Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of qktower
Author:DAV
Title:Tower
Download:qktower.zip (b6fe8a0a659dd20106903f8b6e5c5ea7)
Filesize:569 Kilobytes
Release date:06.02.1998
Homepage:http://www.planetquake.com/davlevels/
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
qktower.bsp1595 KB06.02.1998
qktower.txt2 KB13.01.2000

qktower.zip - Tower

Small base-style tower with cramped interiors in a dark canyon.

Tags: small, base, tower, canyon, vertical

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.5/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 18 January 2014, 1:56

The hilarious editor's description made me play this. It's not too bad, really, though the mismatch of themes is jarring. It does convey a nice sense of massive scale. With a more consistent style and less bland gameplay, it could have been good.

jackieben Registered 18 January 2014, 9:04

Dav is another big hl mapper like K.S., with quake, even doom/q2/etc background, famous for Azure Sheep and Point of View mods. He had to start somewhere, but since this map he developed his skills a lot

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 18 January 2014, 12:28

Thanks for the additional information, jackieben. I did not know that, but it makes sense, since this does not come across as "bad", just more like unrealised (or not-yet-fully realised, as it turns out) potential. I had a similar impression when playing DAV's version of Doom e1m1: https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/qkdme1m1.html

The editor's description here is a little mean-spirited, but it's also funny and hopefully the kind of thing an author like DAV can take in stride.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 2 18 January 2014, 12:32

By the way, I'm glad to hear DAV continued mapping (after releasing the maps available on this site), albeit not for Quake. It's always a shame, when playing an early map showing potential, to find that the author was never heard from again.

negke Registered 18 January 2014, 15:15

Description and rating changed to something more appropriate.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 19 January 2014, 16:13

Darn it, now I really want to know what the original description said!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 19 January 2014, 16:24

... and having played it, I'm now even more mystified. This seems like a perfectly competent level to me.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in