Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of quoth
Author:Kell & necros
Title:Quoth
Download:quoth.zip (35930fef5eadd8bbbdaefe75898df82b)
Filesize:53512 Kilobytes
Release date:09.03.2008
Homepage:http://kell.quaddicted.com/
Additional Links: Quoth 2.2 fullQuoth 2.2 patch
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
quoth2_1.txt3 KB22.07.2008
quoth.txt3 KB05.11.2005
pak1.pak82971 KB08.03.2008
pak2.pak4734 KB17.07.2008
quoth2.txt3 KB08.03.2008
pak0.pak47097 KB06.02.2008

quoth.zip - Quoth

Quoth is an expansion pack for Quake 1 single player.

It is not intended as a series of thematically connected maps with additional custom content, as other packs are. The intention is to provide quality custom content for Q1 mappers and players in a single pak file. There are maps included in the pak, but there are also larger maps using the content already released separately by both Kell and necros, and more maps will surely follow.

Its features include technical additions for mappers, new monsters, and a couple of new weapons/items (additional information).

Currently you can play the first two maps of Quake rebuilt and remixed with Quoth monsters. The game will fail to load e1m3quoth because that map does not exist (yet). There are some test maps included for your enjoyment.

This is version 2.1 - a patch to version 2.2 is available here and version 2.2 (full) is available here.



Tags: textures pack, monsters, weapons, items, toolbox, remix

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 44 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 26 February 2010, 3:11
While there are but two new levels in this package (and they're just ID remixes), all the extras are great and there are some incredible maps for it. Download this, you'll miss out on some awesome levels (in other downloads) should you choose to skip.
Qmaster, rated this a 5 21 December 2010, 17:21
While I'm not a huge fan of the new Quoth or Quoth 2 monsters, I do love the levels for them.
Aen 30 August 2011, 10:08
Masterpiece.
Luna's Loyal Subject 6 May 2012, 18:07
Quoth's great. I love the mod and it allows for so much more to be done with Quake maps. I just can't stand the monsters.

Almost all of the monsters are absolutely terrible. They are either nonthreatening, unbalanced, or both.

The floating green things that turn invisible have more health than the blue ones are a lot harder to hit than scrags, do more damage, continually push you back, and can continue to damage you after you kill them. There's also usually two of them and there's almost no killing one without it destroying your armor. Nuisance monsters aren't an enemy archetype, they're just bad monsters.

The Vorelings have as much health as an ogre but their hitbox is half the size of a Rottfish, plus they move like fiends and there's rarely fewer than three of them. Who thought that was a fair monster? It's just plain way too powerful.

Droles.
Don't get me started on Droles. They shoot explosive projectiles like a rocket launcher, they run faster than the player when they're in close range and do constant damage, they must have at least as much health as a shambler, and yet they are so incredibly dumb looking that getting killed by one is more aggravating than anything else. It's basically an insult.

I actually really like the Gug. It's a little overpowered in that nothing should have an attack that inhibits aim, and that earthquake move forces the screen to shake, but other than that it's a great monster.

Normally this would be a minimal thing that I wouldn't care about, but almost EVERY good map uses these awful monsters nowadays. I have absolutely no clue why. I find one fiend fifty times as threatening than a room full of Droles, but the room of Droles would do a lot more damage.

Seriously, above all else, Droles are incredibly bad. I don't mean to be so critical, but this is affecting a massive amount of this site's content and not all of it is for the better.
Daz, rated this a 5 18 May 2012, 15:12
Playthrough of e1m1quoth - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UffpgEWFj3Y
Luna's Loyal Subject 20 June 2012, 1:52
Forgot to mention the flying gargoyle things. Sort of the same problem as Vorelings.

Their hitbox is too small, they use the trademark monster's trademark lightning (I'll get back to that), they are (in maps that feature Quoth) almost always placed at a very high point to spot the player which compounds the hitbox problem but not their aim, and on top of all of that, they're ugly.

By "ugly" I mean there's "disfigured monster" ugly, which is obviously the intentional 'good' kind; and then there's "my word that looks terrible when it's rendered" ugly, which seems like an obvious thing to check for when making a monster for a mid-90's game.

So back on the lightning. That isn't an attack that was meant to be recycled. The Shambler was designed to be a true blue monster, head and shoulders above the others. The kind of monster that can convince you that you're in over your head. Shamblers do huge damage from any distance and the sound they make when they see you is the most harrowing sound bite in the game and all of its mods. The lightning is completely dissimilar from any source of damage in the game to help SET THE MONSTER APART. The lightning gun was designed to make you feel powerful in the same way a Shambler is (read: BFG 9000), and when you use it to kill Chthon, the level ends with Shambler gibs. If you give it to an ugly, high health scrag, AND have it miss you without cover, then it makes the attack a lot more vanilla and a lot less intimidating.

Again, I try not to be this critical of good new content, and I apologize if I come across as insulting, but damn near everyone is using these monsters and damn near all of them are horrendous in damn near every way.
Nyarlathotep 15 July 2012, 20:52
I love the new monsters personally! I got bored of the stock Q1 ones and I'm a huge fan of HPL which most of them are based on - So I respectfully disagree with the above comment. Allthough his comments on game balance have merit.

Flying Polyps - Love the noise they make, they are a bit too small but they are otherwise quite true to how they act in the original HP Lovecraft story. If these were larger and have some added eyeballs they'd be perfect.

Night Gaunts - Awesome, perfect, they are possibly the best looking depiction I've seen of them.

Gug - As big and brutal as it should be.

Droles - Not really based on a specific HP Lovecraft monster, but still very Lovecraftian. Good amount of tentacles.

Hopefully someone will add further HP Lovecraft monsters. I'm surprised nobody has added Yithians, since the Lightning gun is already in the game - and the Great Race were always ones that used Lightning gun weaponry against the Polyps (See shadow out of time).

Shoggoths would be awesome too, but their amorphous nature might too difficult to add to Quake (?)

Pipers Of Azathoth are missing and would look really creepy with their organic flutes. I could see these working well.

Also how about adding more Great Old Ones as bosses?

Fr3n Registered, rated this a 5 22 November 2012, 8:50
I think most of the criticism above is outdated...

Vorelings: Definitely not as healthy as ogres. Can be unfair but that's the mapper's fault, not the mod's. Mostly they're just there to scare the snot out of the player at a vulnerable moment.

Polyps: I agree the model sucks but apparently it's supposed to look canonical and I haven't read the story. Fighting them is highly entertaining, however. A lot of effort went into designing the way they fight and it's paid off.

Droles: Cool model, neat attack(s), having recognizable behavior patterns but then turning unpredictable by design, I really like them too. Only problem I've had is that the death animation looks like an attack animation for the first split second or so, but it's something to get used to. (Also it's funny as heck when they enrage themselves by blowing up a projectile against a wall, but it's the same as a vore committing suicide)

Gaunt: I just love these guys. The model is awesome looking, their attacks are perfectly balanced, and they work anywhere.

Gug: Okay honestly I feel like these guys have too many hitpoints because it's practically impossible to have an encounter with one without a big cache of health and ammo placed nearby very artificially, but their attacks, sounds, and models (except the weird skin on the bilebomb) are great and it's definitely a memorable experience fighting them on par with the first time any of us encountered a vore or shambler.

And let's not forget the sentinels (which still scare the hell out of me) and the highly serviceable "Eddy" :D
Breezeep Registered, rated this a 5 10 March 2013, 17:52
Greatest Mod ever created. Insta 6 out of 5.
mmm Registered, rated this a 2 8 June 2013, 16:29

E1M1, E1M2 remixes were okay but I didn't like the monsters all that much.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 6 September 2013, 12:27

One of the great things about Quake is that there isn't a wasted monster: all of them fit a unique niche in terms of attack style and tactics. (Only spawn are, in my opinion, annoying as hell and completely worthless.) For the most part, Quoth monsters carry on in that tradition. The gug and drole aren't exactly "pretty," but they're both a style of high-level enemy that is missing from Quake, so it's nice when mappers use them... effectively. Of course, Quake monsters can be placed in annoying/frustrating ways as well as Quoth ones.

Most of the above criticisms are misplaced or just weird (especially the one about the the night gaunts' lighting, lol). Not a big fan of flying polyps, though.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 13 September 2013, 11:59

After suffering through a bit of The Lost Chapters, I have to say that the vorelings and flying polyps fucking suck.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 13 September 2013, 12:00

Still a good mod tho. :)

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 16 December 2013, 12:55

A great addition to the Quake community, both for mappers and players. By the way, you missed two monster types in there, a flying melee monster and a stationary monster. That would make the monster variety complete.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 24 December 2013, 23:12

I've had Quoth installed for the longest time in order to be able to play maps that require it, but never really bothered with the included levels, which seemed just like a tech demo to me (especially seeing that e1m1quoth is just e1m1rmx with new enemies).

Tronyn's review of e1m2quoth here https://www.quaddicted.com/tronyn-reviews/remixofthedamnedby_kell persuaded me to play it. It's actually a great map, with wonderful attention to detail all over the place, a very nice re-imagining of the quad secret from the original map, and beautiful outdoor areas (including a brilliant easter egg/super secret). Pity it can so easily slip under the radar: it is only included here, and the Quoth documentation does not really mention it. I'm sure many, like me, will download Quoth merely for the sake of other maps, and miss out on this lovely map.

Currently the screenshot for Quoth is from Necros's Crescendo of Dreams (the exact same as on the ne_marb download page). Should it not rather be from Remix of the Damned?

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 24 December 2013, 23:47

As for the monsters: I think they all potentially work well, but it all depends on how they are used in a map. Stylistically they are more varied and distinct than stock Quake monsters, so visually they can clash even more when thrown together indiscriminately. An overabundance of powerful monsters can be annoying -- but that applies to stock monsters as well.

I particularly like vorelings (I have an affinity for vaguely arachnid monsters in general). Droles are somewhat humorous in appearance, but I enjoy a bit of humour in Quake (ogres are often pretty funny too), and the way they modify their behaviour as they lose health is a brilliant touch.

Visually, I'm not a big fan of either polyps or gaunts, but their sounds are great.

Eddie is a little too weak, though, in my opinion. He looks great, but goes down far too easy (and I'm not even a very good player). And there is something wonky about the vermis's animation -- when it kills you, it reverts immediately to an upward stance, with no interpolating animation.

jackieben Registered, rated this a 4 8 January 2014, 18:15

Good stuff, them monsters be frustrating sometimes, it's definitely harder to fight them than the good old quake foes

NoNameUser Guest 26 May 2014, 14:38

Honestly, I'd rather play any Quake map with the old enemies than this, and that's because most of these monsters don't feel quake-ish enough for me. There are some exceptions like the Sentinels and a few of the modified old baddies, but the rest are pretty disappointing (the Flying Polyp, Night Gaunt and the Gug being the worst of the bunch in my opinion). I've got mixed feelings about the Drole and that Eddy ogre, which looks more like a Strogg than an actual Quake monster, plus he's almost as weak as a Scrag. I'm also annoyed by some of the new sounds, mainly that idiotic "Uaaa!" those guys with the swords make when they shoot fireballs, I really hate that. IMO, the best thing about this mod are the remixed first two maps of Quake; too bad there's only two, it'd be great to see all episodes redone but without these new monsters.

spy Guest 26 May 2014, 16:52

Eddie's as weak as a scrag? :) He can kill you just in seconds there's no difference between that flying polyp dude and quake's tarbaby, basically they're the same thing NightGaunt is a nice addition to the flying squad Gug is ok as a boss

there is also remake of e1m5

PuttaChethan Guest 1 February 2015, 14:40

Great game with great theme l love this game to play with diff mods

Mark of Tol Guest 21 June 2016, 23:43

Personally I love the Quoth monsters as I am also a huge HPL fan. I also agree with the above comment that mentioned the yithians, shoggoths and pipers of azathoth - I'd love to see them added too.

blob Registered, rated this a 5 1 July 2016, 3:13

Big HPL fan here too and love the addition of polyp, gaunt & Gug. I think they perfectly fit the quake 1 bestiary. Same for the voreling, great for traps. Really dont like Eddy though, very Quake 2 design and the kind of reason I could never get into that game. Not crazy about the drole design either, but his mechanics are pretty good.

The 2 maps are actually very good remix maps. Both worth playing.

innocentman9145 Guest 30 December 2016, 6:44

I love quoth mostly 4 the new knights, I'm a huge fan of the quake monsters from enforcer to death knight, I believe all monsters in quoth are my favorite monsters of all time, right next to evolve, and all that disrespect this mod should stfu(sorry). hope more greate quake mods come out.

innocentman9145 Guest 30 December 2016, 6:44

I love quoth mostly 4 the new knights, I'm a huge fan of the quake monsters from enforcer to death knight, I believe all monsters in quoth are my favorite monsters of all time, right next to evolve, and all that disrespect this mod should stfu(sorry). hope more greate quake mods come out.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 3 30 December 2016, 13:54

Only judging the mod here, not all the extra content. Verdict: meh.

I completely agree with Luna above regarding the monsters. I hate them AND I AM A HEWLETT-PACKARD LOVECRAFT FAN! Plus, Edie with his Q2 design really doesn't fit Q1, and he and the Gaunt are quite shoddily animated to say the least. Quoth monsters are usually much better in AD and I wish the Quoth team would have allowed Sock to use all of them, so that we could forget Quoth altogether and move on.

As for the maps... only two of them and not a single original one?! Don't get me wrong, these two remixes are among the best I've ever played, especially Slipgate Triplex that I personally put on par with Gloomier Keep, but man, that's a bit thin. Too bad the remix project was abandoned, I would love to play a full-blown remixed Quake with all 4 episodes.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 3 30 December 2016, 13:56

@innocentman Don't confuse criticism with disrespect. These are two VERY different notions.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 30 December 2016, 15:06

While not without its faults, Quoth still remains an outstanding expansion for players and mappers, having powered dozens of excellent releases in the past decade. The additional maps by Kell and Necros are also damn good, ne_deadcity is probably my favorite.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 3 30 December 2016, 17:47

Yes, the additional maps are generally top-notch if a bit over-reliant on the knave texture set. I just wish they weren't made for Quoth, or at least that the Quoth monsters weren't such imbalanced bullet sponges. And like I said, the extra content doesn't factor in my appreciation of the mod itself.

innocentman9145 Guest 31 December 2016, 9:20

bfg666 thanks for calling me out on criticism and disrespect, and admit the Death Lord is badass

innocentman9145 Guest 31 December 2016, 9:24

who is Luna [Removed sexist slurs, Spirit]

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 3 31 December 2016, 10:33

See, for example your last comment IS disrespect...

innocentman9145 Guest 6 January 2017, 5:41

bfg 666 1 word , shambler

innocentman9145 Guest 6 January 2017, 5:41

bfg 666 1 word , shambler

dwere Registered 6 January 2017, 15:02

What.

Spirit Registered 6 January 2017, 18:23

Stop abusing the comments section for your silly flaming.

Atzuras Guest 21 April 2017, 1:45

Quoth is a powefull resource toolbox, there is more inside than bizarre monsters but it is widely known for those amazing creatures, amazing in the very same psychotic way that some people find amazing a volcano or an earthquake.

This toolbox in good hands is a new step forward for the game and brings it to a new balance and, of course, provide some nice workarounds to embarrassing choices. Like using low profile rottweilers in a magic/runic map becuase the Voreling has not been created yet. Or dozens and dozens of Scraggs because you don't have any other flying monsters. Or when your old Shambler is no match for a trained player with a shotgun, another day at the office. (Two Shamblers, now we're talking. Three Shamblers, ok time to explore for the Quad).

Of course there is a dark side, rotten and darker than the heart of a spawn. A powerfull toolbox in the wrong hands can also unbalance the game and steer it in a dangerous direction. Like using only Quoth monsters because of their firepower disregarding all other considerations, overusing Drolles just because they are hard to fight, or just because someone wants Q1 to be the apparent heir of Call of Duty.

But putting aside philosophically exciting questions, you are not forced to play all Quoth maps, you always can choose to play the good ones. Or downplay the level to skill =1 if you think those new monsters are unbalancing too much the game to the combat tactical skils.

Finally, another exciting thing of this pack is that turns on a new learning process in both sides of the enjoyment chain: for the map architects to develop new, amazing ways to sort out the combats, and for the players to find the right way, right weapon and right time to fight them. Is this kind of activities that keeps this game alive after two decades and, for many, in a third golden age. If this experience is too disturbing for you, nobody will stop you to return to your normal activities like painting mammoths in your cave. Or playing Angry Birds.

Best Wishes A.

AnthonyS Registered, rated this a 5 30 October 2017, 0:37

Amazing.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in