Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of pyro1
Author:Dean Scott
Title:Pyro1
Download:pyro1.zip (6a13d758a701561f41eac4d0b17f0d1d)
Filesize:487 Kilobytes
Release date:16.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
pyro1Normal4m28sSpirit152014-08-17
pyro1Nightmare5m39sEsrael6662017-09-02
First run, 100 %, commentary

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
pyro1.txt3 KB16.11.1996
pyro1.bsp1059 KB16.11.1996
pyro1_quaddictedrepack.txt1 KB28.04.2009

pyro1.zip - Pyro1

Badly built map. Not worth it.
This file was repackaged by Spirit. You can find the original .zip in the trash


Tags: small, bricks, underwater, cavern

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 2.2/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 15 December 2013, 13:04

Not that bad considering its time, but not good either. Average-

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 2 16 June 2014, 23:32

Enough detailed, but such roughly...

Noxat Registered, rated this a 2 4 August 2015, 20:42

This map suffers from a distinct lack of action. There are many empty rooms and open area with the potential for big, fun encounters that are merely squandered.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 2 10 November 2015, 1:43

Pyro1 on The Quake Grave

I have to agree with Cocerello and Noxat above. It's an average map with some decent rooms that really needed to be filled with more fights. I think the end fight is a good indicator of this with 1 shambler in a giant room all alone. It's a little off putting.

However, this was a good start for a first time mapper. It shows potential.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 2 September 2017, 10:35

I was kind of torn on this one. I agree with the aforementioned comments on emptiness and lack of action, but other than that, I'd say the build work was decent for its time, if not a bit inconsistent: Some rooms look really simple and empty while some look pretty nice, such as the one with the pentagram and the cavern.

Maybe it's just me not having played in a while, but playing this map was still fun enough to warrant a 3/5 for me at the time of writing this review. We'll see, if I change my mind later on.

pmk Guest 23 October 2018, 1:41

Good short beginner's first map from 1996. I liked the orange texture theme that the map provided and the final courtyard where you battle the shambler at the end of the map was pretty impressive. I liked the level designer's idea of having the quake one symbol cast a shadow over the courtyard was pretty interesting. Overall this was a good first map from the author and would give this map a three out of five rating even though their is some texture alignment issues present. This map is still a functional, playable map that is worth a quick play through.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in