Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of pyro4
Author:Dean Scott
Title:Pyro4 - The Awakening
Download:pyro4.zip (37d98c53b8f721b44ddf394df2305bb4)
Filesize:838 Kilobytes
Release date:03.04.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
pyro4NormalSpirit152014-08-17

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
PYRO4.TXT4 KB03.04.1997
PYRO4.BSP1879 KB03.04.1997

pyro4.zip - Pyro4 - The Awakening

Simple medium sized Metal map with a Chthon boss fight.

Tags: medium, metal, lava, boss, chthon, dm

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 20 November 2015, 23:57

Pyro4 on The Quake Grave

Pyro 4 continues to show Dean progressing as a mapper and this is his best yet. It's unfortunate it's his last Q1 single player map. But where is Pyro3? Was it a DM map by chance?

This map is even bigger feeling than his other 2, the theme is more cohesive and the rooms vary it up a bit. The enemy placement is a bit better than the previous Pyro maps but there still could've been more I think. Overall I think this is Dean's best single player quake map and I found it to be pretty fun! Would've liked to see what he could do in Quake after this one.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 21 October 2017, 22:47

Played on skill 2. 72/92 killed and no, no fish.

Huge in scale, decent and fun combats half the time, the other the enemies (knights) take long to reach the player, and only one enemy badly placed, Chthon, who most of the time his projectiles will be intercepted by the floor. Difficulty below Id maps except on the first fourth of the map and below Id maps in quantity of ammo.

There seems to be some side secret areas like in pyro2, but this time couldn't find the way to them.

3+

Repus Guest 26 November 2017, 11:39

This is a very primitive level. Simple architecture, lazily done lighting. The gameplay interest is zero.

I would recommend to avoid playing it.

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 15 July 2018, 17:05

The textures are plain, and the progression is linear, but overall I found this map quite fun. The only glaring drawback is the monster placement in the first open-air room--picking off the shambler in hard/nightmare is time-consuming without being much of a challenge.

pmk Guest 24 January 2019, 14:37

This is the best map in the pyro series in terms of level design and combat. Although i feel the level is too open as it makes combating the enemies within the map very easy. Overall, I would say it is worth a download and give it a three out of five rating.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 26 January 2019, 8:37

It's a rather average map with averagely (is that even a word) fun gameplay. It also has a few cool ideas in it. I liked this one mass ogre encounter that required a little bit of situational awareness and the pathway to the golden runekey was also quite atmospheric.

The map also had a couple of misfires as well, such as unmarked secrets and some poor enemy and powerup placements. And at times the map looks overtly simple. Still, I'd say it's fun enough for a playthrough.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in