Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of qx11_z1
Author:Zwiffle
Title:Dimension of the Doomed
Download:qx11_z1.zip (c543ecf0de73f6aadbc57e0ddff6bafe)
Filesize:1868 Kilobytes
Release date:25.06.2011
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
necroswtfseriously.txt2 KB23.06.2011
qx11_z1.bsp4728 KB23.06.2011
qx11_z1.txt3 KB25.06.2011

qx11_z1.zip

Dimension of the Doomed

Medium-sized base/wizard map where two Quake dimensions clash.

Tags: medium, base, wizard, castle, hard

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating:
4.4/5 with 34 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Daz 25 November 2011, 19:50
Video playthrough - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1Zzh35Fuhw
hkBattousai 13 July 2012, 21:05
Just why?
Just why is this game listed as four-star?

5/5
Fr3n Registered 23 November 2012, 16:47
tbh I think the readme might have something to do with it ;)
kaffikopp Registered 15 November 2016, 21:41

Replayed this, really enjoyed it. Lots of cannon fodder in the form of enforcers and grunts, but also a lot of open ground and cover so the hitscan and lasers don't get annoying. Good interconnectivity, nice to have a few different routes to choose from. I appreciate maps that don't restrict the player's movement too much and allow for dodging, trickjumping etc. All in all, quite good.

JMP Registered 16 November 2016, 3:32

This map has a lot to recommend it: a unique concept, attention to detail, and good secrets. Only reason I don't give this a 5 is the repetitive combat. Still, it's definitely worth playing.

MikeTaylor Registered 16 November 2016, 16:13

Oh, this is beautiful! Lots of enjoyable base-blasting, then a very well handled segue into a dungeon-dimension area. Carefully set up combats, but perhaps a tad easy on Hard (especially at the end). Most enjoyable.

Repus Guest 9 December 2017, 19:02

This is one of the most unusual levels I've seen built for Quake. I expected a certain style (typical for Quake levels), but this level stands out. It's very wide horizontally and feels more like several decks of a space ship from sci-fi movies. Also the transition to medieval setting mentioned above is nice (and unexpected).

In general it feels very fresh. About 15-20 minutes of solid gameplay are guaranteed.

Gioyo3aa Registered 28 October 2019, 15:47

Fr3n might just be right. As far as I'm concerned however, I rarely give the highest rating to maps, they usually need to be truly exceptional and I need to see myself playing them again some day to unravel all their secrets or just to connect again with a special atmosphere.

So I'd be tempted to rate this as "Nice" like the editors did. The combat was indeed not much of a challenge even in Nightmare, and it doesn't strike me as "exceptional". I'd be curious to find the secrets I missed, but I don't think I'll ever be obsessed by this. On the other hand, the idea was nicely executed, and I don't really have any flaws to point out, so I'll rate this 4/5.

Greenwood Registered 27 April 2020, 20:01

This is a great level. It's has a neat concept that has been executed quite well: a nonlinear layout with nice interconnectivity, pleasant gameplay and aesthetics, and a solid replay value.

Ninja Registered 27 April 2020, 21:59

Excelent excelent excelent,its a blood fest, but 10\5 thats how good it is.

triple_agent Registered 21 August 2021, 8:11

Great map with very clear progress delineations, albeit not tightly linear. Very good sense of space, allowing just enough room for the 'Quake' speed to feel relatively well adjusted, while maintaining proper combat dynamics. Nice difficulty balance - I was not thinking of the stage to be either too hard or too easy during "Normal" gameplay, which is in favor; good difficulty balance, should make itself invisible, rather than becoming problematic. While I kind of like the 'Doom' vibes in 'Quake' - to an extent - I doubt whether the "base" and the "medieval" themes, do mesh together well in the "Dimension of the Doomed"; in fact, they do not mesh together at all. The map, felt to me rather like some "two forts" style multiplayer-orientated arena, places around - giving it a bit forced demeanor in terms of singleplayer criteria.

Apart from the latter, a very good map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in