Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ravisod
Author:raven33 / Lilybug33
Title:Ravisod
Download:ravisod.zip (80315fdec3a8662e9d0925c4ad1f1987)
Filesize:3205 Kilobytes
Release date:16.11.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
rav1.bsp2346 KB15.11.2021
rav1.lit474 KB15.11.2021
rav1.map824 KB15.11.2021
rav2.bsp3194 KB16.11.2021
rav2.lit629 KB16.11.2021
rav2.map1607 KB16.11.2021
rav_readme.txt1 KB16.11.2021
ravstart.bsp933 KB15.11.2021
ravstart.lit160 KB15.11.2021
ravstart.map245 KB15.11.2021

ravisod.zip

Ravisod

Mini-episode with two around medium-sized base levels and a start map. The map sources are included.

Tags: episode, medium, base, start, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
I Like Quake Registered, rated this a 5 21 November 2021, 10:47

Eye-Candy

Really beautiful lighting and design all throughout; could easily see this as the beginning of a full-fledged base-themed episode. Good fights, good progression. Love shamblers in bases, and nice placement of that spawn.

This is top work and a tease that it's not longer.

Did I mention how beautiful it is?

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 4 21 November 2021, 13:06

Very nice!

Shouldn't there be some more maps from this mapper... somewhere?

Hope to see more soon - thanks for sharing!

GenericJohnDoe Registered 22 November 2021, 20:04

I have a humble question, how do i enable this episode? Throw into id1/maps or do i create ravisod/maps?

GenericJohnDoe Registered 22 November 2021, 20:05

And is hipnotic needed?

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 4 22 November 2021, 22:09

@GenericJohnDoe put the .bsp and .lit files into .../id1/maps and from the console type: map ravstart And no, Hipnotic is not needed.

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 4 22 November 2021, 22:13

This was a great little episode. I thoroughly enjoyed both maps. It seems like since the author went to the trouble to make that nice start map, perhaps a few more to add to the episode is called for?

Very good gameplay and level design. I'd love to see more! Thank you for sharing.

GenericJohnDoe Registered 23 November 2021, 14:16

@Jehannum Thank you!

Custom Longplay Registered, rated this a 5 23 November 2021, 15:10

Very nice first work. I liked the stained glass views very much. You always had the feeling that you weren't being overrun. I'm already looking forward to the next project... Here is the link to the Youtube playlist. I only used my Footstep and Light Mod, Reshade and HD textures for the maps!

Ravisod - Complete

whatisquake Registered, rated this a 4 24 November 2021, 5:33

This is a rare castle-invades-space atmosphere rather than the more common tech-in-a-castle and I think it's cool. I wish there were a big fight after the two-key door in rav2 but the maps are sized just right. Please keep mapping!

Chaser Registered, rated this a 4 24 November 2021, 23:08

Solid competent levels with cool lighting ;)

Michael Guest 25 November 2021, 21:39

liked the first level. I can't play the second. I got some kind of teleporter error in the console, and a "nullptr" error on the screen

raven33 (Lilith) Registered 25 November 2021, 22:40

@Michael What source port are you using? Some ports like the recent Quake rerelease don't work sadly, so you might have to use another engine.

GenericJohnDoe Registered 30 November 2021, 0:03

I am using the latest quakespasm spiked version and in the first level the "laser gate" directly at the start is permamently in rapid fire mode, but according to the videos it should be like a trap? I hear a sound like a laser gatling gun in fast mode and there are BARS of laser and not single shots. But the Button deactivates this.

Is this only a problem with QSS?

GenericJohnDoe Registered 30 November 2021, 0:11

Ok, retest with vulcan quake yields not such a problem...

Meh, saddly i am bound to QSS, do you have any ideas how to fix this?

GenericJohnDoe Registered 30 November 2021, 0:11

Ok, retest with vulcan quake yields not such a problem...

Meh, saddly i am bound to QSS, do you have any ideas how to fix this?

raven33 (Lilith) Registered 30 November 2021, 1:27

@GenericJohnDoe That's bizarre. I've literally made and tested this map from day one on Quakespasm Spiked, and I've never seen anyone else with that issue. I wish I could provide more than that but alas I dunno.

GenericJohnDoe Registered 30 November 2021, 18:01

Ok, it was the progs.dat from the auth_mdl-r26 for better models...

GenericJohnDoe Registered 30 November 2021, 18:01

Authentic Models for Quake (Rev. #26)

dwere Registered 30 November 2021, 18:23

Why would they put a progs.dat into a model pack?

Wait, whatever, I don't even want to know.

GenericJohnDoe Registered 30 November 2021, 18:54

I did open an issue on https://github.com/NightFright2k19/quake_authmdl But it seems that this problem is maybe port-sided (QSS)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in