Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of redfield1
Author:Redfield
Title:Unknown Kadath
Download:redfield1.zip (5c25fb6729da1e5fc4b5164f5ac3cddc)
Filesize:1383 Kilobytes
Release date:29.04.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
redfield1Nightmare0h08m08sArcaneFiend6662019-11-22
Full completion of the map.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
redfield1.bsp3149 KB29.04.2017
redfield1.txt10 KB29.04.2017

redfield1.zip

Unknown Kadath

Medium-sized 'classic-style' medieval level with a church and lava-filled caverns beneath. Ok.

Tags: medium, medieval, church, caverns, rock, lava, terracotta, classic, oldschool

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 34 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 4 June 2017, 4:14

Unknown Kadath on The Quake Grave

I actually really enjoyed this map! It's got a throwback feel to it, lots of variety and a good flow/progression through it. Definitely a great first release from Redfield!

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 4 June 2017, 23:48

A very nice old-school map. Similar to E1 of the original game, but larger and with some modern elements. The secrets are clever.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 5 June 2017, 0:44

Unknown Kadath reminds me of "The Castle Amber" by Psycho, which has the same underground progression culminating in a tough end fight. Castle Amber is much cruder than this map, but that's understandable since it came out in 1997. It's worth downloading for anyone who's enjoyed this.

xlarve Registered, rated this a 4 12 June 2017, 15:10

super final room!

xlarve Registered, rated this a 4 16 June 2017, 18:07

map is good - but secrets is to easy for searching... final room with monsters i super. Must be a whole map like the final room :)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 17 June 2017, 1:37

This is unsophisticated, but most enjoyable -- like a very, very good 1997 map. I finished on 97 of 98 kills: how frustrating to miss the last one! An on 6/8 secrets. It looks like this is Redfield's first map. A very promising debut: let's hope that there are more to come, and that the aesthetics improve.

Mugwump Registered, rated this a 3 17 June 2017, 22:08

@Mike: I've read on Func_ that he's currently making his second map.

Mugwump Registered, rated this a 3 21 June 2017, 0:52

Very blocky for a 2017 map, this looks straight outta 1997. The caves especially are very unnaturally parallelepipedic. That said, it's a quite enjoyable map to play, a bit tough at times on skill 2 (the arena at the end took me 3 tries to beat). I noticed a couple black surfaces that should be textured. Secrets are nice, except the first one that is too obvious. Speaking of obvious, placing a shambler right after the LG pickup is a bit too predictable. The custom secret centerprints are a nice touch, as well as the story in the readme.

Redfield Registered 21 June 2017, 8:45

I thank everyone for their reviews. And thanks to ArrrCee for the video. I made this map to id original limits under the 1996 Quake engine. That's why the map is playable in WinQuake without any alterations to increase rsurfs, etc.

The map was approaching the limits for surfedges and entities, this meaning that I could not add anymore detail, or even monsters or lights. The mountains were made to look like ids from Episode 1 etc, because to extrude the faces and clip all the brushes would have pushed it past the engines limits.

I noticed the black areas only too late, they are textured however. The blackness is caused by the dirtmap, which I altered without checking before releasing the map. If you raise the gamma you can see into the black areas.

Definitely took a long time and was more work than I had anticipated. However, everything learned will be improved upon in my next map.

Cheers, Redfield.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 22 June 2017, 23:05

I had the same as Mike: one surviving enemy... Argh! But I missed one secret... Double argh!! :D So I replayed the map on easy, and found the last remaining secret along with the last enemy, as well. Yay, my perfectionist self can now rest easy tonight regarding that matter! I did have to resort to rocket jumping to reach the megahealth secret, though. Not sure if there would have been a more 'legit' way of reaching it. Probably, since I think I saw a teleport destination platform up on the ledge (a well thought out detail, that many beginner map makers could very well have forgotten to add.)

Since Redfield intended the map to be faithful to the style of the original id maps, I can't fault it for being ugly or blocky. I played it on the Winquake mode of Mark V, and I think he pulled it off really well. There really isn't much to complain about the map. Great work, Redfield! :)

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 23 June 2017, 5:16

@Esrael "I did have to resort to rocket jumping to reach the megahealth secret, though. Not sure if there would have been a more 'legit' way of reaching it."

That particular secret is very similar to one of the secrets in E1M5. You're on the right track w/ noticing the teleport pad.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 30 July 2017, 11:00

This was great fun, I wish more new releases were as diverse and true to the origins like this.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 20 August 2017, 20:32

Very cool old school map, definitely E1 feel with a bit of deeper E4 vibe. I loved the little details especially in the secrets, of which I got 4/8. I wonder if I can get into that tomb....

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 26 August 2017, 1:55

A great first map, with some old school charm and some new school secret additions. A bit cramped feeling but a decent flow makes up for it. Really fun hunting for secrets (I really wanted to disturb that tomb!) and the gameplay was mostly well executed. Looking forward to more from Redfield! Chrrriiiis!

dumptruck_ds Registered, rated this a 4 30 January 2018, 8:38

Love the secrets on this one. This feels like a "lost" map from id. Bravo!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 30 January 2018, 12:53

Replayed this and enjoyed it again. Once more, I got all but one kill. This time i found one more secret, meaning that I now have all but one of those, too -- but I can't quite seem to complete the map for either secrets or kills.

And, yes, it feels very IDish!

RandolfCarter Registered, rated this a 4 3 May 2019, 0:07

I liked the witty comments spruced in and as others have said, the secrets are very clever.

Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 26 November 2020, 21:22

Feels like a good old id map, enemy placings are good,just a great map to play,even on skill 3

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in