Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of qx11_z1
Author:Zwiffle
Title:Dimension of the Doomed
Download:qx11_z1.zip (c543ecf0de73f6aadbc57e0ddff6bafe)
Filesize:1868 Kilobytes
Release date:25.06.2011
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
necroswtfseriously.txt2 KB23.06.2011
qx11_z1.bsp4728 KB23.06.2011
qx11_z1.txt3 KB25.06.2011

qx11_z1.zip - Dimension of the Doomed

Medium-sized base/wizard map where two Quake dimensions clash.

Tags: medium, base, wizard, castle, hard

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 23 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Daz 25 November 2011, 19:50
Video playthrough - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1Zzh35Fuhw
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 13 July 2012, 21:05
Just why?
Just why is this game listed as four-star?

5/5
Fr3n Registered, rated this a 4 23 November 2012, 16:47
tbh I think the readme might have something to do with it ;)
kaffikopp Registered, rated this a 5 15 November 2016, 21:41

Replayed this, really enjoyed it. Lots of cannon fodder in the form of enforcers and grunts, but also a lot of open ground and cover so the hitscan and lasers don't get annoying. Good interconnectivity, nice to have a few different routes to choose from. I appreciate maps that don't restrict the player's movement too much and allow for dodging, trickjumping etc. All in all, quite good.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 16 November 2016, 3:32

This map has a lot to recommend it: a unique concept, attention to detail, and good secrets. Only reason I don't give this a 5 is the repetitive combat. Still, it's definitely worth playing.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 16 November 2016, 16:13

Oh, this is beautiful! Lots of enjoyable base-blasting, then a very well handled segue into a dungeon-dimension area. Carefully set up combats, but perhaps a tad easy on Hard (especially at the end). Most enjoyable.

Repus Guest 9 December 2017, 19:02

This is one of the most unusual levels I've seen built for Quake. I expected a certain style (typical for Quake levels), but this level stands out. It's very wide horizontally and feels more like several decks of a space ship from sci-fi movies. Also the transition to medieval setting mentioned above is nice (and unexpected).

In general it feels very fresh. About 15-20 minutes of solid gameplay are guaranteed.

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 4 28 October 2019, 15:47

Fr3n might just be right. As far as I'm concerned however, I rarely give the highest rating to maps, they usually need to be truly exceptional and I need to see myself playing them again some day to unravel all their secrets or just to connect again with a special atmosphere.

So I'd be tempted to rate this as "Nice" like the editors did. The combat was indeed not much of a challenge even in Nightmare, and it doesn't strike me as "exceptional". I'd be curious to find the secrets I missed, but I don't think I'll ever be obsessed by this. On the other hand, the idea was nicely executed, and I don't really have any flaws to point out, so I'll rate this 4/5.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in