 years. A shame if you ask me, in these days of limit-pushing engines. I for one intend to map primarily for AD.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 8 October 2017, 19:59

In case anyone else was wondering about the decorative models, one can find out how they were put on the map by reading the map file with a text editor.

Upon reading the file I found out that the models were func_illusionary entities, but I later learned that the limitation of the technique seems to be that you can't rotate such entities even if you use the "angle" or "angles" key.

But thankfully the resourceful people at funcmsgboard found out how to plant rotatable and dynamic models in the map. You can read Preach's posts (post numbers #36 and #472) in the thread http://www.celephais.net/board/viewthread.php? id=37116 for more information about it.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 8 October 2017, 20:02

Ah, seems the commenting section uses underscore to turn text to italics, which ended up breaking the link in my previous comment. Just add an underscore between the words "view" and "thread", and remove the space between the "?" and "id" to make the link work.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in