Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of qump
Author:brassbite, Danzadan, Daya, HexenMapper, Kres, Naitelveni, NewHouse, Pritchard, Spud, Topher, Vingal
Title:Quake Upstart Mapping Project 2017
Download:qump.zip (b505a8983fb9c1bc4d26c821d787fe0e)
Filesize:39419 Kilobytes
Release date:26.10.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardScreenshots
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
qump_naitelveniNightmaredeath1126662018-03-03
NM All secrets
qump_spudNightmare0h01m14sdeath1126662018-03-03
Memerun
qump_pritchardNightmare0h01m17sdeath1126662018-03-03
NM 100%

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
qump/QUMP READ ME.txt5 KB26.10.2017
qump/gfx/env/moonhigh_bk.tga1025 KB15.10.2017
qump/gfx/env/moonhigh_dn.tga1025 KB15.10.2017
qump/gfx/env/moonhigh_ft.tga1025 KB15.10.2017
qump/gfx/env/moonhigh_lf.tga1025 KB15.10.2017
qump/gfx/env/moonhigh_rt.tga1025 KB15.10.2017
qump/gfx/env/moonhigh_up.tga1025 KB15.10.2017
qump/gfx/env/stormydays_bk.tga3073 KB27.07.2017
qump/gfx/env/stormydays_dn.tga3073 KB27.07.2017
qump/gfx/env/stormydays_ft.tga3073 KB27.07.2017
qump/gfx/env/stormydays_lf.tga3073 KB27.07.2017
qump/gfx/env/stormydays_rt.tga3073 KB27.07.2017
qump/gfx/env/stormydays_up.tga3073 KB27.07.2017
qump/gfx/env/voidsmoke_bk.tga3073 KB10.12.2016
qump/gfx/env/voidsmoke_dn.tga3073 KB10.12.2016
qump/gfx/env/voidsmoke_ft.tga3073 KB10.12.2016
qump/gfx/env/voidsmoke_lf.tga3073 KB10.12.2016
qump/gfx/env/voidsmoke_rt.tga3073 KB10.12.2016
qump/gfx/env/voidsmoke_up.tga3073 KB10.12.2016
qump/maps/qump_brassbite.bsp3575 KB21.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_brassbite.lit1812 KB21.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_danzadan.bsp4118 KB23.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_danzadan.lit2690 KB23.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_daya.bsp9069 KB20.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_daya.lit2491 KB20.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_hexenmapper.bsp3962 KB22.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_hexenmapper.lit1314 KB22.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_kres.bsp5154 KB19.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_kres.lit1373 KB19.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_naitelveni.bsp3877 KB15.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_pritchard.bsp944 KB10.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_spud.bsp688 KB22.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_spud.lit64 KB22.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_start.bsp468 KB17.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_topher.bsp2497 KB17.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_topher.lit1047 KB17.10.2017
qump/maps/qump_vingal.bsp5381 KB16.09.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_brassbite.map1352 KB21.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_brassbite.txt2 KB15.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_danzadan.jmf7064 KB23.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_danzadan.map2322 KB23.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_danzadan.txt3 KB23.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_hexenmapper.log2 KB16.09.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_hexenmapper.map1840 KB20.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_kres.map3342 KB19.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_kres.txt2 KB16.04.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_pritchard.map354 KB10.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_pritchard.txt3 KB21.12.2016
qump/maps/source/qump_spud.map191 KB22.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_spud.txt1 KB08.07.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_start.map147 KB17.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_topher.map722 KB17.10.2017
qump/maps/source/qump_topher.txt1 KB17.10.2017
qump/maps/source/start.map1836 KB23.10.2017
qump/maps/start.bsp5241 KB23.10.2017
qump/maps/start.lit1844 KB23.10.2017
qump/music/track12.ogg4840 KB09.10.2017

qump.zip - Quake Upstart Mapping Project 2017

QUMP is a project designed to get newcomers into mapping for Quake. Most of the mappers involved had never made a Quake map before, or had only made a few. Some of the maps are more seasoned mapper's first attempts from long ago.

Ten small to large levels in varying themes/styles and a start hub map to access each of them. Comes with three custom skyboxes and an ambient music track. The map sources are included.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits.


Tags: episode, small, medium, large, metal, runic, medieval, base, city, space, castle, start, hub, fog, lit, music, arena, skybox, limits, source

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 19 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Hexcalk Guest 13 November 2017, 14:04

No one's commented here yet. I expect Arrrcee to come here to post links to his recent QUMP videos.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 5 27 November 2017, 19:51

Ask you you shall receive Hexcalk! =P

Qump - Part 1 on The Quake Grave

Qump - Part 2 on The Quake Grave

Great project everyone, looking forward to all of your future maps!

Aen Registered, rated this a 4 28 November 2017, 19:50

4/5 Great!

Lane Powell Registered 6 December 2017, 8:35

Four maps in.

Naitelveni: Solid medieval map, good layouts, nice combination of textures. (Where'd the leaf texture for the trees come from? I should rip it from the pack, need it for my next map.) One especially solid vertical combat area, just my cup of tea. Very good map all around.

Tens: Starts out with a big base map with medieval monsters mixed in. It's ok, but I liked the second half much better: a huge vertical ruined city floating in space. All the hopping between ruined brickwork over the void is bound to frustrate some players, but I like this sort of thing. Probably the best execution of the idea I've seen in Quake so far--reminds me of Drew's entry in sm153, but bigger and with better combat.

Danzadan/Newhouse: Musty green metal theme straight out of the original campaign but with fog, better detail and construction, and a larger scale. This one felt the most "old school" so far in terms of general design philosophy, with interconnected pathways that hint at future progression; very satisfying. The end battle arena was ok--could have been more vertical (one or two more levels) but as it was it was a big rectangular room with stuff in the way. I REALLY liked the fake-out exit though. Just turning off the lights is one thing, but adding moving brushes to "snuff" out the torches is inspired.

Brassbite: Mostly a few big towers filled entirely with spiral staircases, and grindy, repetitive combat. Ok, I've never attempted to build a spiral staircase myself, but there isn't much more structure to the map aside from that. The vista of the outside of the castle you can see at from a couple areas is cool, though! More of that!

Lane Powell Registered 6 December 2017, 8:38

*Zwiffle's entry in sm153, not Drew's

Jonthan Guest 7 December 2017, 12:48

I think the packing of this is broken for non-Windows; quakeinjector created a directory on my Linux laptop called '\' (single backslash) prior to the qump dir. Needless to say it didn't launch the game.

ToM Guest 9 December 2017, 0:36

Doesnt work in the QuakeInjector, just loading the start.bsp from vanilla quake for me. I want to play these maps!

ToM Guest 9 December 2017, 0:36

Doesnt work in the QuakeInjector, just loading the start.bsp from vanilla quake for me. I want to play these maps!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 9 December 2017, 16:35

I think the packing of this is broken

Doesnt work in the QuakeInjector

Thanks for the comments. It looks like someone inadvertently made a mistake when creating this map page. It should be fixed now; please try again and report back if it's still broken.

Lane Powell Registered 13 December 2017, 21:32

Pritchard: Fast fun E2ish old school map with fast combat in generally tight quarters. Worth it for a quick blast of Quake.

Topher: Another quick blast of a play, but I especially liked the the vertical layouts and difficulty. Generally solid monster placements and some horde-ish combat here and there (on skill 2), plus you get the LG early on. There are some void bits, and a nice skybox. Well done!

Vasya shkolnik Guest 26 December 2017, 18:32

On the Daya's map I cant get into the secret of John Carmack. The window is too narrow. I'm stuck in it.

MikeTaylor Registered 31 January 2018, 18:25

By happy chance, the first map I played in this pack is the superb Manchester's Leftovers (qump_daya). I'm playing on Nightmare -- unusually for me, but I was chuffed at finding the Nightmare entrance in the start map, so I thought I might as well go with it -- and it was perfectly balanced: genuinely difficult, but doable. The final mass combat in particular was really hard, and took several tries. I don't think I'd have managed it at all without the red armour.

The whole map works really well, with its transitions between base and floating ruined tenements, with the only real downside being that I wandered around for ages after finding the gold key before I found the door that it opens. (It's the one up on the girders above the ruined tenements).

An outstanding opening to the pack, and worth five stars all on its own. (Though next time, I'll go easy on myself and play it on Hard!)

MikeTaylor Registered 1 February 2018, 15:35

The Dog Prison (qump_kres) is also big, beautiful, and perfectly judged for Nightmare difficulty. Multiple times I was down to single-digits health, and multiple times I ran out of various kinds of ammo. But I made it hard for myself by missing the grenade launcher the first time I went through the cistern, so that at one point I was left with 80 or so unusable rockets while being completely out of shells and nails.

But in the end, I made it out with all 200 kills but only one of the four secrets. An astonishing debut from a mapper whose name I've never heard before. Five stars.

MikeTaylor Registered 1 February 2018, 21:25

And then Stygian Waterways, which is also excellent, and also really well balanced so that Nightmare is a proper challenge, but a possible one. And also another debut map. This pack is amazing.

I finished with all 125 kills, which is always satisfying, and with 5 of the 7 secrets, which is not too bad for me. I never did find the lightning gun, which would have come in handy once or twice.

Five stars yet again, I guess! Although, having now played three really good and decent-sized maps from QUMP, I am starting to tire a little of the sense in all three that the locations are set up as puzzles to solve rather than real places. But i quibble.

MikeTaylor Registered 2 February 2018, 11:29

The Three Towers of Tremendous Terror and Turmoil (qump_brassbite), unfortunately, is much less impressive. It's a decent size, but it achieves that by an enormous amount of copy-pasting, and almost all the action takes place in identical wide spiral staircases. It's also terribly easy, even on Nightmare. (I finished with all 112 kills, and one of the two secrets.)

I don't like to be negative about someone's debut offering, which this is, but the very repetitive combats in visually boring and indistinguishable environments make this a chore to play. It's competently constructed, though, so I will award a maybe slightly more generous two stars.

MikeTaylor Registered 2 February 2018, 11:29

BTW., I've played four of these maps now, and been awarded a rune each time -- but it's the same rune each time. Is that deliberate? Is there a way to get different runes?

MikeTaylor Registered 2 February 2018, 19:20

I finished Bloody Sun (qump_danzadan) with 133/139 kills but absolutely none of the five secrets. Again, enjoyable, and again a perfectly balanced challenge on nightmare. This is not quite Danzadan's debut -- he's been in two previous packs, sm179 and retrojam6. But I never played his entry in the former, because it crashed when I tried to save. His retrojam6 entry, Wesir Complex, I awarded three stars, and I think Bloody Sun is a little better, meriting four. The final combat is an absolute sod in Nightmare mode, and took a lot of careful saving and re-loading to get through, but it was a really nice moment when I did finally clear it!

MikeTaylor Registered 4 February 2018, 18:30

Shadows of Our Forgotten Ancestors (qump_naitelveni) suffers from one of my pet hates: the name of the map is not in the map file, so that in saved games it shows up as a blank space. This is so, so easy to fix. Please, mappers, name your maps.

That aside, this was pleasantly competent, without being as absorbing as some of the other maps in the pack. There's really nothing to reproach it with, except that perhaps is feels a bit underpopulated in some places. Three stars.

MikeTaylor Registered 5 February 2018, 23:47

Citadel of Suffering (qump_topher) is competent, but perhaps not particularly inspired. I found the big, restricted combat on top of the tower a bit of a grint, and what followed a bit anticlimactic. There's nothing to dislike here, but not much to pull you back in to replay. On the positive side, it's a big step forward from Topher's debut in explorejam2, so I think we can hope for greater things in the future. Three stars.

MikeTaylor Registered 5 February 2018, 23:56

The Beginning (qump_pritchard) is competent but tiny, over almost before it's got started, with only 22 kills. (I got them all, but missed both secrets). It must have been a useful exercise for its author, whose debut this was, but has little to offer to the player. Two stars.

MikeTaylor Registered 6 February 2018, 12:20

I finished Sunken Cathedral (qump_hexenmapper) with all four secrets -- unusual for me -- but still somehow missing five of the 96 kills. I enjoyed exploring this map, and found several of the combats properly challenging, not least hen emerging into the cathedral attic to be surrounded by ogres and vores. I'd mark this as an impressive debut, only really let down by a terribly anticlimactic ending. Having got through the silver-key door and been through the claustrophobic swim to get the gold key, I was loaded with gun and ammo, and absolutely waltzed through the last section. Were it not for that anticlimax I'd be awarding a comfortable four stars; but because of it, I am going with a slightly harsh three.

MikeTaylor Registered 6 February 2018, 12:25

This means I have now completed all nine of the main maps in this package, and collected nine copies of the same rune for my troubles. I'd hope this gives me access to the secret map -- but if it does, then I am not seeing the new entrance, either in the Library or in the skill-select area.

What am I missing?

NewHouse Guest 6 February 2018, 16:17

10th map (secret entrance) has been hidden in start map from the very start. Runes only resets the inventory, we didn't try any hacking there.

Tribal Registered, rated this a 5 7 February 2018, 13:46

I don't know if the authors are interested to see this, but i'm making a blind playthrough of the maps. So far, i recorded these:

Beginning (Pritchard) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9LS7wz_hsA

Citadel of Suffering (Topher) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-n48HA-dPM

The Three Towers of Tremendous Terror (Brassbite) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_736T4va-uU

Shadows of the Forgotten Ancestors (Naitelveni) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4a89goulZA

Sunken Cathedral (Hexenmapper) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPyYoIn9Pvg

Thanks =D

MikeTaylor Registered 7 February 2018, 17:53

Thanks, Newhouse! I assumed that the secret map was the reward for completing all the others.

Care to give me a hint on where to find the entrance? You can use ROT13 to avoid people seeing it by accident: http://www.rot13.com/

JMP Guest 7 February 2018, 19:55

@Mike

Lbh unir gb tb qbja gb gur jngrel onfrzrag bs gur fgneg znc naq ybbx nebhaq. Cneg gjb bs Neeprr'f cynlguebhtu fubjf jurer gur ragenapr vf: uggcf://jjj.lbhghor.pbz/jngpu?i=fAGNJZnIvQp&g=1908f

MikeTaylor Registered 8 February 2018, 10:12

Thanks!

MikeTaylor Registered 8 February 2018, 10:23

Well, the final level, The Real /vr/ Experience (Secret Map) (qump_spud) was an anticlimactic ending, being more of a joke than a playable map. It would be churlish to award it a score, so I won't. I'll just finish up by saying that QUMP as a whole is really pretty astonishing. It's a delight that so many new mappers are starting out, and truly amazing that they are creating such fine maps right out of the gate. Keep it up, folks!

Tribal Registered, rated this a 5 13 February 2018, 6:23

Finally, i've uploaded the last five playthroughs \o/

Bloody Sun: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jS4WQFzYQZo

The Dog Prison: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGY0EEEDkDI

Stygian Waterways: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkUHs493qQU

Manchester's Leftovers: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yd5ln0yvCcU

The Real /vr/ Experience https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oa1V6CTZHlI

Congratulations to all of you! These maps are awesome =D

Spirit Registered 18 February 2018, 12:20

Daya: I really disliked the random mixture of styles. By themselves they were great but the whole felt weird. Might have worked much better as separate maps! Unfair final fight (on hard).

Hexenmapper: Quite the oldschool feeling, textures could have benefited from "less is more" I think. Fun gameplay!

Spirit Registered 18 February 2018, 12:46

Topher: Some fun ideas and nice secrets but damn, that elevator button was too well hidden! :P Really liked how connected the map felt.

Spirit Registered 18 February 2018, 20:54

Naitelveni: Such a joy to move around in this one. Might be fun to speedrun! Thoroughly enjoyed this one. Nice mixture of different (well-designed) gameplay setups.

Pritchard: Good fun but so short. Keep on it! (And do not ever use that CD track again! >:) )

Spirit Registered 19 February 2018, 18:39

brassbite: So many turns! Fun fights and nice setpieces!

Danzadan/NewHouse: Wow, that was great! Very impressive map.

Spirit Registered 19 February 2018, 19:00

Kres: Very much enjoyed it, although its balance was so-so. I loved how interceonnected the map felt and how parts opened up as I went. Could have left out the base stuff imo. Very nice, more of this please!

Spirit Registered 19 February 2018, 20:14

Vingal: WOW! Great styles that make me wish for a single map each. This map had an incredible id1++ feeling. My new favourite from this pack!

Spirit Registered 19 February 2018, 20:31

And finally!

spud: Hah, cute :)

Overall: I am super impressed and had lots of fun with this pack. Thanks! Demos -> http://www.quaketastic.com/files/demos/qump_spirit.7z

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in