Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of quck_demo2
Author:skacky
Title:Quenching Urges of Constant Killing [DEMO #2]
Download:quck_demo2.zip (c3ba7a8b79ed0da68cd9fbc275443f99)
Filesize:28013 Kilobytes
Release date:01.04.2018
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:quoth2pt2full_2

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/conback.lmp354 KB18.08.2017
gfx/env/purplebk.tga769 KB15.08.2017
gfx/env/purpledn.tga904 KB15.08.2017
gfx/env/purpleft.tga769 KB15.08.2017
gfx/env/purplelf.tga769 KB15.08.2017
gfx/env/purplert.tga769 KB15.08.2017
gfx/env/purpleup.tga755 KB15.08.2017
maps/map01.bsp3929 KB19.08.2017
maps/map01.lit1323 KB19.08.2017
maps/map02.bsp4310 KB30.12.2017
maps/map03.bsp12554 KB03.01.2018
maps/map03.lit8130 KB03.01.2018
maps/start.bsp582 KB30.12.2017
music/track03.ogg5269 KB15.08.2017
music/track15.ogg2188 KB17.08.2017
music/track16.ogg2658 KB24.08.2017
music/track19.ogg2196 KB30.12.2017
music/track22.ogg5110 KB31.12.2017
readme.txt2 KB04.01.2018
sound/misc/menu1.wav36 KB18.08.2017
sound/misc/menu2.wav238 KB18.08.2017
sound/misc/menu3.wav34 KB18.08.2017
textures/#teleportpurp.tga12 KB28.08.2017
textures/#waterpurp.tga7 KB26.08.2017
textures/+0di_lipurp.tga12 KB14.08.2017
textures/+0ffield.tga12 KB25.08.2017
textures/+0fieldyel.tga23 KB14.08.2017
textures/+0lun_weppurp.tga11 KB31.08.2017
textures/+0run_weppurp.tga14 KB22.08.2017
textures/+0runeyel.tga4 KB14.08.2017
textures/+0tyr_weppurp.tga13 KB14.08.2017
textures/+1di_lipurp.tga12 KB14.08.2017
textures/+1ffield.tga12 KB25.08.2017
textures/+1fieldyel.tga25 KB14.08.2017
textures/+1lun_weppurp.tga11 KB31.08.2017
textures/+1run_weppurp.tga14 KB22.08.2017
textures/+1runeyel.tga4 KB14.08.2017
textures/+1tyr_weppurp.tga13 KB14.08.2017
textures/+2di_lipurp.tga12 KB14.08.2017
textures/+2ffield.tga12 KB25.08.2017
textures/+2fieldyel.tga23 KB14.08.2017
textures/+2lun_weppurp.tga11 KB31.08.2017
textures/+2run_weppurp.tga14 KB22.08.2017
textures/+2tyr_weppurp.tga13 KB14.08.2017
textures/+3di_lipurp.tga12 KB14.08.2017
textures/+3ffield.tga12 KB25.08.2017
textures/+3fieldyel.tga16 KB14.08.2017
textures/+3lun_weppurp.tga11 KB31.08.2017
textures/+3run_weppurp.tga14 KB22.08.2017
textures/+3tyr_weppurp.tga13 KB14.08.2017
textures/+4ffield.tga12 KB25.08.2017
textures/+4fieldyel.tga18 KB14.08.2017
textures/+4lun_weppurp.tga11 KB31.08.2017
textures/+4run_weppurp.tga14 KB22.08.2017
textures/+4tyr_weppurp.tga13 KB14.08.2017
textures/+5ffield.tga12 KB25.08.2017
textures/+5fieldyel.tga25 KB14.08.2017
textures/+5lun_weppurp.tga11 KB31.08.2017
textures/+5run_weppurp.tga14 KB22.08.2017
textures/+5tyr_weppurp.tga13 KB14.08.2017
textures/+6ffield.tga12 KB25.08.2017
textures/+6fieldyel.tga23 KB14.08.2017
textures/+7ffield.tga12 KB25.08.2017
textures/+7fieldyel.tga18 KB14.08.2017
textures/alite_1purp.tga14 KB14.08.2017
textures/alite_3purp.tga7 KB14.08.2017
textures/alite_b1purp.tga15 KB14.08.2017
textures/baslt3_1purp.tga15 KB14.08.2017
textures/baslt3_8purp.tga16 KB14.08.2017
textures/blight1purp.tga1 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl01bpurp.tga27 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl01purp.tga27 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl02purp.tga23 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl03b_purp.tga27 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl03purp.tga27 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl04b_purp.tga23 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl04purp.tga23 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl06purp.tga2 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl08_purp.tga25 KB22.08.2017
textures/brl08bpurp.tga26 KB22.08.2017
textures/bw_techpanel4purp.tga13 KB14.08.2017
textures/comp1_6apurp.tga16 KB14.08.2017
textures/comp1_6purp.tga12 KB14.08.2017
textures/e3u1purp.tga23 KB14.08.2017
textures/jf2lite16purp.tga1 KB14.08.2017
textures/jf2lite23purp.tga14 KB14.08.2017
textures/jf2slip08purp.tga13 KB14.08.2017
textures/light1_1purp.tga14 KB22.08.2017
textures/light1_5purp.tga13 KB22.08.2017
textures/light1_8tpurp.tga15 KB22.08.2017
textures/light3_6apurp.tga13 KB22.08.2017
textures/light3_6purp.tga7 KB22.08.2017
textures/light3_7purp.tga4 KB22.08.2017
textures/light3_8purp.tga4 KB22.08.2017
textures/light_rail01pur.tga23 KB14.08.2017
textures/light_rail01purp.tga23 KB14.08.2017
textures/lite_fart2purp.tga2 KB14.08.2017
textures/lite_fart4purp.tga1 KB14.08.2017
textures/lite_fartpurp.tga1 KB14.08.2017
textures/lite_trimpurp.tga2 KB14.08.2017
textures/litepurp.tga7 KB14.08.2017
textures/lunlt1purp.tga1 KB14.08.2017
textures/lunlt2purp.tga3 KB14.08.2017
textures/metal9_2purp.tga11 KB14.08.2017
textures/metrgw_purp.tga14 KB22.08.2017
textures/mfxli1purp.tga7 KB14.08.2017
textures/mfxli2purp.tga2 KB14.08.2017
textures/ogrolight4purp.tga3 KB22.08.2017
textures/ogrolight6purp.tga2 KB22.08.2017
textures/ogrolight7purp.tga5 KB22.08.2017
textures/ogrolight8purp.tga2 KB22.08.2017
textures/ogrune128purp.tga55 KB22.08.2017
textures/rune1purp.tga6 KB22.08.2017
textures/rune1rpurp.tga51 KB22.08.2017
textures/rune2purp.tga13 KB22.08.2017
textures/rune3purp.tga4 KB22.08.2017
textures/rune4purp.tga7 KB22.08.2017
textures/sym07_2purp.tga10 KB14.08.2017
textures/tech03_2purp.tga47 KB23.08.2017
textures/tech10_5purp.tga29 KB14.08.2017
textures/tech10purp.tga15 KB14.08.2017
textures/than_sqlitepurp.tga4 KB14.08.2017
textures/x_baslt1purp.tga8 KB14.08.2017

quck_demo2.zip

Quenching Urges of Constant Killing [DEMO #2]

Second demo release of a Quoth slaughter episode in the making. It features the first three of "about 10 stupidly hard and completely unfair slaughtermaps" and comes with custom background music as well as a few new textures.

Note: These levels require Quoth 2.2 and a source port with increased limits.


Tags: episode, quoth, slaughter, hordes, limits, demo, music, textures, purple

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
user7346 Registered 28 August 2018, 18:56

I'd really like to see someone much better than me, play this.

Yuccaz Registered, rated this a 4 26 February 2019, 19:50

Finally finished this on possibly 30th? attempt, god knows how many quick saves, got lucky. Only had 645/666 kills in the end though, couldn't find any other monsters...thankfully :)

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 26 February 2019, 22:16

Sounds like you finished map 1 out of 3.

Yuccaz Registered, rated this a 4 27 February 2019, 21:45

Nice one, thanks for the info. Map 2 here I come...

Yuccaz Registered, rated this a 4 27 February 2019, 22:13

Well that was a lot easier than the 1st :) 651/651 kills. Map 3 here we go...

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 14 March 2019, 20:41

Haven't finished the episode yet but wanted to make some comments anyway.

I've played a good handful of Doom WADs in the so-called "slaughter" genre (usually on lower difficulty modes) and I like how these intrepid mappers have carved out a distinctive "genre" with s lot of room for variation. To generalize these maps feature extreme monster density, with layouts and placement designed to prevent the player from relying on cheap tactics like circle-strafing and camping. The best ones push monster density to essentially create a qualitatively different style of gameplay, somewhat like the difference between bullet hell shmups and "normal" shmups.

Doom has one feature that I thought gave it an advantage for this sort of thing, which is Doomguy's insane running speed, which makes him a natural sheepdog. It is much more feasible for a skilled player to herd large hordes of monsters through clever running in Doom than in Quake.

But Quake has things that Doom doesn't, namely quad damage and rocket jumping. The Quoth cross artifact is especially useful, allowing players to spam rockets and rocket jump without damaging themselves.

At certain points rocket jumping seemed like an essential tactic to move around quickly and avoid being choked out by the horde, since otherwise I think Quakeguy moves to slowly. I'd be curious if other players felt this way.

Great stuff, I'll likely have a high rating to give out once I've beaten it. It's almost one-of-a-kind in the Quake scene, and I'd like to see more stuff that pushes Quake's difficulty ceiling to extreme limits.

Shambler slayer Guest 16 January 2020, 14:13

I downloaded this but there are no monsters any help?

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 16 January 2020, 14:18

You need to to have Quoth installed and loaded, see the link at the top of this page ("Dependencies") and the readme file.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 16 January 2020, 14:18

Oh and you probably also need to select skill 2 or 3.

dwere Registered 16 January 2020, 18:35

A good reminder that Quake needs a better sound system. So much clipping. Before this, only Doom needed a better sound system.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 27 January 2020, 19:51

Hm. I didn't think I'd be able to beat the first two maps, but ended up succeeding after numerous tries. But to echo user7346's comments, I'd really like to see someone beat Ben's Bermudas Briskly Became Brown (wonderful title). I can't figure out any strategy that would work. I switched to God mode just to see what would be coming up next (I can't kill more than say about 80 foes before dying). It's absolutely insane and there's nowhere to hide.

I must agree with Lane that our character is just too slow. I'm no expert at rocket jumping / running, so maybe I'll remain stuck in map 3 until I master these ...

(And also there are way, way too many monsters. And holes in the ground. And not enough help in terms of power-ups.)

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 27 January 2020, 22:55

Video of skacky beating the map: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-l19W6ZyBQ

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 27 January 2020, 23:01

Apologies, that's reslario's video. Here is the one from skacky: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OhSeLtElLwQ

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 28 January 2020, 8:53

Sheeeeeeeeeet. Thanks. I was on the right track but there's no way I'm beating that map yet.

andrein10 Registered 5 May 2020, 6:06

alguien me puede indicar como puedo jugar los mapas

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 5 May 2020, 10:31

andrein10, please read https://www.quaddicted.com/help/installingcustomcontent (through Google Translate if need be). If you mean these specific maps, make sure you have Quoth installed (https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/quoth2pt2full_2.html) and read the instructions in this zip's readme.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 5 May 2020, 10:33

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in