Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of q1tm3
Author:Hrimfaxi, Leviathan, Zwiffle
Title:Quake Turtlemap 3
Download:q1tm3.zip (139524f36a06126f6c617eaa1a2e464c)
Filesize:4630 Kilobytes
Release date:13.01.2004
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's SM Pick
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
q1tm3_hrimfaxi.txt3 KB12.01.2004
q1tm3_zwiffle.bsp3918 KB08.01.2004
q1tm3_hrimfaxi.bsp4818 KB13.01.2004
q1tm3.txt2 KB03.09.2001
q1tm3_hrimfaxi2.bsp3480 KB12.01.2004
q1tm3_lev.bsp939 KB09.01.2004
q1tm3_lev.txt2 KB09.01.2004

q1tm3.zip - Quake Turtlemap 3

Results of the third Quake Turtlemap event: 4 small to medium SP maps in varying themes by Hrimfaxi, Leviathan and Zwiffle - all made in one week or less.

Tags: turtlemap, contest, cave, tech, base, classic

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Qmaster, rated this a 4 12 February 2012, 4:04
3 Great maps 5/5, especially Hrimfaxi's.

3/5 hearts for Lev's tech base gibfest. Though it was a lot of fun to blast the 200 some odd grunts and enforcers but the level design was rather dull.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 22 November 2013, 13:50

Very good turtlemaps, specially Hrimfaxi's, but the rest doesn't stay far from his.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 20 July 2014, 17:13

great maps overall! i would've loved a quad and/or a nailgun for Lev's base map. still, it's amazing what mappers can achieve in a week.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 3 20 July 2014, 18:24

Hrim's first has so many brushes I bumped into or got stuck on. Don't like tight maps like that. Second one I liked more, though I am not into that "realistic" style.

Lev's was just stupid grinding or did I miss any weapon pickup?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 21 July 2014, 10:34

4/5 for Lev's map: I thoroughly enjoyed cutting my way through the enormous swathes of base enemies, and it's left me wondering why there aren't more maps like this. My only reservation is that I could really have used a better weapon every now and then -- say, a grenade launcher with a strictly limited number of grenades would have been fun.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 22 July 2014, 1:30

Zwiffle's map is very competent and nicely put together. I particularly enjoyed finding all five secrets. Yet somehow, in a way I can't really define, it just wasn't that much. Felt a bit of a grind. Only 3/5 from me, but I feel back about it.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 23 July 2014, 2:24

I enjoyed both of Hrimfaxi's maps, though the first is very much more ambitious than the second, and has a touch of The Living End about it, but suffers a bit from Arbitrary Teleporter Syndrome. There did come a point at the end of the last when when I started to wonder whether maybe it's possible to have too many shamblers. I'd rate these as 4/5 and 3/5 respectively, making the average for the pack 3.5/5. I'm feeling generous so I've rounded up rather than down.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 13 February 2018, 6:23

The only maps i really felt were fleshed out and enjoyable were Hrimfaxi's maps - Leviathan's map was, to put it bluntly, crap. I could not care less about grinding my way through 200+ enemies by constantly peeking in and out of cover, so after a few rooms of blandness I gave up and checked with noclip to make sure there was nothing else to the map; there wasn't.

Zwiffle's map was much closer to Hrimfaxi's work at least - simpler and with less balanced combat, and uglier as well - inadequately lit at many times, which is not something I had an issue with for any of the other maps (though Lev's map seemed to have ambient lighting cranked to near-maximum, making it almost as bad...)

Still, the pack isn't let down by Lev's map - I really, really enjoyed both of Hrimfaxi's contributions and I plan to check out their other stuff in the hope it carries a similar level of quality, both in architecture and design.

onetruepurple Registered 13 February 2018, 13:15

Historic note: Leviathan = Ionous

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 13 February 2018, 17:26

Replaying these, they are all really good. Well worth revisiting.

JMP Guest 13 February 2018, 18:43

After reading the comments here, I had to play Lev/Ionous's map to see why it inspired such mixed reactions. I thought it was pretty fun. Mostly mindless blasting, but there are some moments when the player can strategize. And the secret--or rather, what happens after the player reaches the secret--was entertainingly cruel.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in